1. #1

    Boot issues when using 2nd harddrive

    I recently added a SSD to my build and did a fresh install of windows on it. Without my regular hdd in, the computer boots and runs fine. I have it set up in IDE and when i add the 2nd hard drive, it hangs in the windows logo screen and reboots, then continues to cycle that way. The ssd is a samsung 840 and the hdd is WD 500 blue. In a gigabyte 970ad3 mobo.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,786
    First, go into BIOS and make sure it has the SSD set as the first boot drive. Even though you installed windows like that, it may be reverting to the old drive as the boot drive.

  3. #3
    Why aren't you using AHCI?
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  4. #4
    Sorry the computer boots fine with just the ssd on IDE. The old hardrive has been wiped and is empty also. When I switch it to ahci and set the boot order to ssd first, it says starting windows for a second then restarts. But without the empty drive connected it works fine

  5. #5
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  6. #6
    Thanks ill give that a shot. I don't remember having this issue on my other machine and I thought I followed the same steps

    ---------- Post added 2013-02-02 at 02:52 PM ----------

    That trick allowed me to get to the desktop but the drive isn't showing in windows explorer. Just tried a different hard drive and that one worked.. So this drive must be dead. It's recognized in the bios but I dont hear it like the other old one. Ill get a new one and hope it works. Thanks guys

  7. #7
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    I haven't been able to find it
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  8. #8
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,786
    Quote Originally Posted by inux94 View Post
    I haven't been able to find it
    What is "it"?

    And out of curiousity, are you running Windows XP? It seems unlikely but I just wanted to check.
    Last edited by chazus; 2013-02-02 at 09:53 PM.

  9. #9
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338
    Quote Originally Posted by chazus View Post
    What is "it"?

    And out of curiousity, are you running Windows XP? It seems unlikely but I just wanted to check.
    Oh, derp :P

    The MSAHCI folder, 3rd point in the guide. Search didn't find it either.
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    Why aren't you using AHCI?
    This. Set the Bios boot drive parameters to AHCI, connect the SSD to SATA 0, ???? , Profit.

  11. #11
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338
    Quote Originally Posted by Gravewyrm View Post
    This. Set the Bios boot drive parameters to AHCI, connect the SSD to SATA 0, ???? , Profit.
    That will just cause a BSOD if the installation is made while running the drive on IDE.
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by inux94 View Post
    Oh, derp :P

    The MSAHCI folder, 3rd point in the guide. Search didn't find it either.
    Are you using windows 7?
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  13. #13
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,338
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    Are you using windows 7?
    Windows 8, which just made me realize that's maybe the reason it isn't there :P

    Edit: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...(v=vs.85).aspx
    i5-4670k 4.2GHz | EVGA GTX 980 | 16GB Kingston HyperX | 256GB 840 EVO | Corsair H100i | Noctua IndustialPPC
    ASUS PB298Q 4K | 2x QNIX QH2710 | CM Storm Rapid w/ Reds | Steelseries Rival | Schiit Stack w/ Sennheiser HD8

  14. #14
    anytime you do a fresh install, you need to disconnect all hard drives except the os drive.

    Im not familiar with Win 8, but you have to set your ahci up before install or config it in the registry.

    here is a write up on it for Win 8.

    http://www.ithinkdiff.com/how-to-ena...-installation/
    Build #1: Corsair 350D | EVGA 600B PSU | Gigabyte Z97M-D3H | Intel i5-4690k | Crucial MX100 512GB SSD / WD 1TB | Gigabyte Black GTX-750Ti | 16GB DDR 2133 - Windows 8.1

    Budget Build: DS Aero | EVGA 500B PSU | Gigabyte B85-D3V | Intel G3258 [email protected] GHz | 250GB Samsung EVO | WD 500GB Data | EVGA GTX-750Ti | 8GB Gskill | Windows 7 Pro


  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by moremana View Post
    anytime you do a fresh install, you need to disconnect all hard drives except the os drive.

    Im not familiar with Win 8, but you have to set your ahci up before install or config it in the registry.

    here is a write up on it for Win 8.

    http://www.ithinkdiff.com/how-to-ena...-installation/
    No, you don't have to disconnect the other drives.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  16. #16
    If you have a windows install on the old drive and you do a install on the second drive, it will set both in the mbr and when you take the old drive out you will get a boot error, that or you will have to edit the mbr to remove the old install from it.

    So safe way, unplug all drives except the one your installing win on, when install is done plug old drives back in.
    Build #1: Corsair 350D | EVGA 600B PSU | Gigabyte Z97M-D3H | Intel i5-4690k | Crucial MX100 512GB SSD / WD 1TB | Gigabyte Black GTX-750Ti | 16GB DDR 2133 - Windows 8.1

    Budget Build: DS Aero | EVGA 500B PSU | Gigabyte B85-D3V | Intel G3258 [email protected] GHz | 250GB Samsung EVO | WD 500GB Data | EVGA GTX-750Ti | 8GB Gskill | Windows 7 Pro


  17. #17
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,292
    Quote Originally Posted by moremana View Post
    If you have a windows install on the old drive and you do a install on the second drive, it will set both in the mbr and when you take the old drive out you will get a boot error, that or you will have to edit the mbr to remove the old install from it.

    So safe way, unplug all drives except the one your installing win on, when install is done plug old drives back in.
    i have never removed other drives, seems like a waste of time

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | RV05
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •