Page 1 of 2
1
2
LastLast
  1. #1

    Help with what I'm doing wrong?!

    Hey guys, just bought a new case, GPU, and RAM.

    Relocated all my stuff into new case and Hooked up all the cables to the best of my knowledge. But nope, it won't turn on. Just wondering if you guys could shed any light on this ... Here's a couple of pics of the current state of things.

    GPU not included as it should boot without.

    http://i.imgur.com/Gq2B1at.jpg Overview.

    http://i.imgur.com/LI8fL0G.jpg 20 pin power cable

    http://i.imgur.com/WdWdxHp.jpg Power supply and GPU location

    http://i.imgur.com/9VGUqoM.jpg 8 pin power (2 x 4 pin cable)

    http://i.imgur.com/4sZ90KY.jpg Case LEDS

    Thanks guys hope you can help

  2. #2
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,866
    -Does it power on, but do nothing? Like a half second of fans spinning?
    -Did you put brass risers between motherboard and case?
    -Is the actual on/off switch on the back of the power supply on?
    -It should not boot without the GPU
    -It should not boot without the RAM

  3. #3
    The Patient jholdaway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    296
    Are the cables hooked up in the right spots?
    What case and motherboard are you using?

  4. #4
    Think I found the prob, look in the 3rd pic, about center of it. See that little power button on the MB it self? Turn that on. Had the same thing happen to me when I built mine.

    Last edited by Mjumnito; 2013-01-30 at 07:30 PM. Reason: added pic, sry if its big. i dont know how to down size
    Quote Originally Posted by Domiku View Post
    p.s. i want to see Sylvanas take a pounding.
    Quote Originally Posted by Olianda View Post
    This could NEVER be taken the wrong way. ._.

  5. #5
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,866
    Quote Originally Posted by Mjumnito View Post
    look in the 3rd pic
    I spent like 5 minutes looking through the manual and staring at the picture.

    It's the 2nd pic, not the 3rd :P right above the 24pin cable.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by chazus View Post
    -Does it power on, but do nothing? Like a half second of fans spinning?
    -Did you put brass risers between motherboard and case?
    -Is the actual on/off switch on the back of the power supply on?
    -It should not boot without the GPU
    -It should not boot without the RAM
    No, it does nothing.
    Yes
    Yes
    Tried it with same result

  7. #7
    are the risers in. that mb looks oddly close to the tray.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by chazus View Post
    I spent like 5 minutes looking through the manual and staring at the picture.

    It's the 2nd pic, not the 3rd :P right above the 24pin cable.
    nope the button im talking about is in the 3rd pic, just checked and edited my other post to show where.

    OP: would this be a Azus board by chance?
    Quote Originally Posted by Domiku View Post
    p.s. i want to see Sylvanas take a pounding.
    Quote Originally Posted by Olianda View Post
    This could NEVER be taken the wrong way. ._.

  9. #9
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,866
    Quote Originally Posted by Mjumnito View Post
    nope the button im talking about is in the 3rd pic, just checked and edited my other post to show where.
    Oh, derp. I was looking at the memory test button thats on the center of the 2nd. >.<

    Yes, it's a P6X580-E

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Mjumnito View Post
    nope the button im talking about is in the 3rd pic, just checked and edited my other post to show where.

    OP: would this be a Azus board by chance?
    Asus p6x58d-e

    ---------- Post added 2013-01-30 at 07:36 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Mjumnito View Post
    Think I found the prob, look in the 3rd pic, about center of it. See that little power button on the MB it self? Turn that on. Had the same thing happen to me when I built mine.



    That button lights up when I turn on the power supply. I press it and it does nothing, just like the case power button

  11. #11
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,866
    That button lights up when I turn on the power supply.
    >.< I asked if it did anything at all, and you said nothing. At least that means power is getting to the board.

    On that picture, it looks like the bottom left riser is not installed. Is it? Is there a riser NEAR there that is not directly beneath a hole? (i.e. it's touching the underside of the board, where stuff is)

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by chazus View Post
    >.< I asked if it did anything at all, and you said nothing. At least that means power is getting to the board.

    On that picture, it looks like the bottom left riser is not installed. Is it? Is there a riser NEAR there that is not directly beneath a hole? (i.e. it's touching the underside of the board, where stuff is)
    Just checked, nothing under but I installed a riser there as you said there wasn't one :-)

    It was the riser I have to assume thank you so much mate <3
    Last edited by Daant; 2013-01-30 at 07:52 PM.

  13. #13
    Nothing plugged into the CPU_FAN header either. Did you originally have a fan connected there. Some boards wont operate if there is no fan connected to that particular header.

  14. #14
    Redid all the risers but nothing changed...

    It came on and started up but I had to turn off again and reconnect the gpu . now I can't get it working at all again... Fuck

  15. #15
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,866
    What GPU? Are all the power plugs put into the GPU?
    Redid all the risers but nothing changed...
    It came on and started up but I had to turn off again and reconnect the gpu
    Im confused. You said nothing changed... But something was done that caused it to fire up. What did you change? Does it turn on without the GPU?

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by chazus View Post
    What GPU? Are all the power plugs put into the GPU?

    Im confused. You said nothing changed... But something was done that caused it to fire up. What did you change? Does it turn on without the GPU?
    I have no idea what I did differently the time it fired up. It fired up WITHOUT the GPU in. Now it won't do either... Everything is in perfectly to my knowledge..

  17. #17
    are the power cables connected to your gpu? Did you remove the gpu and try to fire it up again?

  18. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by Dizey View Post
    are the power cables connected to your gpu? Did you remove the gpu and try to fire it up again?
    Yes and yes still no joy. No idea what happened eurghh...

  19. #19
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,866
    Try this.

    Pull the motherboard out of the case. Set it on the motherboard box that it came in (not on the static bag)

    Plug in everything, and see if it fires up OUTSIDE the case. Try it a few times with and without the GPU.

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by chazus View Post
    Try this.

    Pull the motherboard out of the case. Set it on the motherboard box that it came in (not on the static bag)

    Plug in everything, and see if it fires up OUTSIDE the case. Try it a few times with and without the GPU.
    Will do. I'll report back in ten mins

    It fires up outside case both with and without gpu

    ---------- Post added 2013-01-30 at 10:20 PM ----------

    Bump for attention
    Last edited by Daant; 2013-01-30 at 10:03 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •