1. #1

    What can happen?

    What is the worst thing that could happen if i put my gpu in pc and there is not enough power out of PSU?

  2. #2
    Worst thing? Everything frys. MoBo, CPU, RAM, CPU, all of it.

    Please list your system specs, GPU you are planning on putting in and Brand and Model of current PSU and someone here can tell you if it is enough or not. What the mfg recommends is normally not needed and over the top. It's more of a CYOA thing on their end.
    Rift - Lathais@Deepwood - 60 Rogue / Arrieleah@Deepwood - 60 Mage
    Check out this guide Guide for fresh 60's: The One Level 60 Guide - Updated for 2.5
    Check these out:Gaming/Computer Glasses
    My Multi-Touch Table Project

  3. #3
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,511
    The system may run wonky, or not start at all. It's pretty rare that actual damage can occur, but damage is still a possibility. Worst? KAblooie. Likely? Probably just no boot, or system crashes. What are your specs and what model power supply?
    Gaming: Dual Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 1400mhz + Blue Orb | Asus CUV266-D | GeForce 2 Ti + ZF700-Cu | 1024mb Crucial PC-133 | Whistler Build 2267
    Media: Dual Intel Drake Xeon @ 600mhz | Intel Marlinspike MS440GX | Matrox G440 | 1024mb Crucial PC-133 @ 166mhz | Windows 2000 Pro

    IT'S ALWAYS BEEN WANKERSHIM | Did you mean: Fhqwhgads

  4. #4
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Worst thing that happens is the fuse in your PSU giving way. What lathais mentions is untrue.

  5. #5
    You'll break motherboard or PSU or the graphics card if you have really shitty PSU without proper protections. Usually (99.99% of the time) what happens is that either the computer shuts down immediately when you try to power it up, or it will shut down when you start any 3D accelerated application like a game.

    If the PSU has power connectors for the graphics card and you don't need to hack those with any kind of extension cords and adapters, odds are it will work.
    Never going to log into this garbage forum again as long as calling obvious troll obvious troll is the easiest way to get banned.
    Trolling should be.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    Worst thing that happens is the fuse in your PSU giving way. What lathais mentions is untrue.
    No, it is true, it can happen. It is unlikely and the worst possible case, but he asked for worst possible case.
    Rift - Lathais@Deepwood - 60 Rogue / Arrieleah@Deepwood - 60 Mage
    Check out this guide Guide for fresh 60's: The One Level 60 Guide - Updated for 2.5
    Check these out:Gaming/Computer Glasses
    My Multi-Touch Table Project

  7. #7
    Brewmaster Majesticii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by Lathais View Post
    No, it is true, it can happen. It is unlikely and the worst possible case, but he asked for worst possible case.
    How, the fuse or pre-filter will always go first. Let's go for the worst probable case

  8. #8
    Bloodsail Admiral Killora's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    BFE, Montana
    Posts
    1,098
    Quote Originally Posted by Lathais View Post
    No, it is true, it can happen. It is unlikely and the worst possible case, but he asked for worst possible case.
    Giving someone the worst possible case, and only the worst possible case, when it's extremely unlikely, implies that it is actually likely.

    Chazus explained it well.

  9. #9
    Herald of the Titans Gobra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,913
    Quote Originally Posted by Killora View Post
    Giving someone the worst possible case, and only the worst possible case, when it's extremely unlikely, implies that it is actually likely.

    Chazus explained it well.
    The OP asked for the worst thing that could happen, Not a list of all possible outcomes
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony Stark
    They say that the best weapon is the one you never have to fire. I respectfully disagree. I prefer the weapon you only have to fire once. That's how Dad did it, that's how America does it, and it's worked out pretty well so far. I present to you the newest in Stark Industries' Freedom line. Find an excuse to let one of these off the chain, and I personally guarantee, the bad guys won't even wanna come out of their caves. Ladies and gentlemen, for your consideration... the Jericho.

  10. #10
    OCZ, 500W STEALTHXSTREM v2.2
    Kingston, 2GB PC10600 DDR3 Kit Of 2 x2
    Intel, Core 2 DUO E8400, 3.0GHz, FSB1333, 6MB, 45nm
    Asus, P5E3 DELUXE / WIFI DDR3
    LITE ON, DVDRW, Lightcribe
    Seagate, 500GB SATA2 7200RPM 32MB DiamondMax
    Asus nvidia GTX 660TI

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Majesticii View Post
    How, the fuse or pre-filter will always go first. Let's go for the worst probable case
    Fuses are not 100% all the time, depending on the brand and model of the PSU. If it is a cheap one with no 80+ rating, this is a very real possibility.

    Quote Originally Posted by Killora View Post
    Giving someone the worst possible case, and only the worst possible case, when it's extremely unlikely, implies that it is actually likely.

    Chazus explained it well.
    That would be true if the question asked was what is the most likely thing that could happen, or what will probably happen. However, the question was what is the worst, and that is the answer. If he wanted a more detailed answer, he should have phrased it differently. Chazus and I said basically the same thing though, he also mentioned that the worst case was kablooie and asked for me details to properly answer what the OP really needs to know, which is the same thing I did.

    ---------- Post added 2013-02-14 at 03:10 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by exot1k View Post
    OCZ, 500W STEALTHXSTREM v2.2
    Kingston, 2GB PC10600 DDR3 Kit Of 2 x2
    Intel, Core 2 DUO E8400, 3.0GHz, FSB1333, 6MB, 45nm
    Asus, P5E3 DELUXE / WIFI DDR3
    LITE ON, DVDRW, Lightcribe
    Seagate, 500GB SATA2 7200RPM 32MB DiamondMax
    Asus nvidia GTX 660TI
    That PSU is more than enough for that system.
    Rift - Lathais@Deepwood - 60 Rogue / Arrieleah@Deepwood - 60 Mage
    Check out this guide Guide for fresh 60's: The One Level 60 Guide - Updated for 2.5
    Check these out:Gaming/Computer Glasses
    My Multi-Touch Table Project

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by exot1k View Post
    OCZ, 500W STEALTHXSTREM v2.2
    Asus nvidia GTX 660TI
    Your PSU is fine. It can run that card easily, but don't try extreme overclocking of CPU and GPU.

    Bad thing about that PSU is that it has only one PCIe power cable, but it has enough wattage to run the card using molex-PCIe adapter. Just make sure you dont use splitter cable for the PCIe power but instead molex adapter because that will load the PSU more evenly.
    Last edited by vesseblah; 2013-02-14 at 09:19 PM.
    Never going to log into this garbage forum again as long as calling obvious troll obvious troll is the easiest way to get banned.
    Trolling should be.

  13. #13
    The Lightbringer Toffie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    3,761
    Quote Originally Posted by exot1k View Post
    OCZ, 500W STEALTHXSTREM v2.2
    Kingston, 2GB PC10600 DDR3 Kit Of 2 x2
    Intel, Core 2 DUO E8400, 3.0GHz, FSB1333, 6MB, 45nm
    Asus, P5E3 DELUXE / WIFI DDR3
    LITE ON, DVDRW, Lightcribe
    Seagate, 500GB SATA2 7200RPM 32MB DiamondMax
    Asus nvidia GTX 660TI
    That is more than enough.
    Steam Big Picture Mode - 4570 - GA-H87N - MSI R9-290 - 120 GB Samsung 840 EVO
    Corsair 250D - Philips 55 LED TV - Corsair RM 550 - Corsair Vengeance Pro 8GB

    4770K - EVGA 780 Ti SC- Corsair 350D - V700 - Gryphon Z87
    Corsair Vengeance Pro 8GB - Samsung 840 250GB - H60

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •