1. #3301
    High Overlord Wonderbred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    167
    Hi guys, tryin to help a guild member out with a macro but couldnt get it to work. I don't play a DK so sorry for not knowing the names, but he wants a macro to summon his demon thing and then sacrifice it for the heal(or something like that). Any help? Thanks

  2. #3302
    Stood in the Fire McSpriest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    In a Hole
    Posts
    459
    Quote Originally Posted by Wonderbred View Post
    Hi guys, tryin to help a guild member out with a macro but couldnt get it to work. I don't play a DK so sorry for not knowing the names, but he wants a macro to summon his demon thing and then sacrifice it for the heal(or something like that). Any help? Thanks


    I believe both those spells activate the GCD
    so

    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /castsequence reset=combat raise dead, Death Pact
    first tap summons his ghoul, second tap sacrifices it for HP

  3. #3303
    High Overlord Wonderbred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    167
    Awesome ty!

  4. #3304
    The macro works fine but If i remove the mouseover line, the macro stops working (Invalid Target/out of Range Message) http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...412193230.jpg/
    Keep in mind that [] check will default to your target and then to YOU only if in interface options you have checked the auto-self cast option. Otherwise [] will only default to your target.
    So...either turn this option on or specify in your macro for the spell to default to you:

    #showtooltip
    /cast [@mouseover,help,nodead][help,nodead][@player] Circle of Healing

    Note that [] is not needed here as you've already covered its possible two options ie. cast on friendly target [help,nodead] or cast on self [@player] (or in your case since you don't have auto self cast checked, just cast on friendly target [help,nodead])
    Also, this spell casts only on a friendly player as it's a heal. As such, [harm] conditional on it will fail. It can't cast on a hostile target but you're telling it to.
    Last edited by Sedivy; 2012-03-15 at 10:28 PM.

  5. #3305
    Epic! Tearor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Դժոխք
    Posts
    1,641
    Quote Originally Posted by Sedivy View Post

    Also, this spell casts only on a friendly player as it's a heal. As such, [harm] conditional on it will fail. It can't cast on a hostile target but you're telling it to.
    He's not telling the macro to cast CoH on a hostile target.
    [harm] only checks the current target. So yeah, [harm] alone is kind of pointless, but don't forget you can specify another target!
    The request was "if my target is hostile, I want the macro to cast CoH on me". That's why I suggested [harm,@player], that's what that does.
    No point mentioning these bats, I thought. The poor bastard will see them soon enough.

  6. #3306
    No, for spellcasts, you cannot check for the condition of the target you're currently targetting and then specify a different unit to cast the spell on. The conditions will all apply to the unit you specified in the condition.
    Saying [harm,@player] means if I am hostile, cast CoH on me. Since you can never be hostile to yourself, this condition fails.

    For help on these issues, it's always good to check against www.macroexplain.com which will tell you step by step what the condition does if you paste in the macro.

  7. #3307
    Stood in the Fire McSpriest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    In a Hole
    Posts
    459
    Quote Originally Posted by Sedivy View Post
    No, for spellcasts, you cannot check for the condition of the target you're currently targetting and then specify a different unit to cast the spell on. The conditions will all apply to the unit you specified in the condition.
    Saying [harm,@player] means if I am hostile, cast CoH on me. Since you can never be hostile to yourself, this condition fails.

    For help on these issues, it's always good to check against www.macroexplain.com which will tell you step by step what the condition does if you paste in the macro.
    this is true, but not really a limitation
    say you want to cast a heal on your target or on yourself if your target is an enemy

    Code:
    /use [@target,help][] heal
    Although this is easily shortened to just
    Code:
    /use heal
    if you have auto selfcast enabled at which point its working

    the real example of how this could work is
    Code:
    /use [@target,help][@focus,help][]heal
    which will prioritize your target over your focus over you for the heal.

    so in essence you are checking for the conditions of a different target. now you can't say check if its friendly or enemy and then cast on yourself no matter what (but why would you want to?) but you can check if that target is able to receive the heal or if you need to cast it on another target.
    EDIT: For clarification you CAN make it cast on you no matter what [@player], but thats not checking the condition of your target its ignoring your target which is different.



    getting back to the example you gave with CoH
    Code:
    /use Circle of Healing
    will heal your target or if your target is an enemy it will heal you (as long as you have auto self cast on) at which point just drag the ability off the spell book into your bars

    as to the [harm,@player] conditions that is an auto false, but specifying [@target,help][] does the intended effect (or just [] in the macro)
    Last edited by McSpriest; 2012-03-16 at 04:10 PM.

  8. #3308
    I need help finalizing the following macros:
    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /equipslot 14 [nomod,spec:2]Darkmoon Card: Tsunami; [nodmod,spec:1]Darkmoon Card: Volcano[mod: shift] Ruthless Gladiator's Badge of Dominance;
    /equipslot 13 Ruthless Gladiator's Medallion of Tenacity
    In my secondary spec, click to equip Tsunami & PvP trinket, In my primary spec, click to equip Volcano & PvP trinket, in either spec shift-click to equip Badge & PvP trinket. In my primary spec, click to equip Volcano & Pvp

    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /equip [mod:shift]Cataclysmic Gladiator's Gavel;Mastercraft Kalu'ak Fishing Pole
    /equip [spec:1,mod:shift]Ruthless Gladiator's Endgame; [spec:2,mod:shift]Cataclsymic Gladiator's Reprieve;
    Equip my fishing pole. In primary spec, equip Gavel & Endgame, in secondary spec, equip Gavel & Reprieve.

    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /cancelaura Dispersion
    /cast [mod:shift]Shackle Undead;Psychic Scream;[mod:ctrl,target=Ebon Gargoyle]Shackle Undead;
    Takes me out of Dispersion if I'm in it. Click for Scream, Shift click to Shackle my target, ctrl click to shackle Garg. I don't even know if this one works, haven't run into an UH DK today.



    Thanks.
    Last edited by kombucha; 2012-03-17 at 02:11 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by unholytestament
    You would think that after all these years people would have realized that the people at Blizzard aren't sorcerors and are hindered by technology just like the rest of us mortals.
    Quote Originally Posted by stormcall
    I will never understand why so many people who quit can't just QUIT and move on, and instead feel the need to come tell everyone about it, as if they just won the $100 million jackpot.

  9. #3309
    I turn auto self cast off first thing because of spells like Lay of Hands and Guardian Spirit and any cd. If you have it on, it will tend to default these things to you and waste your CD which I hate, unless you specifically in a macro tell it not to. If it's a regular heal

    /cast [mod:alt,@player][@mouseover,help,nodead][help,nodead][@player] Heal

    Then if it's a cd and I don't want it to default to me:

    /cast [mod:alt,@player][@mouseover,help,nodead][help,nodead] Guardian Spirit

    #showtooltip
    /equipslot 14 [nomod,spec:2]Darkmoon Card: Tsunami; [nodmod,spec:1]Darkmoon Card: Volcano[mod: shift] Ruthless Gladiator's Badge of Dominance;
    /equipslot 13 Ruthless Gladiator's Medallion of Tenacity
    For this, I think you put conditionals before you specify the slot:

    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /equipslot [mod:shift] 14 Ruthless Gladiator's Badge of Dominance; [spec:2] 14 Darkmoon Card: Tsunami; [spec:1] 14 Darkmoon Card: Volcano
    /equipslot 13 Ruthless Gladiator's Medallion of Tenacity

    This one is fine except don't put ; at the end of the line. That can bork your macro.
    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /equip [mod:shift] Cataclysmic Gladiator's Gavel; Mastercraft Kalu'ak Fishing Pole
    /equip [spec:1,mod:shift] Ruthless Gladiator's Endgame; [spec:2,mod:shift] Cataclysmic Gladiator's Reprieve

    I don't think specifying mob name is a valid conditional. It works on fellow party/raid members. Mob names not, I think.
    You could instead add after dispersion line:
    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /cancelaura Dispersion
    /target [mod:ctrl] Ebon Gargoyle
    /cast [mod:ctrl] Shackle Undead; [mod:shift] Shackle Undead; Psychic Scream
    Last edited by Sedivy; 2012-03-17 at 03:18 PM.

  10. #3310
    Thanks for the help, they work great now!
    Last edited by kombucha; 2012-03-17 at 04:29 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by unholytestament
    You would think that after all these years people would have realized that the people at Blizzard aren't sorcerors and are hindered by technology just like the rest of us mortals.
    Quote Originally Posted by stormcall
    I will never understand why so many people who quit can't just QUIT and move on, and instead feel the need to come tell everyone about it, as if they just won the $100 million jackpot.

  11. #3311
    Use this form:

    /cancelaura [mod:shift] Dispersion

    and so on.

  12. #3312
    Scatter shoot macro/ addon that uses scatter shot on the closest enemy player.

    Mouse over macro/addon that automatically sets focus to whatever humanoid target you mouse over in the mini-map's humanoid targets using hunter tracking.

    Are these possible or impossible to make and why?

  13. #3313
    First one yes:

    /targetenemy
    /cast Scatter Shot

    The second one, no. Minimap is as far as we are concerned just a pretty gif. We can't detect a little blip on it by mousing over it as an event. Hence there's nothing to react to. Focusing would require a hardware action anyway, can't be automatic, but even the target picking isn't possible over the minimap.

  14. #3314
    High Overlord
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    the Spirit Healer
    Posts
    171
    Hey guys, I know it's been asked before but I can't find the macro I'm looking for.
    I need a macro for my mage that:
    Put's focus on my target, clears my focus on right clik, and also casts random poly on the focus target.
    I didn find a few macros for it but none on them does it exactly how i want it to. And I can't make it myself :/
    Thanks for your time.

  15. #3315
    /focus target
    /clearfocus [btn:2]
    /cast [@focustarget,harm] Polymorph

    Your wording is somewhat ambiguous so I'm not sure if you meant polymorph on the current target of your focus or polymorph on the focus itself. I put on target of the focus but if that isn't what you meant, clarify.

  16. #3316
    Quote Originally Posted by Sedivy View Post
    First one yes:

    /targetenemy
    /cast Scatter Shot

    The second one, no. Minimap is as far as we are concerned just a pretty gif. We can't detect a little blip on it by mousing over it as an event. Hence there's nothing to react to. Focusing would require a hardware action anyway, can't be automatic, but even the target picking isn't possible over the minimap.
    With /targetenemy you will have to add player at the end or it is completely useless.
    And something to first clear your current target would be needed. Or you would just try to scatter your current target.

    And to clarify the first one this is what I do:

    Read :x: dot in the minimap
    /target "name" /focus
    ^^ this is it possible to do this with a mouse over in an addon? Or am I forced to do it myself?

  17. #3317
    High Overlord
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    the Spirit Healer
    Posts
    171
    Quote Originally Posted by Sedivy View Post
    /focus target
    /clearfocus [btn:2]
    /cast [@focustarget,harm] Polymorph

    Your wording is somewhat ambiguous so I'm not sure if you meant polymorph on the current target of your focus or polymorph on the focus itself. I put on target of the focus but if that isn't what you meant, clarify.
    this is not exactly how i want it to work but something like that. I want it to focus my target and also to poly it at the same time. and then i want it to poly my focus target without me changing targets all the time for it.

    Edit: took sometime but i figured it out
    #showtooltip
    /clearfocus [btn:2]
    /focus [target=focus,noexists]
    /run SetRaidTarget("focus",0);
    /run SetRaidTarget("focus",5);
    /castrandom [target=focus]Polymorph, Polymorph(Pig), Polymorph(Rabbit), Polymorph(Turtle), Polymorph(Black Cat)

    i will leave it here if someone else needs it.
    Last edited by nethertwist; 2012-03-18 at 10:37 PM.

  18. #3318
    I'm having an issue with this macro, but I don't think it's wrong at all

    /cast [mod:shift,target=mouseover]Heal;[target=mouseover]Greater Heal
    I figure this is a self explanatory macro. The problem is the shift modifier won't cast! The tooltip changes and everything. If I change the modifier to alt, the macro works perfectly. What's wrong with shift?
    ~There's only two good parts in a dubstep song. The first is when it's not wubbing, the second is when it ends.~

  19. #3319
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyzen View Post
    I'm having an issue with this macro, but I don't think it's wrong at all



    I figure this is a self explanatory macro. The problem is the shift modifier won't cast! The tooltip changes and everything. If I change the modifier to alt, the macro works perfectly. What's wrong with shift?
    You probably have another action button bound to that keybind combo. If you have another keybind that is shift+{your_macro_keybind} elsewhere, then the game will try press that button instead of using your macro when holding shift.

  20. #3320
    Quote Originally Posted by Sakpoth View Post
    You probably have another action button bound to that keybind combo. If you have another keybind that is shift+{your_macro_keybind} elsewhere, then the game will try press that button instead of using your macro when holding shift.
    Thanks for your answer, I had thought of it earlier too, and it does indeed cause an issue, but it wasn't what messed this one up. I managed to fix this specific one using @mouseover instead of target=mouseover. Not sure why it wouldn't work, but switching to @mouseover made it function so no complaints here.
    ~There's only two good parts in a dubstep song. The first is when it's not wubbing, the second is when it ends.~

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •