Thread: AoE threat?

10+ Year Old Account

AoE threat?

I'm new to druids, so if I'm doing something wrong, please help.

I'm generally resto, but have a feral off-set with a few dodge/defense pieces, so I agreed to tank a heroic for a guildy (pugged rest).

I try to Fairie Fire and Demoralizing Roar on all mobs in a pack, then swipe and use Maul with Mangle or Lacerate (when Mangle is on CD), however, I seem to constantly have to tab target to try and keep threat on every mob in a trash pack.

Am I doing something wrong or is druid AoE threat that awful?

Re: AoE threat?

Quote Originally Posted by Scarlet
    I'm new to druids, so if I'm doing something wrong, please help.

I'm generally resto, but have a feral off-set with a few dodge/defense pieces, so I agreed to tank a heroic for a guildy (pugged rest).

I try to Fairie Fire and Demoralizing Roar on all mobs in a pack, then swipe and use Maul with Mangle or Lacerate (when Mangle is on CD), however, I seem to constantly have to tab target to try and keep threat on every mob in a trash pack.

Am I doing something wrong or is druid AoE threat that awful?
    don't FF or Demo roar on trash. Demo roar is for hard hitting bosses/trash. FFF is for initial aggro and a debuff to help out the melee. If you have 3+ mobs just spam swipe and maul on every mob, tabbing around. Keep note of the mobs that are going down faster than the others and maybe throw a mangle on it. That is all you need to do. Keep note of where your taunt and aoe taunt abilities are.

10+ Year Old Account

Ok, I'll try that next time. Thank you!

it also takes some practice to taunt individuals back while maintaining your aoe tps.

If you're grouped with ranged DPS forget about pulling with FFF, just bear charge and queue up maul as you do so then proceed to maul/swipe spam while tab targeting. You can also toss up a lacerate on different targets to buff your maul damage/threat.

Quote Originally Posted by bavarcarus