Page 1 of 2
LastLast
    10+ Year Old Account

family seeks reversal of brain-death ruling.

Article
    http://news.yahoo.com/girls-family-s...195714462.html

youtube videos of girls response
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yh4YC-XjG9k
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jsSeM0RVKuA

So short story, A teen girl went for a sleep apnea surgery last year ends up "Brain dead" and declared dead by the state of California. The family had hope for her to still be alive and moved her to NJ at Rutgers University Hospital. She is now showing signs of being responsive, twitching her foot and move her hands. Now the family wants the state of California to reverse to decision of her death and declare her alive.

Also from what i understand if she is to make a full recovery she'll be the first person declared brain dead to make a full recovery. I'm no expert on this issue but I find it fascinating and hope that she will recover and live a normal life. But I want to wait and see if this is just a fluke and she'll end up brain dead. Hopefully not.

Deleted
    I doubt she'll make a recovery. As far as I know dead meat can still respond to stimula for some time, so moving her toes is not really a sign of her still being in there.

also: 'The Twitching Dead'
    Last edited by mmocb78b025c1c; 2014-10-05 at 12:10 AM.

10+ Year Old Account
    Where ever I want, working remote is awesome.
    Quote Originally Posted by sats View Post
    Also from what i understand if she is to make a full recovery she'll be the first person declared brain dead to make a full recovery. I'm no expert on this issue but I find it fascinating and hope that she will recover and live a normal life. But I want to wait and see if this is just a fluke and she'll end up brain dead. Hopefully not.