Page 1 of 2
1
2
LastLast
  1. #1

    Molten Core no longer requires attunement

    Earlier this evening, I thought I would complete a quick MC run on my monk.

    The Elf has two options for me, a low level quest (! Attunement to the Core) or he offers to port me inside!

    Not sure if this is a bug or deliberate move. Either way, farm on

  2. #2
    The Lightbringer Belize's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Standing in the Fire, as always.
    Posts
    3,945
    Uh... hasn't MC not needed an attunement for like... at least a full xpac now?

  3. #3
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,864
    IIRC this has been implemented since sometime in cata.
    ||i5 3570k @ 4.4GHz||H100 push/pull||AsRock Z77 Extreme4||16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz||HD6970/HD6950 crossfire|| Coolermaster Storm Trooper||Corsair TX850 Enthusiast Series||Samsung 840 Pro 128gb(boot drive)||3x 1tb Western Digital HDD||

    Bdk Nagrand / Astae Nagrand
    Pokemon X FC: 4656-7679-2545/Trainer Name: Keno

  4. #4
    Stood in the Fire Desh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    358
    In other news, the sky is usually blue.
    Last edited by Desh; 2013-10-17 at 09:10 PM.

    Main Toon - Hunter (currently an LFR hero). Blue Label - 14/14H (SoO) 25 man.
    YouTube - I post all my gameplay (mainly KH, so far) videos here (mostly boss fights), I am currently running through Kingdom Hearts II: Final Mix on Proud Mode. I am aiming to catalogue all boss fights in 1080p HD using PCSX2 to emulate and Fraps to record. Give my videos a watch and some constructive criticism. Thanks.

  5. #5
    Well this is news to me at least. Not having checked lately, I would have assumed you still needed to do the quest to unlock the port option.

  6. #6
    technically MC has never needed the attunement if you did the secret entrance thing

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by artem123 View Post
    technically MC has never needed the attunement if you did the secret entrance thing
    You could always enter Molten Core and Blackwing Lair through Blackrock Depths and Blackrock Spire respectively yeah. I wouldn't call it secret though, it's the real entrance.

  8. #8
    Dreadlord Art3x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    778
    Quote Originally Posted by artem123 View Post
    technically MC has never needed the attunement if you did the secret entrance thing
    You mean the real entrance?

  9. #9
    Old God Nerraw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    10,671
    You definitely needed the attunement in Cata. Had to go through it on quite a few characters I wanted to farm with.

  10. #10
    The Lightbringer Tharkkun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Minnesnowta
    Posts
    3,024
    I needed attunement about 4 months ago on an alt. You must have attuned in the past which is why the Elf let you in. Same thing for Blackwing Lair. Though like others said above you can zone in from BRD or UBRS which is the original entrances. Just like Stratholme had the entrance for Naxx.

    Blizzard scrapped that plan when dungeons were no longer 40man which mimicked the dungeon crawl that EQ had.

  11. #11
    For those who don't know, there's a secret entrance into Molten Core near the Elf. I've never actually pulled it off, though.

    When I tried in 5.3 to enter, I still needed to get attuned. What may have happened is that the quest reset with Cata, but you had already completed the attunement so you did not need to do it again.
    Garth Brooks convinced me it's not living if I stand outside the fire

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Desh View Post
    In other news, the sky is blue.
    Looks rather grey to me.

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by artem123 View Post
    technically MC has never needed the attunement if you did the secret entrance thing
    Which took about twice as long as getting attuned.
    Beware of the man who works hard to learn something, learns it, and finds himself no wiser than before... He is full of murderous resentment of people who are ignorant without having come by their ignorance the hard way. -Kurt Vonnegut, "Cat's Cradle"
    "Not everything on the internet is true." -- Abraham Lincoln
    Good is the enemy of great.

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by Desh View Post
    In other news, the sky is blue.
    nope
    nope
    nope

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Tyrven View Post
    Which took about twice as long as getting attuned.
    ? Getting attuned requires running to the real entrance.

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Uh... hasn't MC not needed an attunement for like... at least a full xpac now?
    No, because you needed it as of 5.3 at least because I took a couple toons I leveled during that patch (since Battlefields didn't last long with me) and took them in there for mogging gear and they still needed the attunement quest completed.

  17. #17
    Brewmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,494
    Can confirm that the attunement was still needed in 5.3. We went there to do the guild achievement maybe 2 months back, and ran into the issue of almost everyone in the raid not being attuned.

  18. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by chrth View Post
    For those who don't know, there's a secret entrance into Molten Core near the Elf. I've never actually pulled it off, though.

    When I tried in 5.3 to enter, I still needed to get attuned. What may have happened is that the quest reset with Cata, but you had already completed the attunement so you did not need to do it again.
    That's what I thought originally.

    However I killed Rag and received my achievement for that toon. Additionally, after I completed the run, I was 600/3000 neutral rep (or so).

  19. #19
    I didn't need it on my Monk well before 5.4. Perhaps it's because the attunement was available while leveling? I don't remember doing it but it's possible.

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Uh... hasn't MC not needed an attunement for like... at least a full xpac now?
    My understanding of this change that was made in cata is u dont need the attunement anymore to actually enter the raid from raid entrance but u do need to complete the quest if u want to use the teleport from the elf
    Last edited by vamonos; 2013-10-16 at 03:41 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •