Thread: Mage Macros

Page 22 of 27 FirstFirst ...
12
20
21
22
23
24
... LastLast
  1. #421
    Quote Originally Posted by Windry View Post
    Hello,

    I would like to add:

    /cast [@focus] Mage Bomb

    ^ since we will likely be switching between Nether Tempest, Living Bomb, and Frost Bomb, I recommend replacing those spells with "Mage Bomb" which will automatically cast the one you are spec'd for.

    Now, I'd like to ask for help on a macro. I want a macro to do the same for the other tiers.
    Something along the lines of:

    /cast Presence of Mind
    /cast Pyroblast
    if speced into PoM
    /cast Ice Floes
    /cast Fireball
    if spec'd into Ice Floes

    or something like;
    /cast [@party1] Ice Ward; Ring of Frost; Frost Jaw

    I have been switching my talents around quite a bit, and I don't like having to re-write or change hotkeys every time I swap things around.
    You can't do that. The macro will stop at the first spell, whether or not you are specced into it. There is no way for a macro check to see if you have a talent. You can check for specs, like:
    Code:
    /cast [spec:1] Ring of Frost; [spec:2] Frostjaw
    Unless there is a base spell like Mage Bomb. There may be a macro command that will cast whatever spell you have in a talent tier, but I doubt it.
    Last edited by Aquamonkey; 2012-09-28 at 09:48 PM.
    Originally Posted by Blizzard Entertainment
    I'm determined to someday make Med'an awesome. (MickyNeilson)

    ´So.. sorry to bring this up but..you know that .."thing" (Med'an).. is that "thing" cannon still?
    ...as much have some have wished otherwise, yes. (Loreology)

  2. #422
    I need help creating a macro: I want to make a Scorch macro that on [button: 1] casts Scorch and on [button: 2] cancels Scorch.
    What I though up went like this:
    "#showtooltip Scorch
    /cast [button: 1] Scorch
    /cancel [button: 2] Scorch"
    But it obviously doesn't work.

    I need to cancel scorch because when my Fireball crits I need to cast Inferno Blast and get the free Pyroblast but I'm already casting Scorch, and if I let it cast then it screws up the mechanic. But i'm sure everyone already knew why I wanted it...

    Edit: Ok that was easy I just added: /stopcast [button: 2]
    I have another question now though: Why do we need all the macros with spam protection? When I click on a spell/ability and then click it again right after it doesn't automatically stop casting it, in-fact the second time I click it nothing will happen? Is this feature in the interface menu or something? Thank you.
    Last edited by AWC 3117; 2012-10-06 at 01:51 AM.

  3. #423
    Bloodsail Admiral spaace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,112
    Never understood why people had /stopcasting macros... Never used them... except for a few exceptions.. It's just about timing You can hit esc pretty easy if needed...


    Here's some of my macros.. Probably some are same from around here..

    Code:
    END
    MACRO 16777223 "Ice Block" "INV_Misc_QuestionMark"
    #showtooltip
    /cancelaura Ice Block
    /stopcasting
    /cast Ice block
    END
    MACRO 16777218 "Intellect" "INV_Misc_QuestionMark"
    #showtooltip Dalaran Brilliance
    /cast [button:1] Arcane Brilliance
    /cast [button:2] Dalaran Brilliance
    END
    MACRO 16777219 "Invisibility" "INV_Misc_QuestionMark"
    #showtooltip Invisibility
    /stopcasting
    /cast Invisibility
    /run for i=1,40 do local n,_,_,_,_,d=UnitBuff("player",i) if(n=="Invisibility" and d==20) then CancelUnitBuff("player",i) end end
    /stopmacro [exists]
    /targetlasttarget
    END
    MACRO 16777246 "Kill shot" "Ability_Mage_ColdAsIce"
    #show Icy Veins
    /cast Icy Veins
    /use 14
    END
    MACRO 16777230 "Living Bomb" "INV_Misc_QuestionMark"
    #showtooltip
    /use [target=mouseover,harm,nodead,exists][]Living Bomb
    END
    MACRO 16777222 "Mana Gem" "INV_Misc_QuestionMark"
    #showtooltip
    /use [button:1] Mana Gem
    /cast [button:2] Conjure Mana Gem
    END
    MACRO 16777217 "Mount" "Ability_Druid_ChallangingRoar"
    #showtoooltip
    /cast [nomounted,flyable] Bloodbathed Frostbrood Vanquisher
    /run if not(IsFlyableArea()and IsMounted())then CallCompanion("Mount",4) else Dismount()end
    END
    MACRO 16777228 "Polymorph" "INV_Misc_QuestionMark"
    #showtooltip Polymorph(Turtle)
    /castrandom Polymorph(Turtle), Polymorph(Black Cat), Polymorph(Pig), Polymorph(Rabbit), Polymorph
    END
    MACRO 16777247 "To the Vale!" "INV_MISC_QUESTIONMARK"
    /cast [button:1] Portal: Vale of Eternal Blossoms
    /cast [button:2] Teleport: Vale of Eternal Blossoms
    END
    MACRO 16777224 "Water Elemental" "INV_Misc_QuestionMark"
    #showtooltip [@pet,nodead,exists]Freeze;Summon Water Elemental
    /cast [nopet] Summon Water Elemental
    /cast [@pet,dead] Summon Water Elemental
    /stopmacro [@pet,dead]
    /cast Freeze
    /petattack
    END
    3DS FC: 5172 - 0403 - 7277
    Pokemon Y Safari Steel Type (Feroseed, Forretess, Brozong)
    Bravely Default
    White Mage|XIV Stream

  4. #424
    I am a complete novice when it comes to these things so I hope I don't ask questions that has been asked to many times.
    Is it possible to get a macro where i just spam the same button 3 times and have it cast PoM, my potion of choice and then alter time?

    I would also ask since I sometimes have to play on the asian realms with some bad latency, so can I make a macro that checks if my living bomb is on the target when I cast living bomb, and if it is, to not cast it.

  5. #425
    Quote Originally Posted by Keske View Post
    I would also ask since I sometimes have to play on the asian realms with some bad latency, so can I make a macro that checks if my living bomb is on the target when I cast living bomb, and if it is, to not cast it.
    No. /10char
    Originally Posted by Blizzard Entertainment
    I'm determined to someday make Med'an awesome. (MickyNeilson)

    ´So.. sorry to bring this up but..you know that .."thing" (Med'an).. is that "thing" cannon still?
    ...as much have some have wished otherwise, yes. (Loreology)

  6. #426
    The Insane Didactic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    The Emerald City
    Posts
    17,961
    Quote Originally Posted by spaace View Post
    Never understood why people had /stopcasting macros... Never used them... except for a few exceptions.. It's just about timing You can hit esc pretty easy if needed...
    :P I play with my Razer Naga and have both Counterspell and Spellsteal bound with stopcasting macros; it's just a matter of quality of life since it's less buttons to press.
    Right, as the world goes, is only in question between equals in power, while the strong do what they can and the weak suffer what they must.
    - Thucydides

    There is a modern myth that people have always tended towards democracy, constitutions, electoral rights; but in truth, love of freedom has never been the predominant note of popular politics. At most times, popular demand has been for a strong government.
    - Eugen Weber

  7. #427
    Quote Originally Posted by Keske View Post
    I am a complete novice when it comes to these things so I hope I don't ask questions that has been asked to many times.
    Is it possible to get a macro where i just spam the same button 3 times and have it cast PoM, my potion of choice and then alter time?
    The servers are down so I can't test it to be 100% sure but this should be possible using:

    /cast Presence of Mind
    /use Potion of the Jade Serpent
    /cast Alter Time

    The sequence here mid-fight would be: get your heating up and hot streaks up --> macro --> pyroblast --> pyroblast --> macro (spam it if you want) --> pyroblast --> pyroblast

    I don't think you should use this macro for a pull, though, because it will preclude you from using a (potioned) hard cast pyroblast. Also I can't see how this would help your lag problems because it requires a bit of finesse. There's no spammable one-button method of doing what you want, since a second press of the macro will activate the rewind function of Alter Time.

    (edited to reflect that potions aren't on the GCD)
    Last edited by azzgunther; 2012-11-14 at 12:23 PM.

  8. #428
    The Patient Divr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    294
    Quote Originally Posted by azzgunther View Post
    The servers are down so I can't test it to be 100% sure but this should be possible using:

    /cast Presence of Mind
    /use Potion of the Jade Serpent
    /cast Alter Time

    The sequence here mid-fight would be: get your heating up and hot streaks up --> macro --> macro --> pyroblast --> pyroblast --> macro (spam it if you want) --> pyroblast --> pyroblast

    I don't think you should use this macro for a pull, though, because it will preclude you from using a (potioned) hard cast pyroblast. Also I can't see how this would help your lag problems because it requires a bit of finesse. There's no spammable one-button method of doing what you want, since a third press of the macro will activate the rewind function of Alter Time.
    What this macro will indeed be doing (I believe) is popping PoM (it is not on the GCD), potion (not on GCD), and then alter Time in 1 button push.
    I know not with what weapons WWIII will be fought, but WWIV will be fought with sticks and stones. ~Albert Einstein


    Contingency (10H): 14/14 H - US 70 - Recruiting
    Contingency (25H): 13/13 H - US 36

  9. #429
    I'm 90% sure that potions are on the GCD. If so it won't activate the entire macro in one press. I wanted to test it but didn't count on today's maintenance going for 12 hours.

  10. #430
    Quote Originally Posted by azzgunther View Post
    I'm 90% sure that potions are on the GCD. If so it won't activate the entire macro in one press. I wanted to test it but didn't count on today's maintenance going for 12 hours.
    negative, they are not

  11. #431
    I haven't read through the whole thread so forgive me if someone else has already brought this up but has the castrandom for Polymorph been working for anyone else?

    I had a macro in Cata for sheep, pig, turtle, and cat that worked fine, just fine but after MoP came out, it would only cast one of them. And not even a random one at that. First it would only cast turtle, so I removed turtle but then it would only cast pig. So, I removed pig and then it only cast sheep so I just left it alone and just used regular Polymorph.

    Well, I decided to try again and it did the same thing, only casting one of the Polymorphs instead of randomizing. I'm using the macro that was provided in this thread.


  12. #432
    Bloodsail Admiral spaace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,112
    MACRO "Polymorph"
    Code:
    #showtooltip Polymorph(Turtle)
    /castrandom Polymorph(Turtle), Polymorph(Black Cat), Polymorph(Pig), Polymorph(Rabbit), Polymorph

    is what you're looking for.


    I'll add this, because many people been asking about talent macros..

    MACRO "Shield Barrier"
    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /use Temporal Shield
    /use Ice Barrier
    /run local G=GetSpellInfo SetMacroSpell("Shield Barrier", G"Temporal Shield" or G"Ice Barrier")
    Switches icons for you based on talent.. modify as needed
    /run local G=GetSpellInfo SetMacroSpell("MACRO NAME", G"Spell", G"Spell" or G"Spell") if you use all 3
    Last edited by spaace; 2012-11-30 at 08:22 PM.
    3DS FC: 5172 - 0403 - 7277
    Pokemon Y Safari Steel Type (Feroseed, Forretess, Brozong)
    Bravely Default
    White Mage|XIV Stream

  13. #433
    Quote Originally Posted by spaace View Post
    MACRO "Polymorph"

    #showtooltip Polymorph(Turtle)
    /castrandom Polymorph(Turtle), Polymorph(Black Cat), Polymorph(Pig), Polymorph(Rabbit), Polymorph


    is what you're looking for.
    Ah, thanks. It's been rough not being able to turn critters into random animals.


  14. #434
    Quote Originally Posted by spaace View Post
    I'll add this, because many people been asking about talent macros..

    MACRO "Shield Barrier"
    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /use Temporal Shield
    /use Ice Barrier
    /run local G=GetSpellInfo SetMacroSpell("Shield Barrier", G"Temporal Shield" or G"Ice Barrier")
    Switches icons for you based on talent.. modify as needed
    /run local G=GetSpellInfo SetMacroSpell("MACRO NAME", G"Spell", G"Spell" or G"Spell") if you use all 3
    Thanks for the macro, but for the 3 it doesn't work. It should be:
    /run local G=GetSpellInfo SetMacroSpell("MACRO NAME", G"Spell"or G"Spell" or G"Spell")

    EDIT
    Is there a way to make this work when only pressing certain modifiers? Like with:
    Code:
    /cast [mod:shift]Ring of Frost; [mod:shift]Frostjaw; Frost Nova
    To have the tooltip change depending on which spell is active while holding 'shift', but to show the nomod spell the rest of the time?
    Last edited by Aquamonkey; 2012-11-30 at 10:17 PM.
    Originally Posted by Blizzard Entertainment
    I'm determined to someday make Med'an awesome. (MickyNeilson)

    ´So.. sorry to bring this up but..you know that .."thing" (Med'an).. is that "thing" cannon still?
    ...as much have some have wished otherwise, yes. (Loreology)

  15. #435
    Warchief Kuni Zyrekai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Frozen North
    Posts
    2,112
    Quote Originally Posted by Aquamonkey View Post
    Is there a way to make this work when only pressing certain modifiers? Like with:
    Code:
    /cast [mod:shift]Ring of Frost; [mod:shift]Frostjaw; Frost Nova
    To have the tooltip change depending on which spell is active while holding 'shift', but to show the nomod spell the rest of the time?
    I'm not sure how to force it to do it with that code, but I've been using http://www.curse.com/addons/wow/talentspellmacro to replicate that function.
    Last edited by Kuni Zyrekai; 2012-12-08 at 10:18 PM.

  16. #436
    I was wondering if it is possible to have an Alter Time macro that allows us to smash it without activating the "return" part. !Ice Block works on preventing double tapping IB, but doesnt work on Alter Time.

  17. #437
    Mechagnome jtmzac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    700
    Quote Originally Posted by Rhodianni View Post
    I was wondering if it is possible to have an Alter Time macro that allows us to smash it without activating the "return" part. !Ice Block works on preventing double tapping IB, but doesnt work on Alter Time.
    Well thats because pressing ice block a second time normally doesn't cancel it like it does with alter time. Honestly if you're having problems click it instead. I click my cd's and I even changed my ice block macro so the second click cancels it instead of needing a modifier.

    If you could put an "if" parameter in the macro so that it doesn't work if the alter time buff is up that would be the easiest way to do what you want but I'm not sure if you can do that. You could then just put in a cancel modifier like the ice block macro.
    Last edited by jtmzac; 2012-12-16 at 01:47 PM.
    MB: Asus Maximus V Extreme CPU: [email protected] custom water loop GPU: Gigabyte GTX 680 RAM: Corsair 4x4GB 1600Mhz 7-8-8-24
    SSD: Samsung 830 256GB PSU: Corsair AX850 CASE: Corsair 800D
    Armory

  18. #438
    Epic! Valanna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,647
    Quote Originally Posted by jtmzac View Post
    Well thats because pressing ice block a second time normally doesn't cancel it like it does with alter time. Honestly if you're having problems click it instead. I click my cd's and I even changed my ice block macro so the second click cancels it instead of needing a modifier.

    If you could put an "if" parameter in the macro so that it doesn't work if the alter time buff is up that would be the easiest way to do what you want but I'm not sure if you can do that. You could then just put in a cancel modifier like the ice block macro.
    It's fine that you click and all, but the least you can do is to not advice others to do the same.

    To answer Rhodianni: I think this should be possible, but would require a script macro which is much more complex than what we usually deal with here. I'd suggest asking for help in the Macros and UI forum, they're real pros.
    Quote Originally Posted by Boubouille View Post
    Trolling will result in the loss of your forum posting privileges, and the removal of your genitals with my teeth while I hum Oasis songs.

  19. #439
    Mechagnome jtmzac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    700
    Quote Originally Posted by Valanna View Post
    It's fine that you click and all, but the least you can do is to not advice others to do the same.
    It depends on wether we're talking pvp or pve. I understand having everything bound for pvp but there's nothing wrong with clicking in pve. I thought we were well past the clicking anything = noob.

    To be clear I was only saying you should ever click some cd's. I only click alter time, mirror images, icy veins, time warp. Just the ones with long cooldowns.
    MB: Asus Maximus V Extreme CPU: [email protected] custom water loop GPU: Gigabyte GTX 680 RAM: Corsair 4x4GB 1600Mhz 7-8-8-24
    SSD: Samsung 830 256GB PSU: Corsair AX850 CASE: Corsair 800D
    Armory

  20. #440
    Epic! Valanna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,647
    Quote Originally Posted by jtmzac View Post
    It depends on wether we're talking pvp or pve. I understand having everything bound for pvp but there's nothing wrong with clicking in pve. I thought we were well past the clicking anything = noob.

    To be clear I was only saying you should ever click some cd's. I only click alter time, mirror images, icy veins, time warp. Just the ones with long cooldowns.
    You're always at a disadvantage when clicking, and whether it's only a small disadvantage or a big one, it's bad advice.
    Quote Originally Posted by Boubouille View Post
    Trolling will result in the loss of your forum posting privileges, and the removal of your genitals with my teeth while I hum Oasis songs.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •