Page 62 of 73 FirstFirst ...
12
52
60
61
62
63
64
72
... LastLast
  1. #1221
    Quote Originally Posted by Violent View Post
    I can't really tell you, you should and I can't really tell you not to.. But, 95% of it works for me.. Some games that have online features, I can't really partake in those on a pirated game, at least none for the ones I play. But, it's saved me a lot of money.
    my english are not the best out there so im not sure if you can understand what im saying i just dont see the reason why i should pay for a game today if that game is not ready y at some point they will fix everything but they have my money now i have the game sitting on the pc and i dont touch it cause of the problems that it has grafics on low 30 fps grafics on extreme 30 fps nothing change on campain you do history batles everything run like charm

  2. #1222
    Legendary! SirRobin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Counciltucky
    Posts
    6,002
    Quote Originally Posted by Confined View Post
    Works fine here, Just that ALT TAB bug.
    Details? Relatively sure its not. The settings I was running Rome 2 with, posted a dozen or so pages back, I can't now. It was pretty smooth and now its a slideshow and I'm lucky if the campaign map doesn't choke.
    Sir Robin, the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot.
    Who had nearly fought the Dragon of Angnor.
    Who had almost stood up to the vicious Chicken of Bristol.
    And who had personally wet himself, at the Battle of Badon Hill.

  3. #1223
    They improved turn speed on campaign yet?

  4. #1224
    Warchief Violent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,080
    Quote Originally Posted by rottenpen View Post
    my english are not the best out there so im not sure if you can understand what im saying i just dont see the reason why i should pay for a game today if that game is not ready y at some point they will fix everything but they have my money now i have the game sitting on the pc and i dont touch it cause of the problems that it has grafics on low 30 fps grafics on extreme 30 fps nothing change on campain you do history batles everything run like charm
    I understand completely. You're right, your English isn't the "greatest", but I understand what you're saying completely.

    It's not fair for anyone to give up money they have, for something they were basically promised, yet did not receive. A "working" game..

    I have a pretty decent desktop, not very old and not too "low-end".. We were all told that this game could and would work "well" on low-end machines. And if you watched the videos CA put out, before release it runs GREAT for them.. Granted they probably have some of the most expensive gaming-computers out there.. But that is beside the point, to me.
    Last edited by Violent; 2013-09-21 at 04:07 PM.
    <~$~("The truth, is limitless in its range. If you drop a 'T' and look at it in reverse, it could hurt.")~$~> L.F.

    <~$~("The most hopelessly stupid man is he who is not aware he is wise.")~$~> I.A.

  5. #1225
    I am Murloc! Sy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Somewhere Blue.
    Posts
    5,202
    Quote Originally Posted by Achaman View Post
    build a bigger ship? able to fit a cata and enough ammo :/
    as i explained in my last post, they should easily be able to have a lot of ammo with their current size :P

    and since artillery ships are practically defenceless against boarding, it's actually often a good idea to use smaller, faster ships for them - although in reality a smaller ship would also be a less stable platform, making siege weapons on them less accurate. but i think siege weapons were rather additions to already strong missile or boarding ships, rather than their own dedicated ship type.

    @_@

  6. #1226
    Quote Originally Posted by SirRobin View Post
    Well we are already up to three patches. So if Empire is any guide we are half way to CA throwing in the towel and moving on to the next one.
    I would be stunned if they gave up fixing. RTW was their launcher. If they let RTW2 fall apart they would be destroying the present and disgracing the past. Besides nobody likes Napoleon because hes short :P
    My System
    Ivy Bridge 3570k OC 4.0
    ASRock Z77 Extreme4
    Saphire 290
    Mushkin Enhanced Blackline Frostbyte DDR3 1600 8GB

  7. #1227
    Herald of the Titans Achaman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    pfft as if you care..
    Posts
    2,681
    Quote Originally Posted by Sy View Post
    as i explained in my last post, they should easily be able to have a lot of ammo with their current size :P

    and since artillery ships are practically defenceless against boarding, it's actually often a good idea to use smaller, faster ships for them - although in reality a smaller ship would also be a less stable platform, making siege weapons on them less accurate. but i think siege weapons were rather additions to already strong missile or boarding ships, rather than their own dedicated ship type.
    but a bigger ship would be able to ahve better defenses or have an escort as you wouldnt charge at them or let it sit there and let the enemy board it

  8. #1228
    Legendary! SirRobin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Counciltucky
    Posts
    6,002
    Quote Originally Posted by theturn View Post
    I would be stunned if they gave up fixing. RTW was their launcher. If they let RTW2 fall apart they would be destroying the present and disgracing the past. Besides nobody likes Napoleon because hes short :P
    I wouldn't be too surprised if they do. Empire had lots of DLC and they gave up on it. I thought Shogun 2 showed that they had learned their lesson from Empire. Rome 2 showed me I was wrong. So I wouldn't be too surprised if they bail on Rome 2 too.
    Sir Robin, the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot.
    Who had nearly fought the Dragon of Angnor.
    Who had almost stood up to the vicious Chicken of Bristol.
    And who had personally wet himself, at the Battle of Badon Hill.

  9. #1229
    Warchief Violent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,080
    Quote Originally Posted by SirRobin View Post
    I wouldn't be too surprised if they do. Empire had lots of DLC and they gave up on it. I thought Shogun 2 showed that they had learned their lesson from Empire. Rome 2 showed me I was wrong. So I wouldn't be too surprised if they bail on Rome 2 too.
    Shogun 2 is actually really good. I like it.
    <~$~("The truth, is limitless in its range. If you drop a 'T' and look at it in reverse, it could hurt.")~$~> L.F.

    <~$~("The most hopelessly stupid man is he who is not aware he is wise.")~$~> I.A.

  10. #1230
    I am Murloc! Sy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Somewhere Blue.
    Posts
    5,202
    Quote Originally Posted by Achaman View Post
    but a bigger ship would be able to ahve better defenses or have an escort as you wouldnt charge at them or let it sit there and let the enemy board it
    not really, no. in the game, it is simply a matter of gameplay and balancing. if every artillery ship also was strong in/against boarding and ramming, then there wouldn't be much reason to build anything else. and in reality, like i said, i don't think there were dedicated artillery ships without missile or boarding troops anyway.

    a penteres can already hold two scorpions and 70 archers. using one onager instead of the scorpions would still leave room for a roughly equal number of soldiers, yet they only have 20 engineers instead ;] so just building bigger wouldn't change anything about that, nor does the currently extremely limited ammunition make any sense.

    @_@

  11. #1231
    Dreadlord Akaena's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Minnesota (Brrrrrrrr.....)
    Posts
    838
    I don't get why people are crying about it being unplayable I can play it just fine, been since release. Yeah there are LOTS of bugs(makes me cry sometimes) but it hasn't stopped me from playing and finishing 3 campaigns. Saying its unplayable is a bit of a stretch. I'm a big total war spent hours upon hours on medieval 2 and shogun 2. A bit disappointing on how the release turned up but still happy nonetheless.

  12. #1232
    I am Murloc! Sy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Somewhere Blue.
    Posts
    5,202
    Quote Originally Posted by Mieme View Post
    I don't get why people are crying about it being unplayable I can play it just fine, been since release. Yeah there are LOTS of bugs(makes me cry sometimes) but it hasn't stopped me from playing and finishing 3 campaigns. Saying its unplayable is a bit of a stretch. I'm a big total war spent hours upon hours on medieval 2 and shogun 2. A bit disappointing on how the release turned up but still happy nonetheless.
    not every bug and crash happens for on every hardware, you know. just because you didn't have problems, doesn't mean others are wrong when they say they can't even play it.

    @_@

  13. #1233
    Quote Originally Posted by SirRobin View Post
    Details? Relatively sure its not. The settings I was running Rome 2 with, posted a dozen or so pages back, I can't now. It was pretty smooth and now its a slideshow and I'm lucky if the campaign map doesn't choke.
    Max Settings, vegetation alpha is off along with the SSAO and distortion effects, Shadows on high.
    http://eu.battle.net/wow/en/characte...rning/advanced
    i5-3570k @ 4.4ghz - R9-280X @ 1150Mhz on stock voltage - 8GB of DDR3 Ram @ 1866Mhz

  14. #1234
    I gave this game another shot last night... 9/10 battles where I have walls and I'm defending, the AI, STILL Does NOT attack me. What the FUDGE !??! As well, I jumped into a battle in which i had ~700 men, and the AI had 2100 combined, I thought my PC could handle. I had everything on Low as Low can get mind you. Still, I was experiencing time relativity... 1 in game second was 4 (FOUR) seconds in real time. So yea, imagine a whole 20 min fight like that.

  15. #1235
    Warchief Violent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,080
    Quote Originally Posted by fakaroonie View Post
    I gave this game another shot last night... 9/10 battles where I have walls and I'm defending, the AI, STILL Does NOT attack me. What the FUDGE !??! As well, I jumped into a battle in which i had ~700 men, and the AI had 2100 combined, I thought my PC could handle. I had everything on Low as Low can get mind you. Still, I was experiencing time relativity... 1 in game second was 4 (FOUR) seconds in real time. So yea, imagine a whole 20 min fight like that.

    YUP! x100

    I feel your pain man.. I too have everything on low as low can get, and everything, like, "lurches". Lag by like 2 or 3 seconds while on the campaign map.

    Battle maps are "okay" I get maybe a little lag.. But with everything on low, it just looks so.. "Blah".
    <~$~("The truth, is limitless in its range. If you drop a 'T' and look at it in reverse, it could hurt.")~$~> L.F.

    <~$~("The most hopelessly stupid man is he who is not aware he is wise.")~$~> I.A.

  16. #1236
    The Insane peggleftw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Surrey, England
    Posts
    16,259
    Quote Originally Posted by Mieme View Post
    I don't get why people are crying about it being unplayable I can play it just fine, been since release. Yeah there are LOTS of bugs(makes me cry sometimes) but it hasn't stopped me from playing and finishing 3 campaigns. Saying its unplayable is a bit of a stretch. I'm a big total war spent hours upon hours on medieval 2 and shogun 2. A bit disappointing on how the release turned up but still happy nonetheless.

    not everyone is experiencing same bugs, i've had no game breaking bugs, but im holding off playing until more patches are out, AI is just straight up idiotic right now in battles for me, not even a challenge, im playing epirus on hard, and its just not challenging for me yet. seige battles don't work at all for me yet, AI just stands outside gate
    Too cool for a signature

  17. #1237
    Last time I played campaign mode in any TW game was RTW and that was just a hot mess of crap. Always stuck with multiplayer battles after that.

  18. #1238
    The Lightbringer N-7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,574
    Quote Originally Posted by Mieme View Post
    I don't get why people are crying about it being unplayable I can play it just fine, been since release. Yeah there are LOTS of bugs(makes me cry sometimes) but it hasn't stopped me from playing and finishing 3 campaigns. Saying its unplayable is a bit of a stretch. I'm a big total war spent hours upon hours on medieval 2 and shogun 2. A bit disappointing on how the release turned up but still happy nonetheless.
    It is unplayable to some including me (regardless of other bugs). I as a customer bought a full game and received an alpha version on release date. CA actions are borderline fraud.
    Quote Originally Posted by Cybran View Post
    Still, even if you ignore the that, the hijab is a serious safety concern.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mooneye View Post
    So what? If I got to decide I'd take Stalin's path regarding religion.

  19. #1239
    I have played for 150 hours and most of that on the same campaign taking it slow and the game is loaded with issues, the turn times is just ridiculous now with alot of stacks. It have been a bit better since last patch but there is still times when the ai just parks their ships near the shore and just stand there you cant even target them so you have to wait the 60min or give up and loose. And if you are lucky most of the time the ai is expoitable, i have killed full uppgraded stacks with my garrisons as the ai just rushes for flags you can chokepoint them into a massacre, that seems to been better now though after patches.

    Also the game turns into a slideshow alot, i could play shogun 2 on very high/ultra settings but barely medium here if i want to enjoy big battles.

    Oh well no where near the masterpiece of Shogun 2 and im not sure this game will ever be as good, maby after a year when big mods arrives. Sad as the roman era is way better then that of shogun.
    Last edited by ParanoiD84; 2013-09-22 at 11:54 AM.

  20. #1240
    Legendary! SirRobin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Counciltucky
    Posts
    6,002
    Here is a good video on the third patch.



    There is some improvement, but there is such a long way still to go.

    And that's before we get into the mess that optimization, and naval battles, still are.

    - - - Updated - - -

    I guess I should be clear that I want to like Rome 2. Shogun 2 was so much better than Empire, that I really did have high hopes for Rome 2. Compared to Empire, Shogun 2 was a polished game, at launch. The only area where Shogun 2 didn't trounce Empire was in naval battles. And once Fall of the Samurai arrived? I felt that it rivaled Empire in naval gameplay too.

    I've always found the Punic Wars to be fascinating, and I'm a bit of a Carthage fan. Not as much as I am a Byzantine fan, but still. The apparent extra attention CA was paying to Carthage really had my hopes up. But even beyond all the bugs and glitches, Rome 2 just isn't designed to let me repeat the Punic Wars. Hannibal's strategic and tactical outmaneuvering of the Romans just isn't possible in this game. So I'm not entirely sure why CA bothered paying Extra Credits to talk more about them.







    The cities on the campaign map are obscenely oversized, and when you combine their zones of control with Rome 2's corridors? Ugh... And the state of the battle AI on land and sea? Yikes... There are plenty of other issues as well. So many that its... Well. Shogun 2 fooled me into thinking that CA had learned from their mistakes in Empire. Rome 2 proved they haven't.

    Fool me once, Empire, shame on you. Fool me twice, Rome 2, shame on me.
    Sir Robin, the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot.
    Who had nearly fought the Dragon of Angnor.
    Who had almost stood up to the vicious Chicken of Bristol.
    And who had personally wet himself, at the Battle of Badon Hill.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •