Page 1 of 2
LastLast

I wish we were more mortal

Especially the faction leaders and NPCs.

Thrall - some shaman born a slave and self taught somehow manages to rival the powers of the ancient elementals.

Khadgar - hey what's this abrogator stone and tablet from another world? First time seeing them, no matter, I'll make godly items out of it. zap zap done! easy!

Both of the above also able to commune and merge magic with all of the dragonflights and immortal beings, or wield artifacts they've only just found or made... makes them some demigods

Grom - thrown around like ragdoll by immortal daemonlords then one shots one with an axe swing

Then there's us. Some schmuck who has no childhood memories and wakes up half naked as a fully grown adult skinning wolves on day 1 to a legendary killing machine the next. A little down the line we're the most baddass entity in the 3 known worlds to the point that our own playable races are the top raid bosses.

IMO I had more fun when I was mortal and was threatened by the demons, magic no one understood, old gods and elements which were threatening. Where even their minor minions could end my life - rare dragons, elite dragonkin and elementals which took a large party of people to face just one. That was fun. Being able to solo everything outside of raids, where we raid our own races is not...

When you dumb it down to that, sure. Thrall wasn't only self taught though, Drek(?) taught him in Outlands.

Khadgar also quite clearly says he needs time to translate the tablets, and that's why you got the book and other things for him you know.

Warcraft has always been closer to Marvel comic books than most other high fantasy universes.

Ever since Warcraft 3, Blizzard has scrapped any sense of realism or danger, and it's probably what keeps Warcraft unique right now, with all those MMOs and RPGs out there going for the darker themes.