Thread: Cant launch WoW

  1. #1

    Cant launch WoW

    Battlenet wont launch wow, I tried repairing the game, turn off firewalls, restarting computer, checked for updates, tried starting the game manually and run as administrator, turning to 34-bit. Nothing works :/ Its the same with Hearthstone and HotS.

    Help

    Reinstalling Battlenet didnt work either.
    Last edited by melkesjokolade; 2017-03-21 at 01:11 AM.

  2. #2
    Bloodsail Admiral Mystrome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Absolutely fucking lost
    Posts
    1,189
    Have you tried launching those games from their own .exe's in their rootfolders?

  3. #3
    Merely a Setback Winter Blossom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Winter is here.
    Posts
    27,694
    Quote Originally Posted by melkesjokolade View Post
    Battlenet wont launch wow, I tried repairing the game, turn off firewalls, restarting computer, checked for updates, tried starting the game manually and run as administrator, turning to 34-bit. Nothing works :/ Its the same with Hearthstone and HotS.

    Help
    @Araxom may be able to help you here, but I'd post this on the Blizzard Technical Support forum: https://us.battle.net/forums/en/wow/1011701/

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Mystrome View Post
    Have you tried launching those games from their own .exe's in their rootfolders?
    Yes, said I tried to open them manually and running as administrator.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by melkesjokolade View Post
    Cant launch WoW
    It's a sign from the heavens, take the opportunity and uninstall it for good :P

    Also, check to see that another instance of WoW.exe or battle.net isn't already running - if it is, kill those processes and try again. Failing that, check the WoW log files to see if any errors were logged when you last tried to launch the game.

  6. #6
    Titan Eleccybubb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Algo Solar System.
    Posts
    12,892
    A bit of an extreme suggestion here. Close any instances of Battle.net in the task manager. Uninstall Battle.net and WoW and delete any folders in the Program Files and Program Data folder. Basically a fresh install of Battle.net and games.
    A life with no changes can’t be called life. You can only call it experience. Lelouch Vi Britannia. (Code Geass)
    I refuse to be a slave of fate! I will be the master of my own future! Shir Gold. (Phantasy Star 2)
    Being second is to be the first of the ones who lose. Ayrton Senna. (3 times Formula 1 World Champion)

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Darsithis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    49,772
    Did you shut down the Battle.net agent?

    Your event log is going to tell us a lot more, probably. Can you dump the most recent errors from the Applications event log? Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Event Viewer.
    For Moderation Concerns, please contact a Global:
    Tziva ■ Darsithis ■ Radux ■ Simca ■ Elysia ■ Zaelsino ■ xskarma ■ Arlee

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by melkesjokolade View Post
    turning to 34-bit.
    Here's the issue.... It should be either 32 or 64 bit. How did you even get it to be 34 bit!!! I want to know~!


    I would start by deleting the WTF folder then try to start. Then follow what others have said.... then uninstall and reinstall.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Darsithis View Post
    Did you shut down the Battle.net agent?

    Your event log is going to tell us a lot more, probably. Can you dump the most recent errors from the Applications event log? Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Event Viewer.
    Faulting application name: Wow-64.exe, version: 7.1.5.23420, time stamp: 0x587e9d30
    Faulting module name: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Fault offset: 0x000000000012ba9a
    Faulting process id: 0x26d0
    Faulting application start time: 0x01d2a255976c80f0
    Faulting application path: E:\Program Files (x86)\World of Warcraft\Wow-64.exe
    Faulting module path: unknown
    Report Id: d6ed9284-0e48-11e7-844f-d8cb8a7bd518
    Faulting package full name:
    Faulting package-relative application ID:

    So basicly it just says unknown, great :/

  10. #10
    Bloodsail Admiral Joeygiggles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,125
    You sure its not because Battle net is still down
    Thank god this game isn't just for Rym, we'd have a pretty shitty time - Me

  11. #11
    Super Moderator Darsithis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    49,772
    Quote Originally Posted by melkesjokolade View Post
    Faulting application name: Wow-64.exe, version: 7.1.5.23420, time stamp: 0x587e9d30
    Faulting module name: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Fault offset: 0x000000000012ba9a
    Faulting process id: 0x26d0
    Faulting application start time: 0x01d2a255976c80f0
    Faulting application path: E:\Program Files (x86)\World of Warcraft\Wow-64.exe
    Faulting module path: unknown
    Report Id: d6ed9284-0e48-11e7-844f-d8cb8a7bd518
    Faulting package full name:
    Faulting package-relative application ID:

    So basicly it just says unknown, great :/
    There looks to be some advice from a few years ago in here:

    https://us.battle.net/forums/en/wow/topic/9881799122
    For Moderation Concerns, please contact a Global:
    Tziva ■ Darsithis ■ Radux ■ Simca ■ Elysia ■ Zaelsino ■ xskarma ■ Arlee

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Darsithis View Post
    There looks to be some advice from a few years ago in here:

    https://us.battle.net/forums/en/wow/topic/9881799122
    Thanks! It works now, uninstalled AVG and deleted wow.exe and wow64.exe and doubleclicked world of warcraft launcher.exe

  13. #13
    Super Moderator Darsithis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    49,772
    Quote Originally Posted by melkesjokolade View Post
    Thanks! It works now, uninstalled AVG and deleted wow.exe and wow64.exe and doubleclicked world of warcraft launcher.exe
    Great, nothing a little error dump and Googling couldn't fix I'll go ahead and close this.
    For Moderation Concerns, please contact a Global:
    Tziva ■ Darsithis ■ Radux ■ Simca ■ Elysia ■ Zaelsino ■ xskarma ■ Arlee

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •