Warlock Fear in WoD: An inspection.

Hey everyone,

I just started playing a Warlock this expansion, so maybe some of you with more experience will disagree, but, do the Fear changes seem like overkill to anyone else?

There is no doubt that Fear had to be changed, but the problem with Crowd Control in PvP is one that is not exclusive to Fear alone but rather part and parcel with a much larger problem that was the CC arms race responsible for proliferation of instant CC across the game.

Now, with that said, I do believe that instant CC certainly has a place, but, the problem as I see it now is that Blizzard (at least with Warlocks) has created an unnecessary 'risk for reward' dilemma in which Fear is both high risk and low reward. This is in contrast to Polymorph which involves moderate risk, high reward due to the fact that having your arcane tree interrupted still allows you to deal damage or use defensive abilities (or CC with Ring of Frost). And again, in contrast, to something like Storm Bolt which is low risk, high reward due to the fact that the only penalty for using the ability is the loss of a global.

It may be tempting to argue that instant CC is also 'high risk' due to the cool down component but that is flawed as there is no inherent risk to using such abilities. Poor judgement can, indeed, cause a loss of momentum, but PvP is about timing and coordination and thus a well-timed Storm Bolt can be just as deadly with 'low risk' as a well-timed Fear. Instant CC also can't (reliably) be stopped and so a cool down is the only way to balance such an ability.

And so, the question becomes one of fundamental design: Shouldn't CC with high risk produce high(er) reward? Because as it stands right now a 6-second 'high risk', casted Fear from an Affliction Warlock has the same duration as a 'low risk', instant Psychic Scream from a Priest.