High Overlord
    10+ Year Old Account

Electricity Question

So we have the old style screw in fuses for the house, and my mom just blew a fuse using the hair dryer. When it came back on I yelled down "its on" and she said "but I didn't put 1 back in". We left it out since its working, i'm not much into electricity but how can taking 1 out restore power?!

Deleted
    Ugh in dutch I could explain but I don't know any english terms

Sorry mate

I am a mechanical engineer not an electrical one, so I only know a little on the topic. But typically when removing a component and restoring power to subsequent components it means that they are wired in parallel, or "next-to" so to speak instead of in series with the fuse. Which almost seems to negate the point of having a fuse anyways. Unless of the course the parallel circuit is also running through a fuse, in which case means that the outlets that went out are now simply drawing power through a different fuse and you should be fine. Other than that, I guess the current would have to be jumping from somewhere else to be able to power the fuse-less circuit, which could be quite bad. My last guess would be that the fuse that blew was actually for a different section of the house and that a "safety-check" type system was built in as to cause the section that the hair dryer was in to go down when a different fuse blew.

My suggestion, get a new replacement fuse identical to the one removed, because it can't hurt to have it in, as it did blow once so it was being used by something. But if when you put in a new one, it causes things to go off again, you're going to want to check with an electrician or someone with my knowledge than myself. Other than that, check to make sure no other outlets aren't working or ask neighboring houses as typically nearby houses are built with similar "guts"(wiring, foundation, piping, ect.) assuming they/you didn't remodel recently.