1. #1

    How good is this configuration

    How good is this configuration:

    AMD FX-8120 3.1GHz X8 Socket AM3+ BOX
    Asus MB M5A97 EVO R2.0; AM3+/AM3, AMD 970
    Asus amd Radeon 7770 1GB DDR5; HD7770-1GD5
    Kingston Hyper-X DDR3 8GB (2x4) 1600MHz, KHX1600C9D3K2/8G
    WD Caviar Green 1TB; WD10EZRX, 64 MB SATA3
    Samsung DVD-RW SH-S224BB SATA
    Chieftec Libra LF-02B-OP, midi tower
    Chieftec iArena 500W, GPA-500S8

    What I expect from it is so it runs most games atm and new ones that come out at medium gfx settings at 720p minimum, I do not require more I just want them to run above 30 fps. It costs me 940 USD approx.

    Edit: If this setup sucks, I'd really appreciate it if someone could build a setup for 1000USD tops.
    Last edited by DMCDante; 2013-06-27 at 11:26 AM.

  2. #2
    Immortal Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    7,414
    Shitty PSU...

    Considering it's $940 the entry level GPU combined with that CPU seems out of place, I'm guessing this is a pre-built system? For the lower resolution it might be fine buit you should be able to get better.

    Slow HDD, not optimal when there is no SSD.

    RAM, Case and ODD is fine.
    CPU: Intel i5-3570k (4.5GHz) MB: ASUS Z77 Sabertooth (uefi 2003)
    GPU: Asus 280X TOP (1080MHz/1700MHz) RAM: Corsair LP/LV white 8GB 1600MHz
    SSD: Samsung 840Pro 256GB + Crucial m4 128GB (040H) PSU: Seasonic 620M CASE: Corsair 500R (White/Black) Monitor: LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! ||Old Build || Bitdefender Total Security 2014 || AV-TEST Jan/Feb 2013

  3. #3
    Yes it is pre built, SSDs seem really expansive in my country for my budget. For example Kingston SSD disk, SSDNow V300 60 GB, SV300S37A/60G costs 100 USD.

    But I am open to suggestions if someone could build a setup for max 1000 USD without a monitor.

  4. #4
    Which country? Link some local stores and the budget in local currency.
    Never going to log into this garbage forum again as long as calling obvious troll obvious troll is the easiest way to get banned.
    Trolling should be.

  5. #5
    I live in Bosnia and there are basically two stores I can buy components in, www.plus.ba and www.imtec.ba.
    I use http://www.xe.com/currencyconverter/ to convert the prices into USDs, the currency is BAM (Bosnian Convertible marka).
    My budget would be 1500 BAM.

  6. #6
    http://shop.imtec.ba/procesori/9377-...-am3-box.html# FX-8120 373 KM

    http://shop.imtec.ba/maticne-ploce/1...-amd-970.html# GIGABYTE MB GA-970A-DS3, AM3+, AMD 970 145 KM

    http://shop.imtec.ba/ram-memorija/11...9d3k2-8g.html# Kingston HyperX CL9 149.00KM

    http://shop.imtec.ba/hard-diskovi/11...mb-sata3.html# Seagate 1TB 7200rpm 149KM

    http://shop.imtec.ba/napojne-jedinic...00-w-box.html# Chieftec Smart GPS-600A8 125 KM

    http://shop.imtec.ba/kucista-za-racu...di-tower.html# ThermalTake Commander MS-II USB3.0, VN900A1W2N, Midi Tower 90 KM

    http://shop.imtec.ba/graficke-kartic...5oc-1gd-.html# GIGABYTE amd Radeon 7850 1GB GDDR5, GV-R785OC-1GD 399 KM

    http://shop.imtec.ba/dvd-rw-opticki-...ta-black.html# Asus DRW-24B5ST DVD-RW SATA Black 35 KM

    1465KM it seems to be, the sites are rather meh, and the PSU choices are dear god o.o! Along with the fact you dont have 650 Ti Boost apparently.

    I put a tower that has a frontal USB the cheapest there was and since the shop didnt have a 650 Ti boost, the next choice of 7850.

    Frankly i would suggest to find 150 more KM and go for:

    http://shop.imtec.ba/procesori/11212...1155-box.html# i5 3570 475KM

    http://shop.imtec.ba/maticne-ploce/1...intel-h77.html GIGABYTE MB GA-H77M-HD3, LGA 1155, Intel H77 161KM

    For 1583 KM, i would suggest this one since its better even if its 83 KM more than your budget unless you will need many SATA 3 in the future then go for the AMD above since it has 6 ports instead of 2.

    Otherwise find 83KM more and go for it.
    Last edited by potis; 2013-06-27 at 12:42 PM.

  7. #7
    Immortal Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    7,414
    potis build is better, are you able to put the system together yourself? Or know anyone that can help you?

    Slightly more expensive PSU but I think overall better:

    GIGABYTE PSU 570W, SUPERB

    Now there is a cheaper one with a decent review and it should technically be enough power but there won't be too much headroom.

