1. #1
    Herald of the Titans
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    The Frozen Wasteland
    Posts
    2,573

    Sick and tired of the random disconnects since ~5.4

    Unlike a "normal" disconnect where my crappy internet peters out slowly and it takes the game some time to figure out that I am DC or close enough to DC, the brand new thing introduced by Blizzard (Pacific coast) or some networking infrastructure connected to Blizzard goes like:

    (1) Everything is fine
    (2) 2 sec later: frozen
    (3) game starts saving .lua files
    (4) Disconnected screen
    (5) Battle.net is also DC according to Launcher, but all my other internets are A-OK
    (6) Takes 30 sec - 2+min for Battle.net to come back up

    I don't know whether to blame Blizzard or some rancid asshats at AT&T in California but I'm really tired of it. It's especially annoying half way through an LFR that I need to complete because

    (1) I'm half way through
    (2) I waited in queue
    (3) Sigils or some crap
    (4) Vision of Time
    (5) et cetera

  2. #2
    Yeah, I've got the same problem. Allthough I switched ISP about the time when 5.4 came out, so I can't say for sure what's causing it.

  3. #3
    The Lightbringer Humbugged's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    A state of madness
    Posts
    3,520
    My problem is my game suddenly becoming non-responsive, stuck in a casting animation for 10 seconds, then suddenly I'm dead and my raid is asking why I didn't run from that crawler mine.

    The little computer icon will have a green screen 1 second, then a red screen the next with massive latency. Its ridiculous and only been happening recently.
    Quote Originally Posted by Manakin View Post
    If it's too hard, go to bed and forget about it.

    - Manakin.

  4. #4
    Herald of the Titans
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    The Frozen Wasteland
    Posts
    2,573
    There is a long-running thread about this (and many other threads) on the Tech Support forum, but there seems to be no progress.

    It's like routes that go through California on the way to Blizzard just get whacked in the head several times a day. It takes a long time for a TCP-IP connection to die out from having the plug pulled (as people who have farmed Jadefang know). What's happening is something different. The connection is being actively killed.

  5. #5
    I am Murloc! Airwaves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Australia! G-day Mate!... (We don't really speak like that)
    Posts
    5,688
    Blame blizzard or your provider all you want but that problem is on your end. It is something to do with port configuration on your computer. I had this problem years ago. Forget how I fixed it but.
    Angels and Airwaves
    Aldmeri Dominion - Imperial - Templar - Laethys - High Elf - Assassin - Frostmourne - Orc - Rogue - Sea of Sorrows - Norn - Thief
    Borderlands 2 - Mechromancer - Battlefield 4 - Engineer - Diablo 3 - Wizard

  6. #6
    Herald of the Titans
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    The Frozen Wasteland
    Posts
    2,573
    Quote Originally Posted by Airwaves View Post
    Blame blizzard or your provider all you want but that problem is on your end. It is something to do with port configuration on your computer. I had this problem years ago. Forget how I fixed it but.
    Yes, the no changes of any kind that I made to my network configuration must be responsible.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Normie View Post
    Yes, the no changes of any kind that I made to my network configuration must be responsible.
    Every time I see something like this, I look, and the Comcast => AT&T gateway is the source of massive packet loss. Basically, the backbone between those two providers seems to be regularly screwed. (Like, 50% packet loss, 400ms latency for 40 usual, screwed.)

    Cause unknown; there have been some DDoS attacks that hurt it, but this is at semi-random times. I assume that Comcast and AT&T are currently yelling and pointing fingers at each other trying to get it fixed, but it sure annoys.

    None of this is helped by WoW using TCP connections which respond to network issues like that super-badly. I guess ten years ago the world was different, though, and maybe it was the right choice at the time.

  8. #8
    Mechagnome Ticj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    543
    I had that problem a while back, I honestly have no idea what fixed it in the end. Maybe a new router? Modem? One thing for sure though, it's not blizzard on this one.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •