Page 1 of 8
... LastLast

Cauterise, why do my mage colleagues consider it "bad"

Hey,

Recently i started playing (frost)mage and i obviously have tons to learn. Most of the things I know is stuff i looked up or stuff people told me. Fine examples of improvement is learning how to use invocation instead of incanters ward and got to learn how to work with temporal shield instead of ice barrier.

I am quite pleased with my performance as a (low geared) frost mage because I don't die nearly as much and do close to equal damage than my guildies who are much better geared than I am (with legendary cape and other stuff i do not have). I am however very pleased with my guild and their performance, but that is not what this thread is about.

The two other mages in my guild keep hammering on the fact that i must learn how to use greater invis instead of cauterise with the simple explaination of "it's better, use greater invis". However, i am not convinced. My reasoning goes as follows.

1) I have enough survivability atm, on the herioc fights we do (just started progress on nazgrim, and we raid 25M if it matters) I got enough personal cooldown with incanters ward/ice block. I never die on protectors, i never die on sha, i never die on iron jug and i never die on shamans. The fights where u actually need personal cooldowns.
    2) I consider cauterise to be my 'fuck up once for free'-card. If i would have seen my demise comeing i would just have not fucked up. This is the reason I dont like yet another dmg reduction cooldown. Cauterise keeps me in the fight 90% of the time when I screw up. I doubt my reaction speed on greater invis would be fast enough to even save me half the time. Remember, I am not a 'pro' raider and i am certainly not a 'pro' mage. I consider myself an 'ok' mage and I do screw up occasionally.