1. #3861
    So since I've started heroic stuff in MoP I've had to go back to a Holy/Prot setup on my pally, but this makes dailies eye gougingly disgusting to do as Prot, so I'm going to have to spec between Prot and Ret several times.

    I'm trying to set up macros for all the abilities that change based on what spec I am (not dual spec, actual talent spec) for some I assume this would be very easy, like Templars Verdict and Shield of the Righteous as they're mutually exclusive, but other binds aren't quite as simple and I'd like to know if its possible to do this or if I'm just going to have to swap my buttons around when I spec? Thanks

  2. #3862
    High Overlord madorable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Narnia, in your wardrobe watching you sleep
    Posts
    150
    Quote Originally Posted by Xs View Post
    So since I've started heroic stuff in MoP I've had to go back to a Holy/Prot setup on my pally, but this makes dailies eye gougingly disgusting to do as Prot, so I'm going to have to spec between Prot and Ret several times.

    I'm trying to set up macros for all the abilities that change based on what spec I am (not dual spec, actual talent spec) for some I assume this would be very easy, like Templars Verdict and Shield of the Righteous as they're mutually exclusive, but other binds aren't quite as simple and I'd like to know if its possible to do this or if I'm just going to have to swap my buttons around when I spec? Thanks
    Only way to macro it the way you want would be using
    Code:
    /cast protspell
    /cast retspell
    Which would completely mess up tooltips when in ret.

    Basically, it can't be done properly through macros as far as I'm aware.
    Might be better of using addons for that, quick google search came up with this action bar saver

  3. #3863
    Quote Originally Posted by madorable View Post
    Only way to macro it the way you want would be using
    Code:
    /cast protspell
    /cast retspell
    Which would completely mess up tooltips when in ret.

    Basically, it can't be done properly through macros as far as I'm aware.
    Might be better of using addons for that, quick google search came up with this action bar saver
    Yeah I thought about just using a standard /cast, I'm able to use the above mentioned macro used for the talent trees to keep the tooltips working for normal abilities but I'll give that mod a go for the more advanced stuff once I've got a moment to tinker with it

  4. #3864
    Keyboard Turner
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    5
    I've been trying to make a macro with no luck. I want to use a mouseover macro with a modifier to cast beacon of light when holding shift and sacred shield when just hitting the macro. I currently use a macro like this for my spells. Any help would be appreciated, ty

    #showtooltip Sacred Shield
    /cast [target=mouseover,exists] Sacred Shield; Sacred Shield

  5. #3865
    High Overlord madorable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Narnia, in your wardrobe watching you sleep
    Posts
    150
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderik View Post
    I've been trying to make a macro with no luck. I want to use a mouseover macro with a modifier to cast beacon of light when holding shift and sacred shield when just hitting the macro. I currently use a macro like this for my spells. Any help would be appreciated, ty
    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /cast [@mouseover,mod:shift]Beacon of light; [@mouseover]Sacred Shield

  6. #3866
    Keyboard Turner
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    5
    Thanks you very much

  7. #3867
    i'm looking for a macro that does the following:
    it should target a party member (e.g. party member 1), BUT only if i'm in an arena.

    i've thought of something like
    /target [arena] party1
    but i'm not sure if it's even working, as i've never heard of "[arena]".

    a friend of mine had an idea to do the check through the existance of the arenaenemyframes, which would look like
    /target [@arena1, exists] party1
    but again, i'm not sure if this works as afaik party1 belongs inside the brackets.


    edit:
    just tested
    /target party1
    and at least this part works, so "[@arena1, exists]" in this conjunction is left to be answered
    Last edited by Flaim; 2012-10-08 at 09:54 PM.

  8. #3868
    I am Murloc! Volitar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Victory Road.
    Posts
    5,075
    can someone help me macro a macro to cast a dot on a Celestial Protector without targeting them? I'm just trying to use 1 gcd to proc Twist of Fate I'm not concerned with the actual damage on them we have melee killing them.

    /casttarget=Celestial Protector Shadow Word: Pain is what I have right now and it isn't working.

    Any help would be awesome!

  9. #3869
    To cast something on someone they need a valid unitid, such as target/focus/mouseover/party/arena/etc. You can achieve what you want in several different ways.

    Make it a focus:
    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /clearfocus
    /focus Celestial Protector
    /use [@focus,harm][] Shadow Word:Pain
    On mouseover:
    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /use [@mouseover,harm][] Shadow Word: Pain
    Quick target swap:
    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /tar Celestial Protector
    /use Shadow Word: Pain
    /targetlasttarget

  10. #3870
    The Patient Jake5467's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    272
    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /use blood presence
    /use unholy presence
    How do I make this macro show the icon of the presence I'm NOT in? Thanks!

  11. #3871
    Quote Originally Posted by Jake5467 View Post
    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /use blood presence
    /use unholy presence
    How do I make this macro show the icon of the presence I'm NOT in? Thanks!
    Maybe this is what you're looking for?

    #showtooltip
    /castsequence blood presence, unholy presence
    Last edited by Kojootti; 2012-10-09 at 03:42 PM.

  12. #3872
    Herald of the Titans Jigain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,718
    Quote Originally Posted by Flaim View Post
    i'm looking for a macro that does the following:
    it should target a party member (e.g. party member 1), BUT only if i'm in an arena.

    i've thought of something like
    /target [arena] party1
    but i'm not sure if it's even working, as i've never heard of "[arena]".

    a friend of mine had an idea to do the check through the existance of the arenaenemyframes, which would look like
    /target [@arena1, exists] party1
    but again, i'm not sure if this works as afaik party1 belongs inside the brackets.


    edit:
    just tested
    /target party1
    and at least this part works, so "[@arena1, exists]" in this conjunction is left to be answered
    Does stopmacro still work? If so, this might be worth testing:

    Code:
    /stopmacro [@arena1, noexists]
    /target party1
    This is just off the top of my head from the macros I used to make ages ago, so don't presume it works until you try it. :P

  13. #3873
    Quote Originally Posted by Jigain View Post
    Does stopmacro still work? If so, this might be worth testing:

    Code:
    /stopmacro [@arena1, noexists]
    /target party1
    This is just off the top of my head from the macros I used to make ages ago, so don't presume it works until you try it. :P
    thx, gonna try it

  14. #3874
    Quote Originally Posted by madorable View Post
    Only way to macro it the way you want would be using
    Code:
    /cast protspell
    /cast retspell
    Which would completely mess up tooltips when in ret.

    Basically, it can't be done properly through macros as far as I'm aware.
    Might be better of using addons for that, quick google search came up with this action bar saver
    You can just do this

    #showtooltip
    /cast protspell
    /cast retspell

    My mage shield macro is

    #showtooltip
    /cast Temporal Shield
    /cast Ice Barrier

    Every time I respec to either the icon changes so works perfectly fine.

  15. #3875
    High Overlord madorable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Narnia, in your wardrobe watching you sleep
    Posts
    150
    Quote Originally Posted by iNexus View Post
    Every time I respec to either the icon changes so works perfectly fine.
    It does? I didn't try it myself, I just assumed it would show up as a red ? since it wouldn't know the spell.
    Fair enough.

  16. #3876
    Quote Originally Posted by Jigain View Post
    Does stopmacro still work? If so, this might be worth testing:

    Code:
    /stopmacro [@arena1, noexists]
    /target party1
    This is just off the top of my head from the macros I used to make ages ago, so don't presume it works until you try it. :P
    ok, it works.
    now how to modify it that i can put in some other stuff when i'm not in an arena? :>

  17. #3877

    Mage food and teleport in 1 button(s)

    Okay, I've been trying to find this one, I wonder why it's not in the mage-macro section yet so maybe a mod might want to copy the answer there aswell.

    The macro I'm looking for is all about conjured food, all macro's I find are greatly outdated or not what I'm after.
    My idea is as follows yet my macro skills are none existent

    number and icon of food is in the tooltip.
    button 1 makes a stack of food
    button 1 + shift makes a table
    right button eats either of the foods

    With this macro I think 3 icon slots can be saved, anyone?
    greatly appreciated for your time and effort to make this one work

    - Oh, and if possible, the drop-down menu for a portal and teleport in a single key - modifier shift for a group port?
    Now that MoP is out I noticed that the new buttons aren't in the drop-down yet.
    Last edited by Aqalicious; 2012-10-10 at 07:12 PM. Reason: teleport idea

  18. #3878
    Assuming level 90. If not, just replace the food name.

    Code:
    #showtooltip Conjured Mana Buns
    /use [button:2] Conjured Mana Buns
    /cast [mod] Conjure Refreshment Table; Conjure Refreshment

    Let me know if something doesn't function as expected.

  19. #3879
    Works for conjuring and a table.
    Can't eat it. - can actually eat the mana buns but can't use either stack (table/single)

    mage food at 90 is actually in 2 forms, there's the Mana Buns from the table and Mana Pudding from a single conjure.
    Both have the same specific regens. 300/150k hp/mana

    Thanks for the fast reply.
    Last edited by Aqalicious; 2012-10-10 at 07:48 PM.

  20. #3880
    Quote Originally Posted by Aqalicious View Post
    Works for conjuring and a table.
    Can't eat it. - can actually eat the mana buns but can't use either stack (table/single)

    mage food at 90 is actually in 2 forms, there's the Mana Buns from the table and Mana Pudding from a single conjure.
    Both have the same specific regens. 300/150k hp/mana

    Thanks for the fast reply.
    Ah. My Mage is still 85.

    This is a ghetto version:

    Code:
    #showtooltip [mod] Conjured Mana Buns; Conjured Mana Pudding
    /use [mod,button:2] Conjured Mana Buns; [button:2] Conjured Mana Pudding
    /cast [mod] Conjure Refreshment Table; Conjure Refreshment
    Mod for table and table food, no mod for single conjure and food. Left to make, right to eat.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •