Page 1 of 5
... LastLast
    Deleted

How to deal with people who go back on their word?

And are generally dishonest, breaking promises, have double standards and willing to lie and steal. I know, most would suggest avoiding these people, breaking contact. But what if it's not an option or is very difficult because they're your parents, siblings, spouses, children or very dear friends.

In my case it's my mom. She's not a bad person but shes a chronic liar and never keeps her promises. Even very important ones. The worst part is that she always justifies it and never even apologizes or admits her faults.

For example the most recent one. Im a college student and still live at home (really big house, lots of room, basically got my own apartment) but I pay my bills, buy my own food, clothes etc. Like 6 months ago she started complaining that I live her but don't give any money for house improvement. My parents spend a lot on it, build new rooms, greenhouses in the garden, gazebos, new roofs, boiler systems etc. So in the end I agreed to pay my share if I have a say on what we spend it on and they couldnt just use it for buying themselves new furniture and stuff like that.

A week ago we had a discussion about Halloween decorations and she complained that money is tight now and if I wanted I could buy them myself so I mentioned the "home improvement fund" (we agreed that I would pay $500 every month) and apparently she had spent all of it on a new car for herself because the old one broke. We had a huge argument because of it and she acts like it's my fault even though we had an agreement. To me it's pretty much the same as stealing so I told her that I wouldn't be paying it any more and haven't spoken to her since.

It's not just that though, she always behaves like that, promises to pick me up, then never arrives and if I bring it up, she acts like it was my fault and promises are meant to be broken.