Crafting Professions Not Having Gathering

Hello all, I am currently an Miner / Engineer and LOVE being an Engineer. However lately I have been considering going Enchanting Engineer. My reason is I rarely have a lot of gold especially by today's standards and am mostly play by myself. (Not in a guild and mostly do my own thing) So my gear is almost never enchanted / gemmed. I figure if I go enchanting, after I level it up I can make some someone decent gold off it. However with the next expansion kind of on the horizon I think it would be a major drain on my wallet to level Engineering. Should I make the switch or just keep things as is?

keep things as they are,

the green gems are going for 5-6 gold each, that's 2 daily quests and your entire gear is gemed.
    I've no idea what to write here.

10+ Year Old Account
    Where everything is bitter. Especially me.
    Step one: Create Alt
    Step two: Level gathering professions on alt
    step three: level second crafting profession on main
    Step four : ???
    step five: profit

Also, enchanting is too good not to have at the start of an expansion. All those quest greens everyone vendors get funneled into enchanting mats, then scrolls, and you just rake in the gold if you find the right spot early on to farm in.
    Quote Originally Posted by GennGreymane View Post
    *bro fist*
    Main - My Youtube Channel - Useful PvP Items - Hunter Pet Spreadsheet - Music and Stuff

start of an xpac? we are 3 months away from the NEXT xpac

Quote Originally Posted by trekker9876 View Post
    start of an xpac? we are 3 months away from the NEXT xpac
    lol more like 6+ months

In the past it's been good to have a gatherer at the start of each xpac because mats have been crazy high prices, however the exception to this has been Mists, where Blizzard literally had so many nodes spawning so fast that gatherers flooded the AH and mats dropped to the cheapest they were all expansion, making it very easy to level your proffs.