Page 1 of 2
1
2
LastLast
  1. #1
    Stood in the Fire scarecrowz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    391

    Looking to Upgrade soon, need some help!

    Hey guys,

    I'm looking to upgrade/build a new PC from scratch soon as my PC can no longer run the latest games at max settings.

    This is my previous build from years ago. I have only added SSDs to it since.

    1 cpI7_930 INTEL CORE i7 930 2.8Ghz LGA1366 $343.64 $378.00 $378.00
    1 mbASp6t ASUS P6T Motherboard
    Intel X58 Express Triple Channel DDR3
    SLi / Crossfire Ready -=[________]=-
    $250.00 $275.00 $275.00
    1 memCOtr_d3_6gig1 Corsair TR3X3 DDR3 6gig 1333C9 (3 x 2gig)
    TRIPLE PACK PC1333C9 (TR3X6G1333C9)
    $208.18 $229.00 $229.00
    1 casCOstorm_sniper CoolerMaster STORM SNIPER BLACK EDITION
    Model : SGC-6000-KXN1
    NO PSU INCLUDED --==[________]==--
    $208.18 $229.00 $229.00
    1 psCOhx_1000 CORSAIR HX 1000Watt Modular Power Supply $290.00 $319.00 $319.00
    1 hddSE500_sata16 Seagate 500gig SATA-2 16meg Cache
    7200.12 NCQ MODEL : ST3500418AS
    $56.36 $62.00 $62.00
    1 hddSE1tb_sata32 Seagate 1TB SATA-2 HardDrive 32meg Cache
    Barracuda 7200.12
    Model: ST31000528AS
    $92.73 $102.00 $102.00
    1 cdAS24xdvd_sata ASUS 24x Burner SATA BLACK Retail
    Model: DRW-24B1ST -=[________]=-
    $33.64 $37.00 $37.00
    1 viGIhd5870_1g GIGABYTE HD5870 1GB GDDR5
    Model:GV-R587D5-1GD-B
    $540.91 $595.00 $595.00



    Should I upgrade individual parts or completely rebuild my PC?

  2. #2
    Bloodsail Admiral Killora's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    BFE, Montana
    Posts
    1,098
    No need to rebuild from scratch. You have a nice base.

    PSU is way overkill, but fine, case is monstrous (which is fine.) i don't agree with the 3x ram but you already have it so that's fine i guess. Harddrive and SSD can stay (obviously)

    The only real thing that could potentially be upgraded upon (without wasting money for minor upgrades) would be your GPU and maybe your CPU/motherboard (only cause you need one with 1155 socket size if you upgrade the CPU)

    All in all, it depends on what you play and your budget. Mind giving a list of games and a potential budget for upgrades?

  3. #3
    Stood in the Fire scarecrowz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by Killora View Post
    No need to rebuild from scratch. You have a nice base.

    PSU is way overkill, but fine, case is monstrous (which is fine.) i don't agree with the 3x ram but you already have it so that's fine i guess. Harddrive and SSD can stay (obviously)

    The only real thing that could potentially be upgraded upon (without wasting money for minor upgrades) would be your GPU and maybe your CPU/motherboard (only cause you need one with 1155 socket size if you upgrade the CPU)

    All in all, it depends on what you play and your budget. Mind giving a list of games and a potential budget for upgrades?
    I don't really have a genre that I adhere to but off the top of my head my recently played games list is as follows:

    Dota 2.
    WoW.
    TERA
    Hitman Absolution.
    Far Cry 3.
    Battlefield 3.

    I am keen to upgrade the CPU/Motherboard and also the GPU. Which probably means I should just go the whole 9 yards and upgrade the RAM too? Or is that not needed?

  4. #4
    Bloodsail Admiral Killora's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    BFE, Montana
    Posts
    1,098
    Quote Originally Posted by scarecrowz View Post
    I don't really have a genre that I adhere to but off the top of my head my recently played games list is as follows:

    Dota 2.
    WoW.
    TERA
    Hitman Absolution.
    Far Cry 3.
    Battlefield 3.

    I am keen to upgrade the CPU/Motherboard and also the GPU. Which probably means I should just go the whole 9 yards and upgrade the RAM too? Or is that not needed?
    Well, you should never put ram in pairs of 3. It's dual channel for a reason. Pairs of 2. If you want to upgrade to 8gb ram, you can, but that's up to you.

    As far as the CPU/GPU/MB goes..Do you have any particular budget? like how much would you be willing to spend for all 3 of these?

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Killora View Post
    Well, you should never put ram in pairs of 3. It's dual channel for a reason. Pairs of 2.
    X58 uses triple channel ram. He won't see much of a performance gain if he upgrades his RAM in all honesty. For GPU bound games, it simply has to be a GPU upgrade. Everything else is fine. The CPU could use a bit of an overclock...Sandy Bridge/Ivy Bridge, a cheaper platform, pretty much destroys the old X58 platform due to its chip architecture. The X58 platform was designed for high end gaming however hence the triple channel memory controller and full support for SLI/Crossfire configurations.
    Last edited by Drudgery; 2013-02-18 at 07:30 AM.

  6. #6
    Bloodsail Admiral Killora's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    BFE, Montana
    Posts
    1,098
    oh, huh, didn't realize it was triple channel. The OP is a bit hard to read :/.

  7. #7
    Stood in the Fire scarecrowz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by Killora View Post
    oh, huh, didn't realize it was triple channel. The OP is a bit hard to read :/.
    Yeah its triple channel. I didn't build the thing myself.

    I guess my budget is between 1000-1500 if I was to upgrade everything but the case/PSU.

    I would like to run both WoW and Dota2 at the same time?

  8. #8
    No no, triple channel was/is a good thing for that build.

    You can reuse ALOT from that build. What is the case on that build?

  9. #9
    Bloodsail Admiral Killora's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    BFE, Montana
    Posts
    1,098
    Quote Originally Posted by Drudgery View Post
    No no, triple channel was/is a good thing for that build.

    You can reuse ALOT from that build. What is the case on that build?
    It's a Cooler Master Storm Sniper Black. he could easily reuse it as it's a better case than most of the things we'd recommend him.

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Killora View Post
    It's a Cooler Master Storm Sniper Black. he could easily reuse it as it's a better case than most of the things we'd recommend him.
    I see it! Well spotted.

  11. #11
    The Lightbringer Toffie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    3,761
    http://pcpartpicker.com/p/Eqru

    Do you have experience overclocking CPU's? The gain would be quite alot when playing WoW/Tera.
    Steam Big Picture Mode - 4570 - GA-H87N - MSI R9-290 - 120 GB Samsung 840 EVO
    Corsair 250D - Philips 55 LED TV - Corsair RM 550 - Corsair Vengeance Pro 8GB

    4770K - EVGA 780 Ti SC- Corsair 350D - V700 - Gryphon Z87
    Corsair Vengeance Pro 8GB - Samsung 840 250GB - H60

  12. #12
    Seems like a waste to replace a perfectly fine i7 930, if you overclock it to 3.5-4GHz it is still a very capable CPU. If you get it up to 4GHz it could easily last 2-3 generations more before it will get too far behind.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  13. #13
    Bloodsail Admiral Killora's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    BFE, Montana
    Posts
    1,098
    yeah, if he overclocks his 930 he won't really need a replacement. Only thing that could use an upgrade is the GPU. everything else is fine.

  14. #14
    Stood in the Fire scarecrowz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by Toffie View Post
    http://pcpartpicker.com/p/Eqru

    Do you have experience overclocking CPU's? The gain would be quite alot when playing WoW/Tera.
    I don't have any experience overclocking.

    If someone can link a guide and software I should be able to follow it quite easily.

    I'm primarily thinking of upgrading because the PC freezes every now and then, can't bring out of locking with task manager. I don't know if its the RAM playing up or what? (Have obviously tried formatting).

    Will I need extra cooling if I overclock? It gets quite hot here in Brisbane, Australia in summer. Talking 30-38 degrees celcius.

  15. #15
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  16. #16
    Stood in the Fire scarecrowz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    391

    Will I need extra cooling if I am to go from 2.8 to 3.8-4.0?

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by scarecrowz View Post
    Will I need extra cooling if I am to go from 2.8 to 3.8-4.0?
    Yes, if you are currently using a stock cooler.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  18. #18
    Stood in the Fire scarecrowz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    Yes, if you are currently using a stock cooler.
    My original build in the OP doesn't look like it came with extra cooling. FML.

  19. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by scarecrowz View Post
    My original build in the OP doesn't look like it came with extra cooling. FML.
    A cheap cooler like Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo costs about $30 and should be good for 3.5GHz at least.

    Even more it seems, http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/coo...o_5.html#sect1 in this test they use a i7-980x at 4.3GHz it gets a bit toasty but it still works. I'd say 4GHz with a i7-930 shouldn't be a problem.
    Last edited by n0cturnal; 2013-02-21 at 12:56 AM.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  20. #20
    Stood in the Fire scarecrowz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    391
    I was able to follow some basic overclocking guides and get my CPU up to 3.4Ghz but I don't think I am going any higher with my current cooling.

    I actually have a Thermaltake SpinQ VT in there. Wasn't in original build sheet!?

    Anyway, these are my stats. Think I can get it higher if I went out and bought a $90 water cooling option I could get it to 4 Ghz?

    Also I don't even know if I'm using the right settings in the BIOS yet. I don't think I matched the RAM speed??!?? Unsure.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •