1. #1
    Legendary! vindicatorx's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Bloomington, Indiana
    Posts
    6,838

    Question concerning multiple monitors without a gpu

    Ok, My friend is building a new PC since he is saving money he has decided to not buy a GPU since he is going with a nicer current gen 3570k and an Asus P8Z77-V LK mobo. Now the mobo has a DVI and a HDMI on it. He has decided he would like to stream Netflix to his TV via an HDMI cable and wants to use the DVI on his monitor. Will this work?

  2. #2
    I guess it should, but he isn't planning on gaming much is he?
    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

  3. #3
    Legendary! vindicatorx's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Bloomington, Indiana
    Posts
    6,838
    Quote Originally Posted by Butler Log View Post
    I guess it should, but he isn't planning on gaming much is he?
    nope all he does is e-mail, download truckloads of porn, and play flash games on facebook so I know between the onboard graphics of the cpu and mobo it can handle what he is wanting to do. It's just I have never hooked up a pc with no GPU to 2 things at the same time and I am not able to experiment currently as I am at school and only have my laptop

  4. #4
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,783
    I'm under the impression that onboard DVI cannot be used in conjunction with onboard HDMI.

    Notably, a video card to do what he wants to would run like... $25. Can he not pull that off? (If not, my condolences to his SO in a couple weeks)

  5. #5
    The Lightbringer Tehterokkar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    3,716
    A very low end GPU will cost 30-60$, can't he afford that? Also as Chazus said, might be uncertain if it will work.

  6. #6
    Brewmaster lockblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    wisconsin .. I mean greymane
    Posts
    1,306
    I was under the impression sandy bridge igpu could handle 2 display and ivy can handle 3.
    I never really felt the need to try this but i'll post back in a few with my findings on the htpc which is a 2nd gen with h61 chipset.
    Even if it don't support them both at once surely the ops friend can swap between the 2 using win + p combo as it seems his usage wont require them both at once.
    Current Computers: Gaming Rig, HTPC

  7. #7
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,783
    Unfortunately, Intel has implemented only two PLLs, phase-locked loops that can't be shared by DVI and HDMI, or any TDMS or analogue interface.
    It is a small consolation that DisplayPorts can share them just fine, with one monitor working at up to 2,500 x ,600 pixels and the other two at 1,920 x 1,200 pixels.
    Technically, yes. It supports three. Practically, no, because most boards don't have the hardware for it.

  8. #8
    Brewmaster lockblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    wisconsin .. I mean greymane
    Posts
    1,306
    Both hdmi and dvi are now active on my I3/h61 so more then likely an i5 with z77 should be able to replicate that.
    Current Computers: Gaming Rig, HTPC

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •