Page 1 of 2
LastLast
    Deleted

Raid Comp - Rolling for spots

Hi, I'm in a casual raiding guild and I have a few questions about raid composition.

Our GM has an attitude where he doesn't want to exclude anybody in our raids, and he does this when composing the raids, he gets members to roll for their place in that nights raid team, people who don't get in get granted an "immunity" where they get guaranteed a spot in the next guilds raid. As an officer I believe this is actually doing more harm than good. We crawled through Tier 11, and progress was virtually at a standstill in Throne of Thunder.

One of our other raid leaders decided to start using MMO Champions tool for raid composition, and this has had quite a beneficial impact on the guild, with our progress now at 13/14N 10man for SoO, enforcing my view that the rolling for spots system was bad and needs to be scrapped. Our GM is very resistant against having a set team though, and still has a strong belief in the rolling for spots method.

Has anybody else come across this rolling for spots method when composing raids? Has it ever worked? For a casual raiding guild how have you seen teams composed? What would you think is the best method of raid composition, without losing the casual aspect of the guild?

Things you should know about our guild:
    - We raid 2-3 times a week, and usually do a flexi run to gear up lower guildies
    - Originally the rolling for spots method was used for any class/role we had surplus numbers of, now we do try and ensure we get 8/8 buffs, so only certain members end up rolling.
    - I belong to quite a large guild, we often have two 10man groups running or occasionally a 25man. My concern is due to the GM not wishing to turn down any members, sometimes we end up carrying less skilled members, and losing the skilled members.