1. #1

    Addon that lets me Hide/Show windows on clicks

    Good evening.

    I'm looking for an addon that lets me anchor -lets say- skada (or recount) to a button (off the actionbar) and Grid onto other.

    Basically, when i press the skada button, grid hides and skada main window appears in some location (that i configured) and, if i press the second (grid) button, skada hides and grid shows.

    For those that didn't understand, i'm sorry, i can't seem to explain better, and i'll post a paint image of what i need:

    if i press the red button:


    if i press the green button:


    Thank you for your answers.


    EDIT: changed title for better reading comprehension
    As always, apparently the one thing you can do in a duel that isn't cheating... is lose.

  2. #2

    Re: Addon that lets me open window on click

    Make two macros that toggles the display of recount/skada, and one that does it for grid. Simple!

    (Except Grid don't support hiding, but that'll be your trouble )

  3. #3
    Scarab Lord
    15+ Year Old Account
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,040

    Re: Addon that lets me open window on click

    You could do this via scripting and kgPanels. I know Recount has an easy lua command to hide the window (Recount_Mainwindow:Hide() if I remember right), Skada probably has similar. With Grid, you'd have to basically turn the addon off, I believe, and then back on. Which may cause problems, especially if you try to turn it on while in combat.

  4. #4
    Puts the "Super" in Supermod Venara's Avatar
    15+ Year Old Account
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cork, Ireland
    Posts
    3,709

    Re: Addon that lets me open window on click

    It's not necessary to turn Grid on or off.

    /run GridLayoutFrame:Hide()

    will do the trick.
    For Moderation Concerns, please contact a Global:
    TzivaRadux SimcaElysiaZaelsinoxskarmaVenara

  5. #5
    Scarab Lord
    15+ Year Old Account
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,040

    Re: Addon that lets me open window on click

    Thank you, Venara. I wasn't familiar with that command.

  6. #6

    Re: Addon that lets me open window on click

    Yeah, all frames have the :Hide() command, it's part of Lua. You just have to find out the name of the frame, I believe there is a macro that does that for you, but I currently don't have it handy.
    Author of Instance Profit Tracker
    Find out how much gold you earn soloing raids and dungeons

    Curse | GitHub
    WowInterface

  7. #7
    Scarab Lord
    15+ Year Old Account
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,040

    Re: Addon that lets me open window on click

    Screw a macro for that. Just type /framestack to turn on a tooltip-style window that tells you EVERY frame under your mouse cursor, and /framestack to make that window go away. :P

  8. #8
    Puts the "Super" in Supermod Venara's Avatar
    15+ Year Old Account
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cork, Ireland
    Posts
    3,709

    Re: Addon that lets me open window on click

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcilux
    Yeah, all frames have the :Hide() command, it's part of Lua. You just have to find out the name of the frame, I believe there is a macro that does that for you, but I currently don't have it handy.
    Easy ;-)

    /print GetMouseFocus():GetName()
    For Moderation Concerns, please contact a Global:
    TzivaRadux SimcaElysiaZaelsinoxskarmaVenara

  9. #9

    Re: Addon that lets me open window on click

    Thank you for your answers, but it kinda screws my idea if i can't hide windows in combat
    As always, apparently the one thing you can do in a duel that isn't cheating... is lose.

  10. #10
    Scarab Lord
    15+ Year Old Account
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,040

    Re: Addon that lets me open window on click

    Flame, no, the doing it in combat thing was about turning a UF addon (Grid) OFF and ON while in combat - not about hiding/showing the addon. It should be completely possible to do what you want to do, thanks to the script command that Venara posted.

    Also, the /print GetMouseFocus():GetName() macro - you can stop using it. /fstack gives you the same information, and it's a much shorter command.

  11. #11

    Re: Addon that lets me open window on click

    Nice!

    Thank you all!

    Will try to make an addon, if it fails, will settle in doing macros (I'm a bit noob in LUA, but since i am in Programming Course in College it might me easier than i thougth
    As always, apparently the one thing you can do in a duel that isn't cheating... is lose.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •