First time PC builder... Need some help

pcpartpicker.com/p/zQ3fTW

Hello MMO-Champion,

First time poster to this website. I've spent a few days over a few different websites trying to come up with a build... You can see I mostly settled on the recent "setup of the month" Unicorn build. I've never built a PC before and I was looking at places that do 'custom' PCs like iBuyPower but after reading reviews it seems like they're pretty much garbage.

>Is it really 'like legos' when it comes to plugging in and setting up a PC from scratch with all the parts?
    >Do I need to buy extra wires and stuff or will buying all the components come with what I need and then I just plug and chug?
    >i7 v. i5? Do I really not need the 6700? I don't do video rendoring and/or streaming but I have always wanted to record my fights/matches of games.
    >960 2gb v. 980 4gb? I was considering doing the i7 with the 960 but I got laughed at in /vg/ so I switched these around.
    EDIT, forgot to ask: >Why aren't liquid cooled fans listed for heatsink options? I always thought those were better.

Critique everything please. Need help here, obviously.

Thanks.

P.S. As for the things specifically requested in the sticky:
    Budget - ~1500 not including monitor (probably going to buy an ultra-wide since I don't want dual-monitors)
    Resolution - See above
    Games / Settings Desired - anything current on near highest settings, mostly looking for longevity in that I can use this machine for ~4-5 years before needing to fully upgrade.
    Any other intensive software or special things you do (Frequent video encoding, 3D modeling, etc) - Multi-boxing old WoW expansions, having lots of tabs, applications running, etc.
    Country - Muh Freedums land of the USA
    Parts that can be reused - Nothing specific. Coming from a 2009 'gaming' laptop. Planning to carry over my Razer Deathadder and that's pretty much it.