1. #1

    high latency only in WoW

    recently my latency in game has shot up from the usual 20-30ms to around 150-200. however, when I run a speedtest my ms is around 16-20. I dont always notice a lag when playing even though the ms is high but sometimes things do feel a little stickier than usual.

    Is there anything that could cause ms to display incorrectly in game or could there be something interfering specifically with wow?

  2. #2
    The Patient abracmike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    In WI, near lake MI
    Posts
    301
    The latency is very likely correct in game.
    There's a number of ways that it could be high for wow only.

    Use Blizzard's looking glass tool to see if there are any particular links that are high.
    Check it against a realm from a different data center as well to get a rough comparison.

    That should uncover some information as to where the trouble is.
    Don't post it here without redacting the IP info for the last 3 or so nodes though (last is your current IP address, 2 above can narrow down your geographic region quite a bit)
    Quote Originally Posted by Tennisace View Post
    It's not ethical to expose people's faults. Only scumbags and bitches do that.
    The right thing would be to try to stop the behaviour.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tennisace View Post
    What's wrong with him buying a home? Please don't pry into others' lives and make judgements.

  3. #3
    I ran the test, not sure exactly what to cut out but for my server (silvermoon EU) the ping was always between 20 and 40. at the exact same time the game is showing latency in the 170s. I also ran the test with wow closed to the same results in case that was affecting anyhting.

  4. #4
    Mechagnome Honkeymagoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    ̴̡ı̴̴̡ ̡̡͡|̲̲̲͡͡͡ ̲▫̲͡ ̲̲̲͡͡π̲̲͡͡ ̲̲͡▫̲̲͡͡ ̲|̡̡̡ ̡ ̡͌l
    Posts
    590
    I had the same issue starting in NH. It ended up being an unfixable problem related to my isp (att), happened every night from like 7 to 12. Only way around it I found was using a vpn. I tried a bunch and ended up sticking with pingzapper.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Honkeymagoo View Post
    I had the same issue starting in NH. It ended up being an unfixable problem related to my isp (att), happened every night from like 7 to 12. Only way around it I found was using a vpn. I tried a bunch and ended up sticking with pingzapper.
    thats a normal thing cause att sees WoW as a P2P (like torrents)

  6. #6
    Do you have IPV6 enabled in settings? Since the recent patch that setting being enabled increases the latency for some people. I was always low and green prior to patch but after it was in the yellow range. After getting tired of the latency I searched around the WoW forums and came across that setting being a problem. Disabled it, reloaded my UI and everything is fine again.

    I also saw reports of view distance causing some people to have higher latency recently to.
    "Man is his own star. His acts are his angels, good or ill, While his fatal shadows walk silently beside him."-Rhyme of the Primeval Paradine AFC 54
    You know a community is bad when moderators lock a thread because "...this isnt the place to talk about it either seeing as it will get trolled..."

  7. #7
    The Patient abracmike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    In WI, near lake MI
    Posts
    301
    Well that's certainly unexpected.
    Do any of the entries from the MTR table show a packet loss that is not 0% or 100%?

    Here's an example of mine (i picked Alleria in this case, no particular reason why)
    Code:
    12/10/2017 20:29:43 UTC
    --------------------
    
    MTR:
    Start: Thu Oct 12 20:29:43 2017
    HOST: Blizzard                                                            Loss%   Snt   Last   Avg  Best  Wrst StDev
      1.|-- 24.105.30.3                                                      0.0%    10    0.5   0.6   0.5   0.8   0.0
      2.|-- ???                                                                   100.0    10    0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0
      3.|-- 137.221.66.6                                                    0.0%    10    1.2   1.2   1.1   1.3   0.0
      4.|-- 137.221.68.68                                                   0.0%    10    1.3   1.4   1.3   1.5   0.0
      5.|-- 137.221.68.32                                                   0.0%    10    0.9   1.0   0.9   1.4   0.0
      6.|-- te0-4-0-9.ccr41.lax05.atlas.cogentco.com            0.0%    10    1.5   1.3   1.2   1.5   0.0
      7.|-- be3359.ccr42.lax01.atlas.cogentco.com               0.0%    10    1.2   1.3   1.1   1.5   0.0
      8.|-- be2932.ccr22.phx02.atlas.cogentco.com              0.0%    10   13.0  12.9  12.6  13.1   0.0
      9.|-- be2930.ccr21.elp01.atlas.cogentco.com               0.0%    10   20.8  20.8  20.6  20.9   0.0
     10.|-- be3047.ccr22.den01.atlas.cogentco.com              0.0%    10   52.8  53.0  52.8  53.3   0.0
     11.|-- be3036.ccr22.mci01.atlas.cogentco.com              0.0%    10   52.8  52.8  52.7  53.0   0.0
     12.|-- <snip>                                                              0.0%    10   52.7  52.9  52.7  53.3   0.0
     13.|-- <snip>                                                              0.0%    10   55.6  55.5  55.4  55.6   0.0
     14.|-- <snip>                                                              0.0%    10   55.7  55.8  55.6  55.9   0.0
     15.|-- ???                                                                   100.0    10    0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0
     
     12/10/2017 20:29:43 UTC
    --------------------
    
    TRACEROUTE:
    traceroute to 38.122.83.139 (38.122.83.139), 15 hops max, 60 byte packets
     1  Blizzard (Blizzard)  0.517 ms  0.608 ms  0.759 ms
     2  * * *
     3  * * *
     4  137.221.69.72 (137.221.69.72)  2.466 ms  2.579 ms  2.618 ms
     5  137.221.69.34 (137.221.69.34)  2.169 ms  2.184 ms  2.191 ms
     6  te0-19-0-2.ccr41.ord03.atlas.cogentco.com (38.104.102.28)  2.342 ms  2.371 ms  2.441 ms
     7  be2765.ccr41.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.45.17)  2.638 ms  2.376 ms  2.404 ms
     8  <snip>  5.074 ms  5.220 ms  5.178 ms
     9 <snip>  5.378 ms  5.460 ms  5.197 ms
    (Don't worry too much about the spacing being wonky)
    Quote Originally Posted by Tennisace View Post
    It's not ethical to expose people's faults. Only scumbags and bitches do that.
    The right thing would be to try to stop the behaviour.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tennisace View Post
    What's wrong with him buying a home? Please don't pry into others' lives and make judgements.

  8. #8
    thanks for the advice, i've just tried ping zapper and its maybe made a small improvement but I'm still above 100ms.

    In terms of ISPs I'm with virgin media, no issues within the last year but about a month after moving house I've noticed the sudden and consistent increase in ping

    - - - Updated - - -

    This is mine, so yeah one is at 90%



    MTR:
    Start: Thu Oct 12 20:20:45 2017
    HOST: Blizzard Loss% Snt Last Avg Best Wrst StDev
    1.|-- Blizzard 0.0% 10 0.4 0.7 0.4 2.3 0.5
    2.|-- ??? 100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
    3.|-- 37.244.9.102 0.0% 10 0.8 0.8 0.7 0.9 0.0
    4.|-- 37.244.9.34 0.0% 10 0.7 1.0 0.6 3.9 0.8
    5.|-- 7-1-23.ear2.Paris1.Level3.net 0.0% 10 6.1 6.0 1.0 11.6 4.6
    6.|-- ae-1-3101.ear1.London1.Level3.net 90.0% 10 8.9 8.9 8.9 8.9 0.0
    7.|-- 213.46.174.169 0.0% 10 9.2 9.1 8.9 9.4 0.0
    8.|-- ??? 100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
    9.|-- uk-lon01b-ri1-ae23-0.aorta.net 0.0% 10 13.2 13.2 13.1 13.3 0.0
    10.|-- nrth-ic-1-ae18-0.network.virginmedia.net 0.0% 10 31.9 26.5 15.2 77.0 19.3
    11.|-- ??? 100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
    12.|-- ??? 100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
    13.|-- ??? 100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
    14.|-- brig-core-2b-ae2-0.network.virginmedia.net 0.0% 10 22.2 19.3 18.7 22.2 1.0
    15.|-- ??? 100.0 4 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
    16.|-- cpc83567-brig19-2-0-cust298.3-3.cable.virginm.net 0.0% 4 30.3 32.2 29.5 39.2 4.6

  9. #9
    The Patient abracmike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    In WI, near lake MI
    Posts
    301
    That 90% loss node is most likely what's causing that to happen.
    Unfortunetly, there doesn't tend to be a good way around it short of using a VPN, or complaining to high heaven to your ISP.
    That said, the problem looks like peering between Level3 and either Virgin Media, or their backhaul provider, making option 2 unlikely to get anywhere.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tennisace View Post
    It's not ethical to expose people's faults. Only scumbags and bitches do that.
    The right thing would be to try to stop the behaviour.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tennisace View Post
    What's wrong with him buying a home? Please don't pry into others' lives and make judgements.

  10. #10
    Thanks, I'll get onto virgin media tomorrow, they're an absolute pain to deal with but I just argue with them all day while I do WQs XD

  11. #11
    Did you get anywhere with VM? I share the same circumstances as you, Silvermoon-EU, started recently, on Virgin.

    6.|-- ae-1-3101.ear1.London1.Level3.net 90.0% 10 9.0 9.0 9.0 9.0 0.0

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by abracmike View Post
    Use Blizzard's looking glass tool to see if there are any particular links that are high.
    haha what the heck, this tool was saying i had 100% packetloss to a bunch of servers, but i haven't had a ping above 15 in years!

    not trying to throw a spanner in the works, but maybe this tool isn't always accurate? or idk, but why would it be telling me 100% loss and 2998ms ping? :P

  13. #13
    I was having a similar issue, perhaps even worse.

    Go to your settings in game and disable ipv6 connectivity.

  14. #14
    The Patient abracmike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    In WI, near lake MI
    Posts
    301
    Quote Originally Posted by the boar View Post
    haha what the heck, this tool was saying i had 100% packetloss to a bunch of servers, but i haven't had a ping above 15 in years!

    not trying to throw a spanner in the works, but maybe this tool isn't always accurate? or idk, but why would it be telling me 100% loss and 2998ms ping? :P
    100% packet loss implies that particular node is blocking the packets used to check for loss in the first place (red herring basically)

    To further qualify that:
    If it were truly 100% loss, then there would be nothing beyond it.
    Likewise for latency, if it's at one link, but doesn't carry through (10 10 200 20 20 as an example), then it's just some optimization fuckery that can be ignored.

    If it's something like 10 10 200 210 220, then its a problem. Likewise, packet loss of >0 and <100 is usually an issue as well
    Last edited by abracmike; 2017-10-21 at 09:11 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tennisace View Post
    It's not ethical to expose people's faults. Only scumbags and bitches do that.
    The right thing would be to try to stop the behaviour.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tennisace View Post
    What's wrong with him buying a home? Please don't pry into others' lives and make judgements.

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by tikcol View Post
    I was having a similar issue, perhaps even worse.

    Go to your settings in game and disable ipv6 connectivity.
    Same here, started getting 150-200ms, disabled ipv6 and got my normal ms back right away.

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by tikcol View Post
    I was having a similar issue, perhaps even worse.

    Go to your settings in game and disable ipv6 connectivity.
    Been playing on VPN for last couple of weeks which resolved it, was hoping for an actual fix not a workaround, tried your idea and yeah this seemed to work for me, only played for a few hours early this morning (Sunday) on silvermoon but back down to 21ms from 600, won't know until I try at peak time but fingers crossed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •