1. #1

    [YARMBT] Yet another rate my build thread

    Hello there again, I've nearly decided on a rig which will stand the test of time for the time being. I picked these parts having current and upcoming Blizzard titles in mind (SC2, Diablo III and so forth) Please note that my budget is around 1100 US dollars or 850 euro depending on which currency you prefer.

    AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Quad Core, 3,4Ghz, AM3, 8MB, 125W, Boxed
    ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO, Socket-AM3 AMD 785G+SB710, DDR3, Firewire, GbLAN, ATX, HDMI, DVI, 2xPCI-Ex(2.0)x16
    Chieftec Super Series 750W PSU ATX 12V V2.3, 80 Plus, Modular, 2x 6pin+2x 6+2pin PCIe, 8x SATA, 140mm
    Cooler Master Hyper TX3 CPU Cooler Socket 755/1156, 754/939/940/AM2/AM2+/AM3, 800~2800 RPM, 54.8 CFM, 17~35 dBA
    Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz 4GB CL9 Kit w/2x 2GB XMS3 modules, CL9-9-9-24, for Core i5 and i7, 1.65V, Intel XMP
    Fractal Design Define R2 Black Pearl Fans:1x 120mm Front, 1x 120mm Back, ATX, mATX, mITX, 15 dBA
    HIS Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5 PCI-Express 2.0, DVI, native-HDMI, DisplayPort, HDCP
    Hitachi Deskstar™ 7K1000.C 1TB 7200RPM, 3,5", 32MB Cache, SATA 3Gb/s

    This is well within my budget, even going well beyond 1100+ will be considered.

  2. #2
    Bloodsail Admiral
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sheffield, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,074
    Quote Originally Posted by Sentrytotem View Post
    Hello there again, I've nearly decided on a rig which will stand the test of time for the time being. I picked these parts having current and upcoming Blizzard titles in mind (SC2, Diablo III and so forth) Please note that my budget is around 1100 US dollars or 850 euro depending on which currency you prefer.

    AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Quad Core, 3,4Ghz, AM3, 8MB, 125W, Boxed
    ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO, Socket-AM3 AMD 785G+SB710, DDR3, Firewire, GbLAN, ATX, HDMI, DVI, 2xPCI-Ex(2.0)x16
    Chieftec Super Series 750W PSU ATX 12V V2.3, 80 Plus, Modular, 2x 6pin+2x 6+2pin PCIe, 8x SATA, 140mm
    Cooler Master Hyper TX3 CPU Cooler Socket 755/1156, 754/939/940/AM2/AM2+/AM3, 800~2800 RPM, 54.8 CFM, 17~35 dBA
    Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz 4GB CL9 Kit w/2x 2GB XMS3 modules, CL9-9-9-24, for Core i5 and i7, 1.65V, Intel XMP
    Fractal Design Define R2 Black Pearl Fans:1x 120mm Front, 1x 120mm Back, ATX, mATX, mITX, 15 dBA
    HIS Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5 PCI-Express 2.0, DVI, native-HDMI, DisplayPort, HDCP
    Hitachi Deskstar™ 7K1000.C 1TB 7200RPM, 3,5", 32MB Cache, SATA 3Gb/s

    This is well within my budget, even going well beyond 1100+ will be considered.
    That system will be fine to play the upcoming blizzard titles, on maximum graphics. Cant really say about the new MMO blizzard are making yet but yeah, SC, diablo, wow cata, be fine.

  3. #3
    Moderator Cilraaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    9,037
    I've never heard of the PSU manufacturer before. Besides having no name recognition, I'd be curious as to what the +12V rail setup was (single? multi? how many amps?).

    Also, my friends have nicknamed the Hitachi Deskstar to the Hitachi Deathstar after multiple drive failures.

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Cilraaz View Post
    I've never heard of the PSU manufacturer before. Besides having no name recognition, I'd be curious as to what the +12V rail setup was (single? multi? how many amps?).

    Also, my friends have nicknamed the Hitachi Deskstar to the Hitachi Deathstar after multiple drive failures.
    Chieftec is not something I've heard of either but a friend recommended it and said it had worked on his machine for quite some time. Not sure what you mean with rail setup but I will include a link (if I could, productnumber from newegg is N82E16817202008)full name is CHIEFTEC Turbo CFT-750-14C 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

    Chieftec seems to be a dutch based company from the looks of it, not very well know I'm afraid. I'm pretty confident that my friend is telling the truth, though.

  5. #5
    Moderator Cilraaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    9,037
    On the spec tab for that PSU, if you scroll down to output, you'll see:

    +3.3V@30A,+5V@28A,+12V1@18A,+12V2@18A,+12V3@18A, +12V4@18A,[email protected],[email protected]
    The +12V1 through +12V4 are +12V rails. This is a quad rail PSU, pushing 18A max per rail. While it should work, it's not really ideal for a powerful setup. The 5770 may or may not stress it, but if you put a stronger card in later (a Fermi card, for example), it may be too much. I usually suggest a strong single rail PSU, like the Corsair 650TX or 750TX. Both have good wattage and a solid, single rail design that pushes plenty of amperage (which is what today's video cards are really looking for).

  6. #6
    Chieftec is a realy good psu brand..... they are a BIG psu brand in europe and up there with seasonic, enermax, corsair, xfx and cooler master

    there are just not that big in the states yet, but they will be

    they have gooten some realy good rewieves..... try and google them
    Intel i5 2500K: Asus Masimux IV Extreme: Palit GTX 680 Jetstream: Chieftec Nitro Series 1200W:Corsair H-100 Hydro:
    8Gb Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz CL8: Crucial M4 128Gb+256Gb: Creative Sound Blaster Z: Corsair Obsidian 800D: Plextor PX-880SA

  7. #7
    Couldn't find any decent review on them, found http://www.xtremecomputing.co.uk/rev...?id=463&page=1 , it's a completely useless review.
    Not saying they are bad though, just don't have nothing I trust to confirm they are good.
    According to Ohm 18amp will give you 216W per rail, bit on the low side.
    The single rail thing...


    So final verdict? Single rail or multi rail? Well, with low-wattage units it doesn't matter. OCP on a single rail is useful up to about 40A or thereabouts, which is where most 550W power supplies fall. So with 550W and under power supplies, it's a moot point. However, with high wattage units, >45A on the +12V (650W and higher) picking a multi-rail unit will provide you with an extra layer of protection. It isn't essential, and it has no impact on the power supply's performance. However, it does provide an extra layer of safety in case you get a short circuit. And I would consider it a must for >1000W power supplies; [H] recently tested the single rail Corsair AX1200, but they had an accidental short circuit, and since the PSU's OCP is set for over 100A, the short overloaded and destroyed most of their testing equipment. So there is a danger with single rail units over 1000W.
    in http://www.overclock.net/power-suppl...explained.html
    It's a good read that guide btw, and so are the links on his sig.

  8. #8
    The i5-750 is $20 more and will perform much much better than the phenom.
    If you have that much to spend on a computer it is really a no brainer to go with intel as they are a generation ahead of AMD currently.

    Video is a Palit GTS450. Main display is a 24" full HD TV. Secondary display is an ACER 19" lcd at 1440x900.

  9. #9
    Bloodsail Admiral
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sheffield, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,074
    Quote Originally Posted by Moobious View Post
    The i5-750 is $20 more and will perform much much better than the phenom.
    If you have that much to spend on a computer it is really a no brainer to go with intel as they are a generation ahead of AMD currently.
    cant really disagree on that tbh, ive heard some good things about the Phenom II, but also some bad things too, so im a little torn. I recon amd will be bringing out some amazing processors in the near future though.

  10. #10
    Ok I've completely redone my list, here it goes

    * 594340 Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz 4GB CL8 Kit w/2x 2GB XMS3 modules, CL8-8-8-24, 1.5V, for AMD Phenom II, 240pin
    * 340676 Corsair TX 650W PSU ATX 12V V2.2, 80 Plus, Standard. 2x 6+2-pin PCIe, 8x SATA, 120mm Fan
    * 580313 Fractal Design Define R2 Black Pearl Fans:1x 120mm Front, 1x 120mm Back, ATX, mATX, mITX, 15 dBA
    * 579650 Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H, H55, Socket-1156 2xDDR3, ATX, GbLAN, VGA, HDMI, DVI, PCI-Ex(2.0)x16
    * 593084 HIS Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5 PCI-Express 2.0, DVI, native-HDMI, DisplayPort, HDCP
    * 492762 Intel Core™ i5 Quad Processor i5-750 Quad Core, 2.66Ghz, Socket 1156, 8MB, 95W, Boxed w/fan
    * 354903 Samsung SpinPoint F1 640GB SATA2 16MB 7200RPM

    What do you think? It is abit cheaper than my current build aswell, which is a double-edged sword in the hardware industry.
    Ignore the numbers, they are a part of the site I am ordering from. I just couldn't be arsed removing them. =)
    Last edited by Sentrytotem; 2010-07-22 at 02:53 PM.

  11. #11
    Moderator Cilraaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    9,037
    That motherboard is an H55 chipset. With an i5, you should be looking for a P55 chipset. Other than that, the only thing I see is potentially the RAM. Do you plan on doing any overclocking? If so, keep the 1600MHz RAM. If not, you can safely downgrade to 1333MHz RAM with no performance loss (assuming the 1333MHz RAM is still CL8) and potentially save a few bucks.

    The reason the downgrade would cause no performance loss (when not overclocking) is that by default the i5 750's base clock is 133MHz and the RAM multiplier is 2:10. This will put your RAM at 1333MHz, regardless of whether 1333MHz or 1600MHz RAM is used. If you're overclocking, the 1600MHz RAM will give you room to modify your base clock without overclocking your RAM.
    Last edited by Cilraaz; 2010-07-22 at 03:12 PM.

  12. #12
    I do not plan on overclocking, so downgrading to a 1333MHz RAM is no problem for me. I also switched the motherboard to a MSI P55-CD53, P55, Socket-1156, DDR3 motherboard, the costcut on the RAM did allow me to keep approx. the same price as before with the new motherboard.

    I really have to thank you all for the help, especially Cilraaz. I am not very good at the "smaller things" that makes the build work good together, however the motherboard I chose will not allow me to use an external cooler, the 80MM i5 stock cooler apparently barely fit. I will buy more fans next month, but this is my budget for now. Also guessing that a 650 watt PSU will be enough for these parts I have chosen since nobody has mentioned it so far, please leave a comment if you know.

    I am open for new ideas all the time so please leave a comment if you feel you have something to contribute with, even small things help.

    EDIT: When you said (assuming the 1333MHz RAM is still CL8), does this mean I HAVE to use CL8 or can I go with a CL9?
    I need to make sure this is correct since I don't want to spend money on something I won't be able to use. Unfortunately I am not that good at deciding what RAM to pick, advice would be appreciated.
    Last edited by Sentrytotem; 2010-07-22 at 04:00 PM.

  13. #13
    Moderator Cilraaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    9,037
    Quote Originally Posted by Sentrytotem View Post
    I do not plan on overclocking, so downgrading to a 1333MHz RAM is no problem for me. I also switched the motherboard to a MSI P55-CD53, P55, Socket-1156, DDR3 motherboard, the costcut on the RAM did allow me to keep approx. the same price as before with the new motherboard.

    I really have to thank you all for the help, especially Cilraaz. I am not very good at the "smaller things" that makes the build work good together, however the motherboard I chose will not allow me to use an external cooler, the 80MM i5 stock cooler apparently barely fit. I will buy more fans next month, but this is my budget for now. Also guessing that a 650 watt PSU will be enough for these parts I have chosen since nobody has mentioned it so far, please leave a comment if you know.

    I am open for new ideas all the time so please leave a comment if you feel you have something to contribute with, even small things help.

    EDIT: When you said (assuming the 1333MHz RAM is still CL8), does this mean I HAVE to use CL8 or can I go with a CL9?
    I need to make sure this is correct since I don't want to spend money on something I won't be able to use. Unfortunately I am not that good at deciding what RAM to pick, advice would be appreciated.
    The power supply will be fine.

    As far as the RAM, you can use CL6, CL7, CL8 or CL9. The CL stands for CAS Latency, which is just a fancy way of saying "how long it takes for the RAM to prepare information stored within it". The lower the CL, the faster the RAM, though the difference between CL8 and CL9 is negligible at best.

  14. #14
    Personally I would try a modular PSU, these days it's possible to find very decent equivalent psu's along that price range.

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Cilraaz View Post
    The power supply will be fine.

    As far as the RAM, you can use CL6, CL7, CL8 or CL9. The CL stands for CAS Latency, which is just a fancy way of saying "how long it takes for the RAM to prepare information stored within it". The lower the CL, the faster the RAM, though the difference between CL8 and CL9 is negligible at best.
    One big question pops into my head when you say that, will it affect overall performance and if so, in what ways?

  16. #16
    Moderator Cilraaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    9,037
    It will affect performance, but for the most part, only in benchmarks. The real world difference between CL8 and CL9 RAM should not be noticeable. Also, it would only affect RAM data transfer rates (information coming out of RAM).

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by Sentrytotem View Post
    One big question pops into my head when you say that, will it affect overall performance and if so, in what ways?
    Difference between CL8 and CL9 RAMs is in 5% neighborhood when you look at memory tests. For overall PC speed in gaming it makes less than 1% difference.
    Never going to log into this garbage forum again as long as calling obvious troll obvious troll is the easiest way to get banned.
    Trolling should be.

  18. #18
    I did expect that answer, just wanted to make sure. Again, thank you both.

    It basically comes down to this:

    * 340676 Corsair TX 650W PSU ATX 12V V2.2, 80 Plus, Standard. 2x 6+2-pin PCIe, 8x SATA, 120mm Fan
    * 481123 Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333MHz 4GB CL9 Kit with 2x 2GB XMS3 modules, CL9-9-9-24, 1.5V, for Intel and AMD, 240pin
    * 580313 Fractal Design Define R2 Black Pearl Fans:1x 120mm Front, 1x 120mm Back, ATX, mATX, mITX, 15 dBA
    * 579650 Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H, H55, Socket-1156 2xDDR3, ATX, GbLAN, VGA, HDMI, DVI, PCI-Ex(2.0)x16
    * 593084 HIS Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5 PCI-Express 2.0, DVI, native-HDMI, DisplayPort, HDCP
    * 492762 Intel Core™ i5 Quad Processor i5-750 Quad Core, 2.66Ghz, Socket 1156, 8MB, 95W, Boxed w/fan
    * 354903 Samsung SpinPoint F1 640GB SATA2 16MB 7200RPM

    If some of the component names look weird, it is because of a literal translation from Swedish to English. If you have any questions regarding this, please leave a comment.

    ---------- Post added 2010-07-23 at 06:28 PM ----------

    Sorry for the double-posting, but a bump is in order for this.

    - Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H Motherboard
    - 500GB Samsung Spinpoint F3 HD502HJ
    - Corsair 4GB (2x2048MB) 1333MHz XMS3-10600
    - AMD Phenom2 X4 965 3,4GHz Black Edition 125W
    - Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 Pro
    - PowerColor Radeon HD5850 PCS+ 1GB COD Modern Warfare 2
    - Fractal Design Define R2, Black
    - Fractal Design Integra 500W

    Comes out at 1069 USD / 829 Euro, this will be my final setup, I had to change some stuff to be able to afford the GPU, but all in all I feel pretty confident.
    Last edited by Sentrytotem; 2010-07-22 at 07:48 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •