Herald of the Titans Lotus Victoria's Avatar
    7+ Year Old Account

Smile What's the best programming language for sidescrolling games?

Greetings my fellow humans.
    I'm studying computer science and I'm interested in creating games.
    I tried making a game in Java, but Java isn't the best language for this kind of application, I guess.

I want to create a sidescroller action game, like Mega Man or Castlevania (maybe both mixed?! Who knows? ).

Any suggestions on which programming language I should use?

(btw, sorry for my english!)
    Thanks!

If you just want to make games use some high level tools like Gamemaker, Unity or UDK. There's a very good reason why commercial game engines are popular and even major AAA titles just license an existing engine and make changes to it as needed.

Deleted
    I would say go for Unity (in which you can select between C#, JavaScript or Boo Script for your programming needs).

Unity is basically very user friendly game engine, that recently got full 2D support (which I guess is what you're after). Even larger companies have started looking into Unity, for example Blizzard with Hearthstone.

Unity has some very nice 2D tutorials on their official site (http://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/modules/beginner/2d) on which you'll learn all what you need to make your game. It'll be a nice starting point for you.

10+ Year Old Account
    We switched from HTML5 to GameMaker to Unity, Unity being the best option we've run into for both side scrollers and platformers. Currently in the middle of rebuilding our current project in Unity.
    Gaming: Dual Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 1400mhz + Blue Orb | Asus CUV266-D | GeForce 2 Ti + ZF700-Cu | 1024mb Crucial PC-133 | Whistler Build 2267
    Media: Dual Intel Drake Xeon @ 600mhz | Intel Marlinspike MS440GX | Matrox G440 | 1024mb Crucial PC-133 @ 166mhz | Windows 2000 Pro

IT'S ALWAYS BEEN WANKERSHIM | Did you mean: Fhqwhgads