    Fortron PSU HEXA 400W
    CPU: Intel i5-3570k (4.5GHz) MB: ASUS Z77 Sabertooth (uefi 2003)
    GPU: Asus 280X TOP (1080MHz/1700MHz) RAM: Corsair LP/LV white 8GB 1600MHz
    SSD: Samsung 840Pro 256GB + Crucial m4 128GB (040H) PSU: Seasonic 620M CASE: Corsair 500R (White/Black) Monitor: LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! ||Old Build || Bitdefender Total Security 2014 || AV-TEST Jan/Feb 2013

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by potis View Post
    http://shop.imtec.ba/procesori/9377-...-am3-box.html# FX-8120 373 KM

    http://shop.imtec.ba/maticne-ploce/1...-amd-970.html# GIGABYTE MB GA-970A-DS3, AM3+, AMD 970 145 KM

    http://shop.imtec.ba/ram-memorija/11...9d3k2-8g.html# Kingston HyperX CL9 149.00KM

    http://shop.imtec.ba/hard-diskovi/11...mb-sata3.html# Seagate 1TB 7200rpm 149KM

    http://shop.imtec.ba/napojne-jedinic...00-w-box.html# Chieftec Smart GPS-600A8 125 KM

    http://shop.imtec.ba/kucista-za-racu...di-tower.html# ThermalTake Commander MS-II USB3.0, VN900A1W2N, Midi Tower 90 KM

    http://shop.imtec.ba/graficke-kartic...5oc-1gd-.html# GIGABYTE amd Radeon 7850 1GB GDDR5, GV-R785OC-1GD 399 KM

    http://shop.imtec.ba/dvd-rw-opticki-...ta-black.html# Asus DRW-24B5ST DVD-RW SATA Black 35 KM

    1465KM it seems to be, the sites are rather meh, and the PSU choices are dear god o.o! Along with the fact you dont have 650 Ti Boost apparently.

    I put a tower that has a frontal USB the cheapest there was and since the shop didnt have a 650 Ti boost, the next choice of 7850.

    Frankly i would suggest to find 150 more KM and go for:

    http://shop.imtec.ba/procesori/11212...1155-box.html# i5 3570 475KM

    http://shop.imtec.ba/maticne-ploce/1...intel-h77.html GIGABYTE MB GA-H77M-HD3, LGA 1155, Intel H77 161KM

    For 1583 KM, i would suggest this one since its better even if its 83 KM more than your budget unless you will need many SATA 3 in the future then go for the AMD above since it has 6 ports instead of 2.

    Otherwise find 83KM more and go for it.
    Thank you, I will go for that little more expansive variant, I won't add new stuff into it as I want it to run most games on 720p with no frame drops (above 30 fps).

  9. #9
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,538
    Chieftec PSU's in general make me very nervous. I think that particular one is made by Channel Well, however chieftec is notorious for absurdly bad PSU's.
    Gaming: Dual Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 1400mhz + Blue Orb | Asus CUV266-D | GeForce 2 Ti + ZF700-Cu | 1024mb Crucial PC-133 | Whistler Build 2267
    Media: Dual Intel Drake Xeon @ 600mhz | Intel Marlinspike MS440GX | Matrox G440 | 1024mb Crucial PC-133 @ 166mhz | Windows 2000 Pro

    IT'S ALWAYS BEEN WANKERSHIM | Did you mean: Fhqwhgads

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by chazus View Post
    Chieftec PSU's in general make me very nervous. I think that particular one is made by Channel Well, however chieftec is notorious for absurdly bad PSU's.
    This is the only good PSU on there:

    http://shop.imtec.ba/napojne-jedinic...a5003100.html# .

    The OP if you can afford it, put this one, much safer generally, i didnt put it at the start cause its expensive..

    I checked a couple of reviews for the Chieftec one, its not HORRIBLE , according to a couple russians reviews with google translator the only bad thing it has is thats its noisy, and that it obviously doesnt give as high Wattage as said but seems very stable at load giving proper Voltage , but a 600W should be enough since he pretty much can be covered with a 450 one.
    Last edited by potis; 2013-06-27 at 09:14 PM.

  11. #11
    Immortal Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    7,414
    The two I linked are better just one is on the low side of power but should still be fine, the Gigabyte unit I'd say is better as well (slightly more expensive compared to the Chieftec)

    Edit: Better than the ChiefTec I meant.
    Last edited by Notarget; 2013-06-27 at 10:05 PM.
    CPU: Intel i5-3570k (4.5GHz) MB: ASUS Z77 Sabertooth (uefi 2003)
    GPU: Asus 280X TOP (1080MHz/1700MHz) RAM: Corsair LP/LV white 8GB 1600MHz
    SSD: Samsung 840Pro 256GB + Crucial m4 128GB (040H) PSU: Seasonic 620M CASE: Corsair 500R (White/Black) Monitor: LG 237L-BN IPS
    Current build! ||Old Build || Bitdefender Total Security 2014 || AV-TEST Jan/Feb 2013

  12. #12
    Moderator chazus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    10,538
    That Gigabyte is a Forton/FSP OEM. Fortron/FSP is regarded as very good quality.
    Gaming: Dual Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 1400mhz + Blue Orb | Asus CUV266-D | GeForce 2 Ti + ZF700-Cu | 1024mb Crucial PC-133 | Whistler Build 2267
    Media: Dual Intel Drake Xeon @ 600mhz | Intel Marlinspike MS440GX | Matrox G440 | 1024mb Crucial PC-133 @ 166mhz | Windows 2000 Pro

    IT'S ALWAYS BEEN WANKERSHIM | Did you mean: Fhqwhgads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •