Page 1 of 2
LastLast
    10+ Year Old Account

Looking for a performing nvidia graphic card

Good evening guys and gals,

I bought a gaming PC last august. Up to now I am highly satisfied, but I can't help but feel my computer ain't powerful as it could be. However, I am not a hardware professional (far, very far from that) and I must say I'm more confident to ask you guys here, who spend much more time looking at this than I. Here are the specs I believe you guys will need:

Processor:
    3,50 gigahertz Intel Core i7-3770K
    64-bit ready
    Multi-core (4 total)
    Hyper-threaded (8 total)

Main Circuit Drive (Motherboard?):
    Board: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
    Bus Clock: 100 megahertz
    BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. P1.40 05/14/2012

Graphic Card:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 Gygabyte OC 2G GDDR5 PCI-Express
    From what I remember from when I bought my computer, it is SLI-ready. Since I have such an option on my computer, I'm rather sure I'd be dumb not to use it. I did a little bit of search and I know that my 2nd graphic card must have the same processor (I think it's the GTX part, so GT won't work) and the same amount of memory (2G DDR5 here). I heard the new GeForce generation (700) was being released soon, and I was expecting to spend roughly 500$ on my 2nd card.

Which card would be the best to work on my computer for 500$? Should I wait a few months for the 700 technology to be released or will they be completely overpriced?
    Last edited by Zandalarian Paladin; 2013-02-16 at 11:11 PM.

The Patient
    10+ Year Old Account
    Have you read up on micro-stuttering? I think you should try and do that. I've never tried SLI, but from what I've heard, then theres a chance you might be sensitive to micro-stuttering which appears as small lags.

Deleted
    in what aspect do you find you current card lacking? (i can run BF3 full ultra at 60 fps pretty much with my 670)
    also tried overclocking it?