10+ Year Old Account

First time Tanking, seeking advice

http://us.battle.net/wow/en/characte...blade/advanced

So, i have always been DPS, I have done some healing but always fall back to dps. As this expac is ending I really wanted to step out of my box and try something I have NEVER done, Tanking.

Keep in mind I have never tanked and this is my very first attempt to do so. I posted my toon here and I have some concerns I would like some feedback.

Gems? I feel like I am not doing it right. Would like to gem all parry/dodge. Should I go all mastery? Stamina? Crit? I am not concerned with damage out put as I am making sure I can survive and do my job. Reforging I feel isnr right as well. I see alot of tanks stacking stamina, which im not sure is right. I have tried going my icy-veins to make sure I am atleast attempting to do right but usually the good folks on here can put me on the right track.

Other than those few questions i feel I am good, I have tanked some Seige LFR and some older raids and have been told I was squishy by a monk who stacked stamina.

Any help would be great and thanks for taking the time.

I'll keep it quick:
    1. Level your professions!
    2. Either stack avoidance for Riposte (extra crit based on 75% of your avoidance rating, grants more rage for active mitigation) by stacking Parry, which will increase the damage of your Revenge via the Hold the Line glyph.
    3. Stack mastery instead to take advantage of critical block for more damage reduction.
    4. You could stand to lose a little hit.
    5. No need to gem straight stam unless you're a JC. Use parry/stam or mastery/stam depending on which method you choose to stack.
    I have tried going my icy-veins to make sure I am atleast attempting to do right but usually the good folks on here can put me on the right track.
    This is the fastest way to get on the wrong track.