Page 1 of 2
1
2
LastLast
  1. #1

    NIVIDA card for 3 monitors

    I know I can get 3 monitors set up in SLI with 2 cards, however, I'm wondering with a $400 limit are there any video cards from NVIDIA I can get for 3 screens on 1 card.

  2. #2
    The Patient jholdaway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    296
    yes I know at least the GTX 660 supports 3 monitors and its way under $400. If you want to spend close to $400 then I would recommend the http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127685
    Last edited by jholdaway; 2013-02-02 at 09:08 PM.

  3. #3
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,983
    This is one area where AMD cards excel, though unfortunately I'm not of much use as I'm not too familiar with Nvidia cards.
    ||i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz||H100 push/pull||AsRock Z77 Extreme4||16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz||Gigabyte Windforce GTX 970|| Coolermaster Storm Trooper||Corsair TX850 Enthusiast Series||Samsung 840 Pro 128gb(boot drive)||1TB WD HDD, 2x 3TB WD HDD, 2TB WD HDD||

    Bdk Nagrand / Astae Nagrand
    Pokemon X FC: 4656-7679-2545/Trainer Name: Keno

  4. #4
    I think all of the 600 Series support up to 4 monitors on 1 graphics card.

    I was able to run 4 Monitors on 1 GTX 670.

  5. #5
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338
    4 monitors is the maximum for the 6xx series
    2 monitors is the maximum for 5xx series
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  6. #6
    Deleted because I was wrong on this.

    You can do this on Nvidia 6xx Kelper based cards. I hadn't realized that they updated 3D Surround to work on a single card. Pretty nice with the 3+1 setup too.
    Last edited by Dizey; 2013-02-02 at 11:45 PM.

  7. #7
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338
    Quote Originally Posted by Dizey View Post
    If you mean Nvidia's equivalent of Eyefinity called 3D Surround, the answer is no. The only single cards from Nvidia that can do this are actually dual GPU cards that cost ~$1000.

    Going AMD, you could have one of the best single card solutions on the market in a 7970GHz Edition for very close to $400. Such as this XFX Double D:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...D=3938566&SID=
    That's some bullshit right there, I run 4 monitors on a 670, a 650 can do the same.
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  8. #8
    This is for Surround. I'd like to stretch my games across all 3 monitors.

  9. #9
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338
    Which games are you going to play in surround?

    I've had SC2, LoL, MW3 & Payday: The Heist run on atleast 50 FPS on surround 3x 1920x1080. Haven't touched it since, because I prefer having some monitors for youtube/facebook etc.
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  10. #10
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    If you're going for nvidia get a 670 or higher. 660TI has a smaller memory bus bandwidth. 192bit vs 256bit.

  11. #11
    The 6xx series NVidia cards have what is known as "3+1" surround. 3 for surround, a 4th for web browsing / diagnostics / whatever you want, and is independent of the surround.

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Gravewyrm View Post
    The 6xx series NVidia cards have what is known as "3+1" surround. 3 for surround, a 4th for web browsing / diagnostics / whatever you want, and is independent of the surround.
    So if I got a 670 card with 4 monitors (2 DVI 2 Display port) I could play 3 in surround?

  13. #13
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338
    Quote Originally Posted by Eon Drache View Post
    So if I got a 670 card with 4 monitors (2 DVI 2 Display port) I could play 3 in surround?
    Yes, yes you could.

    If your monitors don't have displayport, you can get an adapter.

    Here's a picture of my setup, with the last monitor being powered by a Radeon HD 5450.

    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  14. #14
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    I believe the ouputs of the 670 are 2x DVI 1x HDMI 1x displayport. Least mine is.

  15. #15
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338
    Yeah, so is mine.
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  16. #16
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    so inux94, you into stocks or something? moar screens!
    jk, looks pretty win.

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    I believe the ouputs of the 670 are 2x DVI 1x HDMI 1x displayport. Least mine is.
    And so is 660ti. Have 2 monitors (DVI) + TV (HDMI) hooked into it.
    Never going to log into this garbage forum again as long as calling obvious troll obvious troll is the easiest way to get banned.
    Trolling should be.

  18. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by inux94 View Post
    Which games are you going to play in surround?

    I've had SC2, LoL, MW3 & Payday: The Heist run on atleast 50 FPS on surround 3x 1920x1080. Haven't touched it since, because I prefer having some monitors for youtube/facebook etc.
    I've got;
    WoW
    Skyrim
    Diablo III
    Need for Speed Most wanted
    Guild Wars 2
    Rift

    I'd like to be able to be able to play upcoming games with max settings. My 460 has enough ports for 4 monitors, but I can't run Surround on it even if I have 3 monitors plugged into it at once.

    I also want to be able to stream my games.

  19. #19
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338
    Forget about streaming surround, you'll get giant black bars on the stream window.

    Every game you listed should be doable, just don't expect to raid wow on ultra settings while having surround on.
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by inux94 View Post
    Forget about streaming surround, you'll get giant black bars on the stream window.

    Every game you listed should be doable, just don't expect to raid wow on ultra settings while having surround on.
    damn XD that was the main reason for this upgrade lol. Battlegrounds in surround. Maybe I'll just get 1 GTX 670 and use the 3 monitors individual of each other.. Thanks for the help guys

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •