Thread: Post Your UI

  1. #7601
    The Patient
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    204
    Quote Originally Posted by Cham View Post
    It's STUF! I'll see if I can find a screenshot with better quality though, default ones turns out grainy.
    Oh, cool! I'm working on something very similar using Stuf atm which will become an oUF layout eventually (when I know exactly what I want which may take a while hehe).

  2. #7602
    Quote Originally Posted by Pixil View Post
    Here you go I tried my best to get a decent screenshot, but I couldn't resist smashing the LFR guys :P
    http://i.imgur.com/fIgwR.jpg
    The post I quoted is a few weeks old but does anyone know if the poster has put out a download link or if it is a download from someone else?

  3. #7603
    Quote Originally Posted by Ishtara View Post
    Here we go Cold, brace yourself, I know you can take it

    1. I don't like the data text at the top, nor do I enjoy the panel for your data text touching the edge of the screen. Nothing else touches the edges of the screen. I would put the data text panel below the chat frame to consolidate the areas that contain text information.
    2. The inconsistent spacing for your data texts is like nails on a chalkboard
    3. I don't like anything about your ToT frame. The scale, placement, text alignment...all can be tweaked.
    4. The target frame lacks reliable class identification. I would swap the health texts on your target frame so that the % value is on the right and mirrors your player's power value. Then you can make the target's health % text class colored to add reliable class identification and also mimic the class coloring of your player's power text.
    5. Speaking of your player's power text...I would code the player's power text to display as red when in combat, green (or blue) when resting, and class colored when neither resting or in combat. This will allow you to remove those dots that you are using for combat/resting notification.
    6. I know it wont change anything but I am still going to say it; I hate the portrait overlay. It's unnecessary and visually distracting.
    7. Your cast bar edges don't line up with the paneling behind your unit frame texts. It looks to be off by 1 px.
    8. Lastly (for now :P)...your nameplates. The spell icon display on the nameplate cast bar doesn't look like it has a 1px black border. Also, I don't like the red aggro outline on the outside of the health bar. Couldn't you aggro color the name itself on the name plate? Red name is high aggro, yellow is medium aggro, green is little aggro...something like that. I think the health bar aggro outline looks out of place in this Ui design.

    Keep up the great work
    <3
    Ish
    Everything can be done, but the aggro thing is not as easy as it seems. Nameplates don't have an unitid, so it's difficult to come out with a good aggor thing (the script i sue now for coloring the heathbar simply doesn't work). This is a temporary solution - i simple changed the texture of the standard wow aggro glow.

    EDIT: suggestion over ToT/pet/focus frames? as for now they are all like this.
    EDIT2: spell icon actually has the border, dunno why the screen does display it so bad. In game is fine.
    EDIT3: player power text is power colored, the power bar is class colored. i can change it easily anyway, but i don't want to make power bar power colored (i simply hate that lol).
    Last edited by Coldkil; 2012-08-14 at 09:19 PM.

  4. #7604
    Quote Originally Posted by Coldkil View Post
    EDIT: suggestion over ToT/pet/focus frames? as for now they are all like this.
    Post a shot with all frames showing

  5. #7605
    Mechagnome Jaja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    734
    http://i.imgur.com/TQAe5.jpg

    Changing it over and over and over and over. I'm not happy still needs more work alot more.

  6. #7606
    Mechagnome
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    551


    I'm more of a "If the shit works, it works" kind of guy, and I don't really spend that much time on my ui.
    I don't have a pic of idle, but it's pretty much the same.
    The reason I have two bossmods (DXE and DBM) is because I prefer DBM but my guild requires DXE enabled (And I just have it enabled even though it doesn't matter anymore in ds).
    DXE overlapping with my buffs is something I've noticed, looks shitty, I will change that.
    Last edited by Valkiri; 2012-08-14 at 10:29 PM.

  7. #7607
    Quote Originally Posted by refire View Post
    The post I quoted is a few weeks old but does anyone know if the poster has put out a download link or if it is a download from someone else?
    I believe that I'm the person you're looking for! I have no uploaded it, and not sure if I will. I'll inform you if I do though!

  8. #7608
    Mechagnome Ricen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Graveyard
    Posts
    660
    Pix! On your critque. Everything is fixed, ill post is shortly. But about skada, its just the screenshot. Couldn't really do anything about it, Im thinking about uploaded a UI vid just so you all can see how i view it. On a side note, I need help with my Unit frames. I just feel like they are either to bland or they need something. Anyone can hit me up with ideas!

    When a wild forum troll appears

  9. #7609
    Field Marshal Senit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Darnassus
    Posts
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by Ricen View Post
    Pix! On your critque. Everything is fixed, ill post is shortly. But about skada, its just the screenshot. Couldn't really do anything about it, Im thinking about uploaded a UI vid just so you all can see how i view it. On a side note, I need help with my Unit frames. I just feel like they are either to bland or they need something. Anyone can hit me up with ideas!
    As a side-note, Ricen, I would suggest fixing your chat frame; text seems to be overlapping.
    "¡Ustedes no tienes nadie mas para pelear! ¡Llena tus bolsillos y dejarse en paz, o quedar y pelear conmigo, y morir!"
    Senit UI -- outdated. Update... soon... maybe...

  10. #7610
    Mechagnome Ricen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Graveyard
    Posts
    660
    Quote Originally Posted by Senit View Post
    As a side-note, Ricen, I would suggest fixing your chat frame; text seems to be overlapping.
    Yeah it is a little I just checked. Should i decrease the font size? Or is that a outline issue.

    When a wild forum troll appears

  11. #7611
    Quote Originally Posted by Ricen View Post
    Yeah it is a little I just checked. Should i decrease the font size? Or is that a outline issue.
    That's a font issue.

    Decreasing the size may or may not fix it.

  12. #7612
    Mechagnome Pandorox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    701


    I'll see if I can get a raid SS

  13. #7613
    Quote Originally Posted by Ricen View Post
    Yeah it is a little I just checked. Should i decrease the font size? Or is that a outline issue.
    I use this to "fix" my chat frame:
    Code:
    for i = 1, NUM_CHAT_WINDOWS do
        local cf = _G[("ChatFrame%d"):format(i)]
        cf:SetFont("Interface\\Addons\\SharedMedia_MyMedia\\font\\Pixel.ttf", 8, "OUTLINEMONOCHROME")
        cf:SetSpacing(1)
        cf:SetShadowOffset(0, 0)
    end
    
    DEFAULT_CHATFRAME_ALPHA = 0
    The SetFont part is optional though, and would have to be tailored for you.

  14. #7614
    Quote Originally Posted by Ricen View Post
    Pix! On your critque. Everything is fixed, ill post is shortly. But about skada, its just the screenshot. Couldn't really do anything about it, Im thinking about uploaded a UI vid just so you all can see how i view it. On a side note, I need help with my Unit frames. I just feel like they are either to bland or they need something. Anyone can hit me up with ideas!
    Nice I look forward to seeing the finished product
    One thing I may suggest is using a portrait overlay like I have here: http://screencast.com/t/V45M512b
    (I read on here earlier that Ish really hates this, but some people like it! (Me!) It breaks up the flat, boring textures with a little bit of animation)

    Quote Originally Posted by tordenflesk View Post
    I use this to "fix" my chat frame:
    Code:
    for i = 1, NUM_CHAT_WINDOWS do
        local cf = _G[("ChatFrame%d"):format(i)]
        cf:SetFont("Interface\\Addons\\SharedMedia_MyMedia\\font\\Pixel.ttf", 8, "OUTLINEMONOCHROME")
        cf:SetSpacing(1)
        cf:SetShadowOffset(0, 0)
    end
    
    DEFAULT_CHATFRAME_ALPHA = 0
    The SetFont part is optional though, and would have to be tailored for you.
    This is the man who helped me with the exact same problem a few pages back in this thread
    Last edited by Pixil; 2012-08-15 at 12:23 AM.

  15. #7615
    Mechagnome Ricen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Graveyard
    Posts
    660
    Quote Originally Posted by Cowt View Post
    That's a font issue.

    Decreasing the size may or may not fix it.
    It was the font. Fixed it. And did a little unitframe revamp. make them smaller, I think they were to big for the font, Should be able to take some good screenys tonight.

    I use SUF! So i actually cannot do the portrait overlay sadly. I want to learn STUF, but every time i try, i end up not sleeping for days because i get so god damn confused and frustrated . Font is good to go it seems that the font I had originally had is just too big.

    *Is their anyway I can make a new skin or find one for bigwigs, it looks kinda ugly as it is right now.
    Last edited by Ricen; 2012-08-15 at 12:46 AM.

    When a wild forum troll appears

  16. #7616
    Fluffy Kitten Azshira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Cork, Ireland
    Posts
    3,027
    This is my newest UI, it's brand new so expect a few tweaks Any suggestions welcome

    Out of raid: http://i.imgur.com/0h4k5.jpg (note the raid bars in center were there cuz I was testing something they won't be there normally)

    Before a LFR pull: http://i.imgur.com/PPOzd.jpg

    During a fight: http://i.imgur.com/L34x2.jpg

    Note some small things, like a frame out of place etc would been changed aswell as some buttons here and there.
    Also the bottom buttons are more centered along with my raid frames now too.

    I personally think this is quite tidy, it's smaller than how it may look on the pictures the scaling of everything , windowed mode at the time might show them to be bigger hehe
    "You face not the Mod Hammer alone, but the infractions I command."

  17. #7617
    Quote Originally Posted by Azshira View Post
    This is my newest UI, ..
    I've always been curious about something I see commonly in 'self-made' UIs.

    In your specific case; why is it that you use Sexymap?

    The mod is great for several reasons, and I use it myself in just about every UI I make nowadays.

    But what is it you feel you're getting out of it?

  18. #7618
    Mechagnome Ricen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Graveyard
    Posts
    660
    Okay, I'm pretty happy with this. But in your critique keep this in mind. All the fonts are fine on my screen, all of them are at 8pt and are not distorted or anything its just my super fucking mega res that i have on my macbook .

    Tell me whatcha think, I'm defiantly moving in the correct direction this time.

    Oh and I only have a idle shot for now because I'm a lazy bum !

    http://i.imgur.com/oF0WI.jpg

    When a wild forum troll appears

  19. #7619
    Last edited by Treeston; 2012-08-15 at 08:06 AM.

  20. #7620
    Quote Originally Posted by Ishtara View Post
    Post a shot with all frames showing
    here it is (blah bad quality everything looks a lot worse)


    I was thinking to make them a little bigger so i can put names into the healthbars, mirroring the style of player/target for pet/tot. Unsure on what do with the focus frame. Positions can be changed by everyone since all frames are draggable, setting the default ones isn't a problem.

    Waiting or feedback ish

    EDIT:
    while i was waiting, i made the other edits you suggested, here's a screen


    chatbox is exactly over the datatext panel. Anyway it's scripted so when you press enter to type, the datatext panel hides away.
    Last edited by Coldkil; 2012-08-15 at 08:44 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •