Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst
1
2
3
4
LastLast
  1. #21
    So this the Origin v2 i guess right?!

  2. #22
    So in the future the all in one launcher will be forced. Guess it really will be like Blizzard own Origin.
    Quote Originally Posted by moveth View Post
    Instalogin? Im ok with this.
    Well after you have already logged in and set the launcher to remember you. If you end up sharing your computer with others then you still have to log in each time you use the launcher, especially if you dont want someone else to use your account. Blizzard could of had its games remember your account and password but choose not to for security reasons. It is just more convenient when swapping between Blizzard games and hopefully remove that frantic relogging in after a DC.
    Last edited by nekobaka; 2013-06-11 at 12:07 AM.

  3. #23
    High Overlord Ideon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Bucharest
    Posts
    157
    So. Has anyone got invited to the beta yet and could post a download link to the client? I'm afraid I haven't had much luck with betas so far but I'd love to at least install it...

  4. #24
    Mechagnome Aliok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oregon, U.S.A.
    Posts
    668

    Unhappy Re: Battle.net Desktop Client - Services Activated and Beta Test Opt-in

    Originally Posted by Blizzard Entertainment
    Will everyone’s launchers eventually be updated to the Battle.net desktop app?
    Yes — in the future, every Blizzard gamer will need to use the Battle.net desktop app to play their favorite Blizzard games. The Battle.net desktop app will replace the individual game launchers for World of Warcraft, StarCraft II, and Diablo III, and will act as your gateway to accessing future Blizzard games.

    We’ll let players know in advance when we plan to roll the app out to everyone.
    This displeases me.
    Last edited by Aliok; 2013-06-11 at 12:27 AM. Reason: fixed bb tag
    Originally Posted by Daeleht (Blue Tracker)
    Post constructively or I'll press some different buttons next time.
    Perfect summations of my feelings on CRZ - why I want to like it but can't.

  5. #25
    Stood in the Fire Dreadnor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    427
    Quote Originally Posted by markdall View Post
    $5 says it wants to launch when you log in to Windows, because if there's something I need it's yet another Steam client. Every company has to have one you know.
    It's an option you can turn on and off when you start your computer.

    http://imgur.com/AJDdwpd

  6. #26
    Fluffy Kitten Annoying's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Socorro, NM, USA
    Posts
    4,489
    Quote Originally Posted by markdall View Post
    $5 says it wants to launch when you log in to Windows, because if there's something I need it's yet another Steam client. Every company has to have one you know.
    http://i.imgur.com/uTEkvgH.png

    You guessed right! Though it doesn't default to launch at login.

    Quote Originally Posted by Aliok View Post
    Originally Posted by Blizzard Entertainment
    Will everyone’s launchers eventually be updated to the Battle.net desktop app?
    Yes — in the future, every Blizzard gamer will need to use the Battle.net desktop app to play their favorite Blizzard games. The Battle.net desktop app will replace the individual game launchers for World of Warcraft, StarCraft II, and Diablo III, and will act as your gateway to accessing future Blizzard games.

    We’ll let players know in advance when we plan to roll the app out to everyone.
    This displeases me.
    W...why? It doesn't do anything but act as a launcher for all 3 game clients. A launcher with insta-login. And it looks nice.
    CPU: i7 3770k @ 4.9GHz | GPU: 2x EVGA GTX 670FTW LE 2GB (SLI) | RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600 MHz | Case: NZXT Switch 810 White | Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro | CPU Cooler: Corsair H110 CLC | SSD: Intel 520 160GB | HDD: 3xWestern Digital Caviar Black 1TB | PSU: Antec TruePower Quattro 1200W | Displays: 3x BL2710PT IPS | Keyboard: Filco Majestouch 2 Tactile | Mouse: Razer Deathadder/Naga Epic | Car: Andromeda

  7. #27
    Stood in the Fire Dreadnor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    427
    Other things that peeps might want to know:

    If you have a battle.net with multiple wow accounts, you will still be able to multibox.
    If player A is on computer A on the battle.net client's WoW#1, but player B signs on computer B, and signs on WoW#2, Player A will be kicked out of the client, but will not be kicked out of WoW.
    Last edited by Dreadnor; 2013-06-11 at 12:33 AM.

  8. #28
    Ugh, another stupid leech program that wants to spy on me and suck up all my system resources. No thanks.

  9. #29
    Free Food!?!?! Tziva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    WHEREVER I WANT AINT NO ONE GONNA DO NOTHIN ABOUT IT IMMA T-REX
    Posts
    12,152
    Quote Originally Posted by markdall View Post
    $5 says it wants to launch when you log in to Windows, because if there's something I need it's yet another Steam client. Every company has to have one you know.
    You can, but it is off by default.
    Quote Originally Posted by Aliok View Post
    Originally Posted by Blizzard Entertainment
    Will everyone’s launchers eventually be updated to the Battle.net desktop app?
    Yes — in the future, every Blizzard gamer will need to use the Battle.net desktop app to play their favorite Blizzard games. The Battle.net desktop app will replace the individual game launchers for World of Warcraft, StarCraft II, and Diablo III, and will act as your gateway to accessing future Blizzard games.

    We’ll let players know in advance when we plan to roll the app out to everyone.




    This displeases me.
    Might not once you try it. It's pretty sweet.
    AbathurSnuggles: Blizzard Alpha Videos

    For Moderation Concerns, please contact a Global:
    TzivaDarsithisRaduxSimcaElysiaZaelsinoxskarma

  10. #30
    Stood in the Fire tidus4eva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    C'thuns Stomach
    Posts
    410
    Quote Originally Posted by Vesci View Post
    Ugh, another stupid leech program that wants to spy on me and suck up all my system resources. No thanks.
    It's just the original Launcher with extra optional options. It's your choice if you want to let it leech your 'resources' (though if you are playing WoW on any computer, you'll probably have 1kb resources to spare)
    "This is my story,
    It'll go the way I want,
    Or I'll end it here!" - Tidus (FFX)

  11. #31
    Fair play, the only beta i've been in was StarCraft Heart of the Swarm I think? Didn't play it as I'm not interested...

    No beta for WoW and played it since 2006 :| would be cool to have beta access for this!
    Kuroiwolf - 90 Brewmaster Monk
    Youtube Account Twitch TV
    Computer: Intel I7-3770k @ 4.5GHz | 16GB 1600MHz DDR3 RAM | AMD 7970 GHz @ 1200/1600 | ASUS Z77-V PRO Mobo|

  12. #32
    Quote Originally Posted by Aliok View Post
    Originally Posted by Blizzard Entertainment
    Will everyone’s launchers eventually be updated to the Battle.net desktop app?
    Yes — in the future, every Blizzard gamer will need to use the Battle.net desktop app to play their favorite Blizzard games. The Battle.net desktop app will replace the individual game launchers for World of Warcraft, StarCraft II, and Diablo III, and will act as your gateway to accessing future Blizzard games.

    We’ll let players know in advance when we plan to roll the app out to everyone.
    This displeases me.
    Same here. Tired of being unable to even look left or right without something being force "upgraded". I sure as heck didn't view b.net as an improvement back in 2009, and I bloody well don't want this desktop client.
    Alayea - Enhance/Resto (Main) Lithala - BM/Surv Gekkani - Disc/Shadow
    Mathrie - Fury/Prot Mayae - Resto/Bal Elita - Frost/Blood
    Chrystie - Frost/Fire Draika - Combat Ioreth - Ret/Prot
    Vexbolt - Demo/Destro Yin - WW

  13. #33
    Stood in the Fire Dreadnor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    427
    Quote Originally Posted by Alayea View Post
    Same here. Tired of being unable to even look left or right without something being force "upgraded". I sure as heck didn't view b.net as an improvement back in 2009, and I bloody well don't want this desktop client.
    you may every now and then have to update the client for bug fixes, but they're like.. 2 second updates. the upgrades are minimal, and the restart takes about 10 seconds without having to download anything (youll just get a message saying you need to restart, wait 10 seconds, youre back.)

    dont be a grumpy butt. "eh, is this new? I have to update it every now and then!? I DONT LIKE IT!"

    And you will have the option to keep your games upgraded automatically or not, if that makes you feel better. I dont have diablo 3 installed, but if i did, it would an option here as well.

    http://i.imgur.com/qXGqvnn.jpg

    ---------- Post added 2013-06-11 at 01:39 AM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Vesci View Post
    Ugh, another stupid leech program that wants to spy on me and suck up all my system resources. No thanks.
    Resource use is minimal. As for spying on you, any time you run a Blizzard game (sc2, d3, wow), there's a program already scanning your ram for any unauthorized programs (cheats/bots).

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warden_(software)

    http://us.blizzard.com/en-us/company/legal/wow_tou.html
    search "A. WHEN RUNNING, THE GAME MAY MONITOR"

    nothing new.

  14. #34
    Free Food!?!?! Tziva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    WHEREVER I WANT AINT NO ONE GONNA DO NOTHIN ABOUT IT IMMA T-REX
    Posts
    12,152
    Quote Originally Posted by Alayea View Post
    Same here. Tired of being unable to even look left or right without something being force "upgraded". I sure as heck didn't view b.net as an improvement back in 2009, and I bloody well don't want this desktop client.
    I understand being wary but give it a chance first. Really it's just like the launcher, except it is one launcher for all the games. And it has a chat app built in. It's pretty streamlined, not bloated or resource hoggy (right now), and it's kinda nice to just have to log into the app and be able to single-click launch the game any time you want. It really feels like the way it should have been done from the start.

    The upgrade to Battle.net was a necessary evil but it was pretty clusterfucky. It was also a whole new system and the process did not go smoothly. This is really similar to how we already do things but more convenient and more features and, despite being early beta, it doesn't seem buggy at all. (that said, chat is disabled so we'll see)
    AbathurSnuggles: Blizzard Alpha Videos

    For Moderation Concerns, please contact a Global:
    TzivaDarsithisRaduxSimcaElysiaZaelsinoxskarma

  15. #35
    Quote Originally Posted by Ammonex View Post
    Me too! I would love to try this out. I think it's a FANTASTIC idea!
    It works really great. Before you launch the game you can choose which license and region. Then I am right in my game as it opens without having to enter my password more than the first time I opened the app.

    ---------- Post added 2013-06-10 at 09:21 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Aliok View Post
    Originally Posted by Blizzard Entertainment
    Will everyone’s launchers eventually be updated to the Battle.net desktop app?
    Yes — in the future, every Blizzard gamer will need to use the Battle.net desktop app to play their favorite Blizzard games. The Battle.net desktop app will replace the individual game launchers for World of Warcraft, StarCraft II, and Diablo III, and will act as your gateway to accessing future Blizzard games.

    We’ll let players know in advance when we plan to roll the app out to everyone.
    This displeases me.
    Even if you only play one game, it works better than the basic WoW/D3/SC2 Launcher. Its a new and improved one and involves all Battle.net games.

  16. #36
    Mechagnome
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by tidus4eva View Post
    It's just the original Launcher with extra optional options. It's your choice if you want to let it leech your 'resources' (though if you are playing WoW on any computer, you'll probably have 1kb resources to spare)
    It starts at 1kb but won't stay that way. The problem isn't battle.net desktop client, origin, steam or uplay. It's a combination of all of them that all want to run at start up and track everything i do and sell me games (at least steam provides them at a good price, the others don't/won't).

    It's just extra rubbish that has to run on your computer eating up resources doing nothing and providing mostly just annoyance. Besides, it's just another way of forcing people into always-on DRM.

  17. #37
    Quote Originally Posted by stuck4cash View Post
    It starts at 1kb but won't stay that way. The problem isn't battle.net desktop client, origin, steam or uplay. It's a combination of all of them that all want to run at start up and track everything i do and sell me games (at least steam provides them at a good price, the others don't/won't).

    It's just extra rubbish that has to run on your computer eating up resources doing nothing and providing mostly just annoyance. Besides, it's just another way of forcing people into always-on DRM.
    Start---> MSCONFIG in search box---> goto start up disable Steam, Origin, what ever else is at start up (that you don't need)

    there done Nothing to "spy" on you
    Last edited by tempis; 2013-06-11 at 03:27 AM.

  18. #38
    Ribbon Guru Simca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    9,551
    Quote Originally Posted by stuck4cash View Post
    It starts at 1kb but won't stay that way. The problem isn't battle.net desktop client, origin, steam or uplay. It's a combination of all of them that all want to run at start up and track everything i do and sell me games (at least steam provides them at a good price, the others don't/won't).

    It's just extra rubbish that has to run on your computer eating up resources doing nothing and providing mostly just annoyance. Besides, it's just another way of forcing people into always-on DRM.
    Blizzard has made starting with Windows an opt-in checkbox instead of opt-out, as Tziva mentioned above.

    Unless you specifically go into options and check the checkbox, this program will not start up with your computer, and will only start up when you click on WoW/D3/SC2.
    Global Moderator | Forum Guidelines

  19. #39
    I assume eu beta is still not here?Just checked beta profile on battle.net and all i got is sc2,wow and dibalow.

  20. #40
    Moderator Kerdoz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Quote Originally Posted by Stormgnoef View Post
    I assume eu beta is still not here?Just checked beta profile on battle.net and all i got is sc2,wow and dibalow.
    I have the beta for this, works fine for EU

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •