1. #4381
    Quote Originally Posted by CodeConqueror View Post
    Correct me if I'm wrong but that last line seems pointless. When you just place /cast commands for all the spells, if you're not specc'ed into it then it will skip it and move to the next one. I use that all the time. It should only show the tooltip for items/spells that you have.

    Is that last line doing something that I'm not realizing?
    The icon tends to not update properly (since the client does some caching on macro icons and won't properly realize you've respecced until you next load the icon, I believe). The last line forces it to update (by using SetMacroSpell on the first spell it can match in your spellbook, as GetSpellInfo with names only works for spells in your spellbook).
    UI & AddOns expert | Interface & Macros moderator - My work

  2. #4382
    i searched on net but couldn't find any macro for spamming slam/heroic strike when overpower when not avalible. Can some1 help me about it?

  3. #4383
    Field Marshal
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    84
    Quote Originally Posted by Treeston View Post
    The last line forces it to update (by using SetMacroSpell on the first spell it can match in your spellbook, as GetSpellInfo with names only works for spells in your spellbook).
    Yup, that's why it's there. As a note, if you hate seeing the ? icon there and no tooltip, but don't want to waste the cd, get on your flying mount up in the air and press the macro to get it to update.

  4. #4384
    Quote Originally Posted by Treeston View Post
    The icon tends to not update properly (since the client does some caching on macro icons and won't properly realize you've respecced until you next load the icon, I believe). The last line forces it to update (by using SetMacroSpell on the first spell it can match in your spellbook, as GetSpellInfo with names only works for spells in your spellbook).
    I see. Nice job. Thanks.

    Quote Originally Posted by Thunderdust View Post
    i searched on net but couldn't find any macro for spamming slam/heroic strike when overpower when not avalible. Can some1 help me about it?
    Can't be done. No macro can detect if an ability is available/off cooldown and then cast something else if it's not. The only time you can do that is if it's an ability you don't have in the spec you're in, that can be skipped and move on to the next line in the macro. What you're looking for is something that is considered the macro playing for you and Blizzard will never allow for that. Things like that just make it so you can spam 1 button to play and it makes botter's lives easier.

    Any time someone wants a macro to cast X unless Y then cast Z where Y is something not under your control (on cooldown or out of range), the solution is always: pay more attention and play better. Sounds douchey (is that even a word?), I know, but it's the truth.

  5. #4385
    Been trying to make some simple targeting macros and I managed to get them working but they seem to be inverted (or I'm just really daft)

    I'm trying to target myself if I'm holding control and otherwise party member 1.
    /target [nomod] [@player]
    /target [mod:ctrl] [@party1]
    this works, but isnt it supposed to be the other way around? mod:ctrl should fire when I'm holding control, which it isnt.

  6. #4386
    Quote Originally Posted by CodeConqueror View Post
    I see. Nice job. Thanks.



    Can't be done. No macro can detect if an ability is available/off cooldown and then cast something else if it's not. The only time you can do that is if it's an ability you don't have in the spec you're in, that can be skipped and move on to the next line in the macro. What you're looking for is something that is considered the macro playing for you and Blizzard will never allow for that. Things like that just make it so you can spam 1 button to play and it makes botter's lives easier.

    Any time someone wants a macro to cast X unless Y then cast Z where Y is something not under your control (on cooldown or out of range), the solution is always: pay more attention and play better. Sounds douchey (is that even a word?), I know, but it's the truth.
    Thanks. I didn't know that. My fingers are short sometimes its a pain to reach all the buttons i asked macro because of that.

  7. #4387
    Dreadlord ItsRedd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    853
    Quote Originally Posted by madorable View Post
    Text n stuff
    Completely forgot I posted here. Thank you very much for the macros! I'll put them to the test when I get home from work.

    Thanks a million! Will make my life much easier.

  8. #4388
    just so you know, while it's not exactly the same thing, castrandom will attempt to cast only what is available, therefore you could macro

    /cast superawesomeability
    /castrandom Amazing trinket

    and not get spammed with "item not ready" messages

    so I believe you could do something like
    /castrandom overpower
    /stopcast
    /cast slam
    /cast heroic strike

    iirc macros aren't read in any particular order unless there's a stopcast command in there, so conceivably this would attempt to cast overpower, if it wasn't available then the macro would move on to the second two, I need to check this out in game though, I may be wrong.
    Last edited by Jagscorpion; 2013-02-28 at 10:28 AM.

  9. #4389
    Quote Originally Posted by Girugamesh View Post
    Been trying to make some simple targeting macros and I managed to get them working but they seem to be inverted (or I'm just really daft)

    I'm trying to target myself if I'm holding control and otherwise party member 1.


    this works, but isnt it supposed to be the other way around? mod:ctrl should fire when I'm holding control, which it isnt.
    Multiple brackets are separate conditionals.
    Your code does:
    Code:
    1a. If no modifier is held, do /target.
    1b. Otherwise, do /target player.
    2a. If ctrl is held, do /target.
    2b. Otherwise, do /target party1.
    Your code should look like this:
    Code:
    /target [mod:ctrl,@party1][@player]
    UI & AddOns expert | Interface & Macros moderator - My work

  10. #4390
    Quote Originally Posted by Sonnillon View Post
    I'm looking for a macro that equips a specific weapon.

    The usual macro
    Code:
    /equip [Weapon Name Here]
    will equip the weapon in your inventory, which is clear. But it gets bit complicated when I have 2 weapons with the same name inventory. Usually when the equip macro runs it will take the "other" weapon, not the one it suppose to.

    How can I fix it, so if you run the macro it will take the correct item from inventory.

    Code:
    /equip [Weapon 1]
    /use [Skill 1]
    Code:
    /equip [Weapon 2]
    /use [Skill 2]
    Weapon 1 and Weapon 2 are same items, with different reforges/enchants and it is really important that the correct weapon gets chosen for the skill I'm using.

    Can someone pls give me some ideas on how should I make the macro work correctly?
    MAke a equip set with the weapon then use the equip set in the macro.

  11. #4391

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by Treeston View Post
    Multiple brackets are separate conditionals.
    Your code does:
    Code:
    1a. If no modifier is held, do /target.
    1b. Otherwise, do /target player.
    2a. If ctrl is held, do /target.
    2b. Otherwise, do /target party1.
    Your code should look like this:
    Code:
    /target [mod:ctrl,@party1][@player]
    Thanks! Way prettier now, you learn something new every day

  12. #4392
    So i got a question:
    Why is this macro not working for me?

    /cast [mod:ctrl, @arena1] Entangling Roots; [mod:shift, @arena1] Hibernate; [nomod, @arena1] Cyclone

    It works fine without modifiers (i got it bound to num 7 since i got a naga) but whenever i hold down a modifier and press num 7 the icon changes to ? for a millisecond and nothing happens.
    Last edited by Tóny; 2013-02-28 at 11:34 AM.

  13. #4393
    I have a question too. I'm trying to get a macro to use indoors in case of a ganking attempt: shadowmeld which takes me out of combat +potion of deepholm
    i've tried with:
    #showtooltip
    /cast Shadowmeld
    /use potion of deepholm

    which just shadowmelds me and doesn't use the potion. It would be awesome to make it work and possibly add an indoor/outdoor line to it so i can use my flight form in case i can.
    Thanks!

  14. #4394
    Is it possible to have a macro that if I focus a mob to cast a spell on the mob but, if I focus another player that I can assist that player and cast a spell?

    Thanks!

  15. #4395
    Quote Originally Posted by rhettmatic View Post
    Is it possible to have a macro that if I focus a mob to cast a spell on the mob but, if I focus another player that I can assist that player and cast a spell?

    Thanks!
    Yes. As an example:

    Code:
    /cast [@focus,harm] Shadow Word: Pain; [@focus,help] Renew

    ... will cast SW:P on a enemy focus and Renew on a friendly focus.

    ---------- Post added 2013-02-28 at 01:55 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Naaruu View Post
    I have a question too. I'm trying to get a macro to use indoors in case of a ganking attempt: shadowmeld which takes me out of combat +potion of deepholm
    i've tried with:
    #showtooltip
    /cast Shadowmeld
    /use potion of deepholm

    which just shadowmelds me and doesn't use the potion. It would be awesome to make it work and possibly add an indoor/outdoor line to it so i can use my flight form in case i can.
    Thanks!
    That potion and flight form can't be used in combat. Since Shadowmeld doesn't instantly drop combat, the macro needs to be spammable. Try this:

    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /use [combat] !Shadowmeld; [flyable] !Swift Flight Form; Potion of Deepholm

  16. #4396
    Quote Originally Posted by Squirl View Post
    Yes. As an example:

    Code:
    /cast [@focus,harm] Shadow Word: Pain; [@focus,help] Renew

    ... will cast SW:P on a enemy focus and Renew on a friendly focus.

    ---------- Post added 2013-02-28 at 01:55 PM ----------



    That potion and flight form can't be used in combat. Since Shadowmeld doesn't instantly drop combat, the macro needs to be spammable. Try this:

    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /use [combat] !Shadowmeld; [flyable] !Swift Flight Form; Potion of Deepholm
    Also, I believe Shadowmeld triggers the GCD so it will never go past that.

    You could also do the following. It makes you press the button twice, but it would work since you have to use the potion after Shadowmeld:

    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /castsequence Shadowmeld; Potion of Deepholm

  17. #4397
    Herald of the Titans Emfg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,697
    Quote Originally Posted by CodeConqueror View Post
    Also, I believe Shadowmeld triggers the GCD so it will never go past that.

    You could also do the following. It makes you press the button twice, but it would work since you have to use the potion after Shadowmeld:

    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /castsequence Shadowmeld; Potion of Deepholm
    Shadowmeld doesn't trigger the GCD and castsequence macros are really bad. Don't use them.

    Squirl's macro was correct, though I have no idea dafuq Potion of Deepholm does

  18. #4398
    Quote Originally Posted by Terahertz View Post
    Shadowmeld doesn't trigger the GCD and castsequence macros are really bad. Don't use them.

    Squirl's macro was correct, though I have no idea dafuq Potion of Deepholm does
    Cast sequences work just fine if you set them up thoughtfully and use intelligent reset triggers. Saying something is "really bad. Don't use them." without any reasoning or information makes the statement pointless.

    Potion of Deepholme teleports you to Deepholme, its off the GCD like any other potion.
    Last edited by CodeConqueror; 2013-03-01 at 12:11 AM.

  19. #4399
    Field Marshal renanwar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    80
    Can anyone help me with this macro...

    I want one that promote a guild rank to another rank directly.
    Ex: Promote rank "Test" to rank "Test 2"
    Death Knight Player Since Wrath of the Lich King Release =)

  20. #4400
    Hi guys! I'm a long time user of Opie. I've recently started playing my boomchicken, and fallen in love with the shapeshifting wheel. The custom macro it comes with is:

    #rkrequire [Swift Flight Form (Shapeshift)] / [Flight Form (Shapeshift)] / [Aquatic Form (Shapeshift)] / [Travel Form (Shapeshift)]
    /cancelform [noflyable]
    /cast [flyable,outdoors,nocombat,noswimming,nomod][flying] [Swift Flight Form (Shapeshift)] / [Flight Form (Shapeshift)]; [swimming] [Aquatic Form (Shapeshift)]; [nocombat,outdoors,nomod:alt] [Green Shado-Pan Riding Tiger]; [outdoors] [Travel Form (Shapeshift)]


    What can I add for it to keep me in moonkin form while ground mounting? If I mount up myself, not using this macro I stay in form. Using it kicks me out and it gets kind of annoying while leveling. Also, sorry I don't know how to do the fancy code thing you guys are doing to keep things clean.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •