Page 1 of 8
... LastLast

PTR, Hunters...What Say You?

With the PTR now available for public consumption, we hunters can now test some of our new abilities...and more importantly, Focus.

My personal impression? I feel like a complete noob again. I've especially had problems with the idea of Arcane Shot becoming a focus dump. I'm just not used to the idea of being able to use an ability but actually having to show restraint! Practicing on a dummy, I found it extremely difficult to use Chimera Shot/Explosive Shot when the cooldown ended because I had used all my focus on Arcane shot. Either that or I barely used Arcane shot and became focused on watching for when the cooldown on the other shots ended. This will take some learning...

Unfortunately, I didn't get to use multishot on groups of mobs yet, as the PTR client crashed as I was flying to my destination. So what does everyone else think? It should certainly make the same old boring ICC run a little more interesting when it goes live!

Pah...Cant get in the PTR, crappy net right now due to me moving etc.

But i can imagine what you mean about the focus, like playing a new class which starts out at level 80 or so (unless you start new). Maybe should start a new hunter to get used to the changes? that way you haven't got tons of skills to worry about and when to use them.

I'm doing ok with MM. Survival is proving to be very difficult, but at the moment, I've actually taken to playing Survival without using Explosive Shot at all, and pumping the target full of Arcane Shots with LnL procs. It seems to work, but not as well as MM. I haven't had a chance to try out BM.

This is going to take a huge amount of getting used to, and I'll be eager to have addons such as Powerauras in working order once again so I can track things such as the 'Ready, Aim' stacks for instant Aimed Shot.