View Poll Results: Would you switch?

Voters
313. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    286 91.37%
  • No

    15 4.79%
  • Other (Comment below)

    12 3.83%
Page 1 of 5
1
2
3
... LastLast
  1. #1
    The Lightbringer MonsieuRoberts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    CANADALANDLOL
    Posts
    3,808

    Would you switch to 64-Bit if it were implemented?

    If you weren't using it already, would you switch if it were supported?

    Honestly, other than what BB posted, I don't really know the difference. Is it performance only?
    "In short, people are idiots who don't really understand anything." -Seramore

    Old Warrior - New Warrior

  2. #2
    The Unstoppable Force N-aix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Dota 2 24/7 / Dark Souls II
    Posts
    21,557
    Dam right, performance+ at the very best it can do

  3. #3
    Yes because it would allow WoW to use all of my RAM.

  4. #4
    Dreadlord goneloco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Gothenburg
    Posts
    870
    why wouldnt anyone with a 64-bit OS wanna switch for a 64-bit wow client?


  5. #5
    it all depends on your system memory really.
    If you have 3 gb and like 1gb graphics card or flat 4gb of ram, there is really NO reason to use 32 bit system as 32 bit system aint able to support that ammount of memory.
    simply put, if you have 2gb ram and 1gb graphics card, 32 bit is for you
    anything more, you go for 64 bit and dont look back.
    why wouldnt anyone with a 64-bit OS wanna switch for a 64-bit wow client?
    i belive he means switching to 64 bit OS once there is 64 bit version of wow.
    at least this makes me think so
    If you weren't using it already,
    cant really use something that aint released yet , right? so he must be talking about switching to 64 bit system :P
    Last edited by Dexiefy; 2011-06-04 at 03:58 PM.

  6. #6
    Pit Lord aztr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    2,352
    Using 64 bit Win 7 atm. No reason not to.

  7. #7
    The Lightbringer MonsieuRoberts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    CANADALANDLOL
    Posts
    3,808
    Quote Originally Posted by Dexiefy View Post
    simply put, if you have 2gb ram and 1gb graphics card, 32 bit is for you
    anything more, you go for 64 bit and dont look back.
    Ok, so that's the benchmark. Why though? Is it PURELY performance based?
    "In short, people are idiots who don't really understand anything." -Seramore

    Old Warrior - New Warrior

  8. #8
    32 bit systems can't handle more than 2 gig ram, while 64 bit systems can handle like 16+.

  9. #9
    Bloodsail Admiral
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sheffield, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,074
    >implying im not already on -64bit.
    Laughingirls.jpg

  10. #10
    32 bit usually has less bugs than 64 bit, but it is improving all the time, so 64 bit would be good choice for good computer

  11. #11
    High Overlord
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    172
    Of course.
    If you're running a 64bit os and offered a 64bit software why the hell wouldnt you ?

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Warchief94 View Post
    >implying im not already on -64bit.
    Laughingirls.jpg
    >implying you have special access to something Blizzard hasn't even claimed to exist yet.
    no.jpg

    Quote Originally Posted by Farahawnee View Post
    Not having an authenticator on your account is like not locking your windows because your front door is locked, and then wondering how a burglar got in.

  13. #13
    I didn't spend a crap ton of money on this computer to have it not run a 64bit application, if available.
    http://us.battle.net/wow/en/characte...monzi/advanced

    Quote Originally Posted by Crokey View Post
    You know you just wrote 7 paragraphs about some people you have never met, playing a computer game in a way you disagree with?

  14. #14
    The Insane det's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    The forums
    Posts
    17,712
    Considering I run the 64 bit windows 7 ...I guess the answer has to be "yes"
    Originally Posted by Blizzard Entertainment
    One cause is a cognitive bias called projection bias. Essentially living inside your own head your entire life makes it exceedingly difficult to understand how others do not also live your same life, think your same thoughts, and hold your same beliefs. In many cases it's quite frustrating to try to empathize and understand why you yourself may not be the center of the universe, which generally results in one 'acting out' in various ways.
    So, in short: the internet.

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Drihan View Post
    32 bit systems can't handle more than 2 gig ram, while 64 bit systems can handle like 16+.
    It's more like 3 to 3.5 GB for a 32 bit system and most 64 bit operating systems support up to 192 GB of ram. (That is in theory, you still need hardware that supports it)

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by Nozrek View Post
    It's more like 3 to 3.5 GB for a 32 bit system and most 64 bit operating systems support up to 192 GB of ram. (That is in theory, you still need hardware that supports it)
    ITT: people that dont understand memory addressing

    A 32 bit operating system can address up to 4GB of memory. This will include any other components (GPU for example).

  17. #17
    Uhm 64 bit supports up to 17.2 BILLION gb of ram, or 16 exabyte.
    Windows 7 on the other hand doesn't support more then 128 gb.

  18. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by bigfoot1291 View Post
    >implying you have special access to something Blizzard hasn't even claimed to exist yet.
    no.jpg
    Given he meant that he is already on a 64-bit Operating System, (Much like myself... was a nice perk to being in a computer programmer college course, we got open access to the MSDN-AA, and 1 full key for Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit, free. I like $250 worth of software for nothing) your remark is stricken.

  19. #19
    High Overlord Korao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    132
    Quote Originally Posted by HereImTrollingAgain View Post
    32 bit usually has less bugs than 64 bit, but it is improving all the time, so 64 bit would be good choice for good computer
    32Bits less buggy? Thats not really true anymore since Windows 7. (And maybe Vista, but vista is just a big bug in general) 64bits was buggy when used with XP, an OS made with 32bits in mind then after had a "patch" to bring 64bits, so many bugs appeared.

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by Drihan View Post
    32 bit systems can't handle more than 2 gig ram
    3 gig to be exact

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •