1. #4081
    Quote Originally Posted by Loreld View Post
    Hey guys,

    I'm looking for a rather simple (in my head at least) macro, but since I know close to nothing on how to do them I was wondering if you all could help me.

    I want a Lynx Rush/ A Murder of Crows macro where depending on the talent I have the tooltip shows it and uses it. I can just go to my spellbook and swap, but I was wondering if there's anyway to do with a macro.


    Thank you.
    From a few pages back:

    Quote Originally Posted by Sakpoth View Post
    Code:
    /use Holy Prism
    /use Light's Hammer
    /use Execution Sentence
    /run local G=GetSpellInfo SetMacroSpell("t90", G"Holy Prism" or G"Light's Hammer" or "Execution Sentence")
    You'll have to hit the macro once after changing talents for the macro icon to change.

    Alternative methods:
    http://us.battle.net/wow/en/forum/topic/6147396102#2
    http://www.curse.com/addons/wow/talentmacros
    http://www.curse.com/addons/wow/talentspellmacro
    Just plug your stuff in. Replace t90 in the macro with the name of your macro too.

  2. #4082
    Wow, thanks! I really appreciate it!

  3. #4083
    Keyboard Turner
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Thelothian View Post
    Hello guys
    a simple question. I'm trying to create a macro to merge some spells because I have some "physiological" difficulties with the keyboard (nothing serious but enough annoying to create me problems during the raids). The rotation of the moonkin is divided into two phases. My problem is during the first part. Too many buttons to press.
    Briefly... I would like to create a macro with a simple sequence, but within this sequence there's a spell with a cooldown (3 mins). So, if I use the macro when this spell is ready, everything works. But if the spell is on cooldown, the macro stops and doesn't continue.
    Question: is there a way (via scripts / variables) to ensure that the macro continues, however, even if a particular spell is not ready (cd)?
    It could be fine use the command /click ActionBotton# only for this spell or the macro execute only this command without continue with /castsequence?
    Any ideas or suggestions about this are welcome.
    Thank you.
    Here's an example of how I do this...

    /castsequence reset=6 Shadow Form, x
    /castsequence Mind Blast, Mind Flay, Mind Flay, Mind Flay

    So, in this example, on the first keypress it would cast Shadow Form. on the next keypress, it would try to cast a spell called x ... which, of course is invalid. So, the sequencer gets "stuck" on this fake spell, and doesn't trigger the "this macro has already cast one spell" thing.
    So, on the next keypress, it tries to cast x, then moves on to cast Mind Blast. (which does exists, so it works).
    On the next keypress, it casts Mind Flay. then Mind Flay. then Mind Flay again.

    So, after that second Castseqence macro runs out of spells, the first castsequence is still stuck on the x, and still doesn't do anything. The second castsequence line resets to Mind Blast... and it just keeps going. basically, you get the following sequence:

    SF, MB, MF, MF, MF, MB, MF, MF, MF, MB, MF, MF, MF, MB...

    To reset this, you have to NOT PRESS THIS BUTTON for 6 seconds. after 6 seconds on not pressing the button the first castsequence line resets and is again willing to cast Shadow Form.

    to make it clear, this will NOT keep track of the cooldown and reuse the ability after 3 minutes... it would just use it ONCE, and then the macro would have to be reset (via 6 seconds of not using it)...

    the reset command can also use combat ends or change of target to reset... You would probably want to use the combat flag to reset the sequence... but then you run the risk of the whole macro not working again if you reset the macro before the spell actually comes off cooldown...

    alas, nothing's perfect for this.
    Last edited by trimbleepic; 2012-11-22 at 12:07 AM.

  4. #4084
    Quote Originally Posted by trimbleepic View Post
    /castsequence reset=6 Shadow Form, x
    /cast Mind Blast, Mind Flay, Mind Flay, Mind Flay
    This macro wouldn't work at all unless everything I know about macros is wrong.

  5. #4085
    High Overlord madorable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Narnia, in your wardrobe watching you sleep
    Posts
    149
    Quote Originally Posted by Squirl View Post
    This macro wouldn't work at all unless everything I know about macros is wrong.
    Just tried it on my priest, and it does not work.
    It skips the first cast sequence completely and just starts using mind blast right away.

    Edit, well wad'ya know, it actually does work, didn't notice he wrote "shadow form" instead of "shadowform"
    Last edited by madorable; 2012-11-22 at 12:20 PM.

  6. #4086
    Field Marshal Nickghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    66
    Hi, I am trying to make the following macro for my priest:
    Whenever I cast flash heal I want my macro to cast inner focus before the heal. The problem is, when i use:
    /cast inner focus
    /cast flash heal
    then I am unable to cast flash heal when inner focus is on cooldown. Can anyone help me?

    Thanks

  7. #4087
    Pandaren Monk Tearor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Դժոխք
    Posts
    1,761
    Quote Originally Posted by Nickghost View Post
    Hi, I am trying to make the following macro for my priest:
    Whenever I cast flash heal I want my macro to cast inner focus before the heal. The problem is, when i use:
    /cast inner focus
    /cast flash heal
    then I am unable to cast flash heal when inner focus is on cooldown. Can anyone help me?

    Thanks
    Unfortunately, not really - the macro is designed not to be able to detect if inner focus is on cooldown.
    Closest you can get is with a modifier (control in this example), normal press uses flash heal, ctrl+press uses inner focus then flash heal.

    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /cast [mod:ctrl] Inner Focus
    /cast Flash Heal
    No point mentioning these bats, I thought. The poor bastard will see them soon enough.

  8. #4088
    Hey all! Is it possible to make a @mouseover macro with modifiers in it?

    Mouseover click = skill1
    Mouseover shift click = skill2

  9. #4089
    Pandaren Monk Tearor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Դժոխք
    Posts
    1,761
    Quote Originally Posted by Galbrei View Post
    Hey all! Is it possible to make a @mouseover macro with modifiers in it?

    Mouseover click = skill1
    Mouseover shift click = skill2
    Code:
    /cast [@mouseover, mod:shift] Skill2; [@mouseover] Skill1
    ideally you'd put some more options in there, to cover cases like "I don't have a mouseover" / "SkillX is a healing spell but I'm mouseovering an enemy" and so on.
    If you specify more exactly what the macro si supposed to do we can help you out.
    No point mentioning these bats, I thought. The poor bastard will see them soon enough.

  10. #4090
    Quote Originally Posted by Tearor View Post
    Unfortunately, not really - the macro is designed not to be able to detect if inner focus is on cooldown.
    Closest you can get is with a modifier (control in this example), normal press uses flash heal, ctrl+press uses inner focus then flash heal.

    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /cast [mod:ctrl] Inner Focus
    /cast Flash Heal
    Thanks for this I had the same question

  11. #4091
    Quote Originally Posted by Tearor View Post
    Code:
    /cast [@mouseover, mod:shift] Skill2; [@mouseover] Skill1
    ideally you'd put some more options in there, to cover cases like "I don't have a mouseover" / "SkillX is a healing spell but I'm mouseovering an enemy" and so on.
    If you specify more exactly what the macro si supposed to do we can help you out.
    It's not ideal to have macros that cover all the cases. The player, a human being, doesn't always want this, especially when modifiers come in (with different spells). When you press shift you know what you are casting and what target you need.
    I don't support the automating of actions (e.g. castsequence, cast1 when enemy or cast2 when friend) at all, why should I play the game when the game plays for me? But I won't blame on people who like and use these kind of macros.

    This may be a PvE issue, I might be wrong but I've never heard of a PvP player using these kind of macros.

  12. #4092
    Quote Originally Posted by Nickghost View Post
    Hi, I am trying to make the following macro for my priest:
    Whenever I cast flash heal I want my macro to cast inner focus before the heal. The problem is, when i use:
    /cast inner focus
    /cast flash heal
    then I am unable to cast flash heal when inner focus is on cooldown. Can anyone help me?

    Thanks
    Code:
    #showtooltip Flash Heal
    /use [combat] Inner Focus
    /cast [target=mouseover, help, nodead][target=target, help, nodead][target=player] Flash Heal

  13. #4093
    Quote Originally Posted by sshika View Post
    It's not ideal to have macros that cover all the cases. The player, a human being, doesn't always want this, especially when modifiers come in (with different spells). When you press shift you know what you are casting and what target you need.
    I don't support the automating of actions (e.g. castsequence, cast1 when enemy or cast2 when friend) at all, why should I play the game when the game plays for me? But I won't blame on people who like and use these kind of macros.

    This may be a PvE issue, I might be wrong but I've never heard of a PvP player using these kind of macros.
    You can save a lot of keybinds by doubling up harm (offensive spell) and help (healing spell) abilities on one hotkey. This is more important for certain classes (hybrids and healers that have a million abilities) and is certainly not considered automation.

    Castsequence is limited enough that it doesn't really come into play most of the time. You can't automate anymore to the level, say, Hunters could in Wrath. One button, nearly optimal rotation made Naxx even more boring.

  14. #4094
    xD Another request.

    Any chance it's possible for a macro to use Chi Wave on myself, without removing my target or casting it on my target, and when I right click, having it act like normal? (So if I'm targeting someone else and right click, it uses it on them)

  15. #4095
    Quote Originally Posted by Myzou View Post
    xD Another request.

    Any chance it's possible for a macro to use Chi Wave on myself, without removing my target or casting it on my target, and when I right click, having it act like normal? (So if I'm targeting someone else and right click, it uses it on them)
    Code:
    /cast [button:2][@player] Chi Wave
    I advise you start binding and stop clicking, but that macro should work as described: r-click for normal use; else cast on self.

  16. #4096
    Quote Originally Posted by Squirl View Post
    Code:
    /cast [button:2][@player] Chi Wave
    I advise you start binding and stop clicking, but that macro should work as described: r-click for normal use; else cast on self.
    Yeah aside from the fact that clicking buttons as a healer is excruciatingly bad, that's not really an advisable way to utilize chi wave. Since it will heal 4 times regardless of whether you start it on a friend or foe, its purpose in your arsensal is a set-and-forget smart heal. I advise, whether you're a healer tank or dps, you look into keybindings and some good raid frames.

  17. #4097
    Does any 1 know of a macro for a feral druid that will combined thrash an swipe to 1 keybind. In other words with 1 click it cast swipe, an using a mob for shift to cast thrash
    Last edited by Retroh; 2012-11-24 at 10:17 PM.

  18. #4098
    Need a macro for several fly mounts (Onyxia, Cloud Serpent, and some more i might feel like using), and also for some ground mounts (Huntsman Horse, Raven Lord, etc).

    Can anyone help me?

    Thanks!
    Quote Originally Posted by Osmeric View Post
    WoW is like a bad fanfic that takes years to read.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bozzna View Post
    Next expansion Thrall makes a baby with Nozdormu which can travel back in time and is a Mage/Shaman/Priest hybrid and gets kidnapped by Kael'thas who got ressurected by a horse using Nefarian's lightning machine.

  19. #4099
    High Overlord madorable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Narnia, in your wardrobe watching you sleep
    Posts
    149
    Quote Originally Posted by r0cki View Post
    Need a macro for several fly mounts (Onyxia, Cloud Serpent, and some more i might feel like using), and also for some ground mounts (Huntsman Horse, Raven Lord, etc).

    Can anyone help me?

    Thanks!
    A bit more information would be nice.
    Does it need to select a random mount, do you want a different modifier for different mounts, etc.

  20. #4100
    Modifier, how so? I just want a macro to cicle through some of my fly mounts, in this case: Onyxia, Cloud Serpent, etc. The same for ground mounts...
    Quote Originally Posted by Osmeric View Post
    WoW is like a bad fanfic that takes years to read.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bozzna View Post
    Next expansion Thrall makes a baby with Nozdormu which can travel back in time and is a Mage/Shaman/Priest hybrid and gets kidnapped by Kael'thas who got ressurected by a horse using Nefarian's lightning machine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •