10+ Year Old Account

Is some PVP gear good for Tanking??

Hi im new to the whole Druid tanking game been playing a prot paladin for a while now and decided i want to try druid tanking

Pretty much the title says it all ive seen a few Druid tanks in my Server with Like PvP Bracers capes boots and i seen quite a few with the Arena Staff for tanking

so is it good to try an get some PvP gear for tanking and why?

Thanks for all da help

Re: Is some PVP gear good for Tanking??

You sacrifice some TPS since the offensive stats are often traded for resil, but you tend to also gain stam. There is no hit on T10 anyways, so you aren't missing there, and you already get a ton of expertise, so losing some when you're over 30 won't matter significantly compared to survival on the big fight that matters, LK.

Quite sure the frost badge cloak is far superior though, due to the armor and having more potential stam.

i used the 264 PVP bracers because they dropped for me in VoA, because they were better than what I had, until I got Toskk's.

The only viable options are the belt, boots and bracers. Because they all have both Agility and Stamina, which are the bread and butter of bear tanking. As others have said, this is providing you are hit / expertise capped.

If your good enough to be able to obtain the PVP weapons through 3v3 or 5v5 then the PVP weapons are almost best in slot outside of ICC hard modes, they have a ridiculous amount of stamina and ample Agility on the wrathful ones. That and they still have sockets! The only thing you wont find on them is Expertise.

But as you mentioned, you've seen some druids wearing the Cloak and Neck. These are not good options at all, they provide nothing but stamina, you get no agility, no + Def (Which actually is useful for bears, even though we're already crit immune) and no + dodge. Rendering the neck and cloak almost useless, and the same obviously goes for the rings.