Rawr Optimizer/Graph Differences?

Hey Shamans,

I'm still relatively new to the graphing, simulating, and heavy testing of my DPS, but im getting there. I had a question regarding Rawr.

When I view my Stats Graph, (currently) it says that Attack Power weighs more than what i was stacking before, which was Hit (it was higher in both the graph, and it came up in the Optimizer).

Therein lies my question: why is it that the Optimizer relies so heavily on Hit when "Optimizing DPS," and the graph clearly shows that Attack Power would yield stronger/more DPS?

This may be something silly I've done or overlooked or and am just not understanding, so i was hoping I could see some nice answers.

(PS--I do test out my stuff in EnhSim that has been exported from Rawr)

Deleted

Re: Rawr Optimizer/Graph Differences?

At the heart of Rawr is a calculation engine for each spec. Rawr takes a bunch of stats, including buffs, procs, etc and throws them at the calculation engine and gets back a figure. So the calculation engine basically crunches all your stats into a single dps figure.

The optimiser uses this to simply take various combos of gear, it generates the stats for that gear and says to the calculation engine give me a figure. The optimiser then tries other combos and does the same. Each time its looking for a higher figure as a result. It settles on the gear that gives it the highest figure. Therefore the optimiser doesn't give a fig about what stats the gear has all it is doing is getting a figure from the calculation engine.