1. #1

    Catalyst 10.4 issue

    hi, I downloaded the Catalyst 10.4 driver yesterday (I'm using an XFX 5700 graphic card)
    I completely uninstalled my previous driver and installed the new one, but now when I try to change the resolution to 1920x1080 (as I did with the old driver, my screen can handle it and so on) it creates a black area on around 1-2 cm all around the screen. If I change the resolution to 1680x1050 or below, it will use the entire screen, and not leave me with the black 'frame'

    I hope you understood my problem and someone may know what I can do to fix it

    *edit*
    additional info, my screen is connected with a HDMI cable and is a BenQ E2400HD LCD monitor

  2. #2
    Bloodsail Admiral
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sheffield, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,074

    Re: Catalyst 10.4 issue

    I dont think thats a problem, i think thats just ur monitors / video/gfx cards resolution limit.

  3. #3
    Pit Lord Wries's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: Catalyst 10.4 issue

    How is your screen connected to the gfx card? Could be a HDMI under/overscan issue.

    edit. ah it was HDMI.. Well then. There is somewhere in the catalyst settings an overscan setting that is used when the software thinks it's needed. Drag that to 0%
    Obsidian 350D | i7 2700K @ 4.8GHz | ASUS Maximus V Gene Z77 | 32GB RAM | Nvidia Geforce GTX Titan @ 1.1Ghz, 7GHz Memory, BIOS mod. | 500GB SSD | 4TB Stripe

  4. #4
    Dreadlord Fooliecoolie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Jacksonville, NC
    Posts
    940

    Re: Catalyst 10.4 issue

    Check your scaling settings

  5. #5

    Re: Catalyst 10.4 issue

    well, before I updated the driver there were no issues, I had 1920x1080 in resolution and it used the entire screen, it didn't make a black frame. So there shouldn't be a limit since I've used it like that before

    where do I check my scaling setting?

    and just to make clear, this isn't in wow, this is everywhere

  6. #6
    Moderator Cilraaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Re: Catalyst 10.4 issue

    That is an underscan issue with ATi drivers.

    • Open Catalyst Control Center
    • On the upper left dropdown, select "Desktops & Displays"
    • At the bottom will be a small picture of a monitor with a small black triangle in the upper right corner of the monitor picture. Click that and select "Configure"
    • Go to the "Scaling Options" tab
    • Move the slider to 0% (all the way toward "Overscan")
    • Your screen should look normal

  7. #7

    Re: Catalyst 10.4 issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Cilraaz
    That is an underscan issue with ATi drivers.

    • Open Catalyst Control Center
    • On the upper left dropdown, select "Desktops & Displays"
    • At the bottom will be a small picture of a monitor with a small black triangle in the upper right corner of the monitor picture. Click that and select "Configure"
    • Go to the "Scaling Options" tab
    • Move the slider to 0% (all the way toward "Overscan")
    • Your screen should look normal
    hmmm..
    I tried to follow your instructions, I reach the picture of the monitor with the triangle, but when I click it I don't get the "configure" option, I only get: rotate, identify and properties
    If I choose properties it will redirect me to the desktop properties, where I'm only able to change the color, refresh rate and resolution :S

  8. #8
    Moderator Cilraaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Re: Catalyst 10.4 issue

    You're looking at the wrong monitor picture. Use the little one at the bottom, not the big one in the middle.

  9. #9

    Re: Catalyst 10.4 issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Cilraaz
    You're looking at the wrong monitor picture. Use the little one at the bottom, not the big one in the middle.
    god, I'm an idiot XD
    Thank you very much, you just saved my day
    /hug

  10. #10
    Moderator Cilraaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Re: Catalyst 10.4 issue

    I did the same thing when it happened to me. I must've sat there for 10 minutes looking at it before I realized.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •