1. #4661
    Stood in the Fire Edx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Flanders, Belgium
    Posts
    490
    Is there a way to cast spells by ID in macros? I have this macro on my mage:
    Code:
    /use 14
    /cast Frozen Orb
    But it bugs out because it's confusing the spell Frozen Orb with the item Frozen Orb, so it uses the trinket without casting Orb.

  2. #4662
    Quote Originally Posted by Edx View Post
    Is there a way to cast spells by ID in macros? I have this macro on my mage
    But it bugs out because it's confusing the spell Frozen Orb with the item Frozen Orb, so it uses the trinket without casting Orb.
    Try this:

    Code:
    #showtooltip Frozen Orb()
    /use 14
    /use Frozen Orb()

    Gershuun @ Borean Tundra US - Interface & Macros Moderator

  3. #4663
    Stood in the Fire Edx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Flanders, Belgium
    Posts
    490
    Quote Originally Posted by lawomous View Post
    Try this:

    Code:
    #showtooltip Frozen Orb()
    /use 14
    /use Frozen Orb()
    That works, thank you!

  4. #4664
    Quote Originally Posted by lawomous View Post
    Try this:

    Code:
    #showtooltip Frozen Orb()
    /use 14
    /use Frozen Orb()
    But it's still an interesting question: "Is there a way to cast spells by ID in macros?"

  5. #4665
    Does anyone know if it's possible to make a macro that only casts Healing Touch if Predatory Swiftness is up? I have a Weak Aura to track the Predatory Swiftness buff, but sometimes I like to hold my Healing Touch casts because I'm using all my GCD's to get more important things up, and then I'll cast Healing Touch right as Predatory Swiftness wears off and pop out of Cat form which is really annoying.

  6. #4666
    Code:
    /run if InCombatLockdown() then SetCVar("autounshift",0) end
    /use [@player,mod:shift][@target,help][]Healing Touch
    /console autounshift 1

    Feral Druid Maintainer of SimC // Moderator at Fluid Druid forums
    Pawkets' Armory
    // Pawkets' Pro Raiders // <Forgotten Aspects>

  7. #4667
    Quote Originally Posted by aggixx View Post
    Code:
    /run if InCombatLockdown() then SetCVar("autounshift",0) end
    /use [@player,mod:shift][@target,help][]Healing Touch
    /console autounshift 1
    Works like a charm. Thanks so much.

  8. #4668
    Epic! Tearor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Դժոխք
    Posts
    1,641
    Quote Originally Posted by aggixx View Post
    Code:
    /run if InCombatLockdown() then SetCVar("autounshift",0) end
    /use [@player,mod:shift][@target,help][]Healing Touch
    /console autounshift 1
    I'm not familiar with the exact matter, but out of curiosity - could you explain what you did here? and what it has to do with predatory swiftness? thanks
    No point mentioning these bats, I thought. The poor bastard will see them soon enough.

  9. #4669
    When you use an ability that requires you to be in caster form while shapeshifted, the client checks a console variable called "autounshift". If that variable is 1 (true) then it will automatically cancel your form and then cast the ability, if it is 0 (false) it will not unshift you and the ability cast will silently fail.

    Since Predatory Swiftness (or Nature's Swiftness) allows the ability to be cast in form, the cast line only succeeds when the player has either of those buffs up.

    A simpler form would be to simply set the variable to 0 using the console slash command, then cast the spell, then set it back to 1. The macro I provided is a tad more complicated and instead only sets the variable to 0 if you're in combat, that way you can freely pre-cast a Healing Touch outside of combat without manually having to shift out.

    Feral Druid Maintainer of SimC // Moderator at Fluid Druid forums
    Pawkets' Armory
    // Pawkets' Pro Raiders // <Forgotten Aspects>

  10. #4670
    Epic! Tearor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Դժոխք
    Posts
    1,641
    Quote Originally Posted by aggixx View Post
    When you use an ability that requires you to be in caster form while shapeshifted, the client checks a console variable called "autounshift". If that variable is 1 (true) then it will automatically cancel your form and then cast the ability, if it is 0 (false) it will not unshift you and the ability cast will silently fail.

    Since Predatory Swiftness (or Nature's Swiftness) allows the ability to be cast in form, the cast line only succeeds when the player has either of those buffs up.

    A simpler form would be to simply set the variable to 0 using the console slash command, then cast the spell, then set it back to 1. The macro I provided is a tad more complicated and instead only sets the variable to 0 if you're in combat, that way you can freely pre-cast a Healing Touch outside of combat without manually having to shift out.
    I see, thanks a lot! that's pretty clever.
    No point mentioning these bats, I thought. The poor bastard will see them soon enough.

  11. #4671
    Pandaren Monk docterfreeze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Finding a stranger in the alps.
    Posts
    1,987
    I need a macro that casts DK's gargoyle, then 2 seconds after that casts all my cooldowns. Why? Because the gargoyle takes a couple seconds to fly down and start casting

    Basically: how to you add a two second delay to a macro?

    Words to live by.

  12. #4672
    You don't, at least not without pressing the button manually a second time 2 seconds later. Also, doesn't Gargoyle snapshot? Or did they change that.

    Feral Druid Maintainer of SimC // Moderator at Fluid Druid forums
    Pawkets' Armory
    // Pawkets' Pro Raiders // <Forgotten Aspects>

  13. #4673
    Quote Originally Posted by aggixx View Post
    You don't, at least not without pressing the button manually a second time 2 seconds later. Also, doesn't Gargoyle snapshot? Or did they change that.
    AFAIK, the snapshotting issues with summoned pets (including Warlock Doomguard and other similar pets) were eliminated a while back. Can't say that I've tested to verify this but pretty sure I've seen some blue posts in the past that directly answered this.

  14. #4674
    Pandaren Monk docterfreeze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Finding a stranger in the alps.
    Posts
    1,987
    Quote Originally Posted by aggixx View Post
    Also, doesn't Gargoyle snapshot? Or did they change that.
    It does not, tested it on dummies and the damage increases as you gain strength (from CDs, buffs, etc.)

    Words to live by.

  15. #4675
    Elemental Lord Polarthief's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    (USA) Florida
    Posts
    8,036
    Alright, here's a super-basic question that pretty much anyone not retarded (unlike me) could probably answer...

    I'm looking for a macro that will attack my target with spell X if I don't have a focus. If I DO have a focus, I want it to attack my focus instead.

    I just need that modifier that swaps to the target instead. I already have /cast [@focus] X

    Progression pre-nerfed: [T17] 6/7H; 0/10N

  16. #4676
    If my memory serves me, it should be as simple as this (however, if not - then let me know)

    I'm at work so I can't test before answering.

    Code:
    /cast [@focus, exists] X; X

  17. #4677
    Yes, that should work, although you can simplify it a little:
    Code:
    /cast [@focus, exists][] Spell
    It's also a good idea to replace "exists" with either "help" or "harm" depending on if you're casting a helpful or harmful spell respectively, that way it won't try to cast on an invalid target if you're doing something different with your focus.

    Feral Druid Maintainer of SimC // Moderator at Fluid Druid forums
    Pawkets' Armory
    // Pawkets' Pro Raiders // <Forgotten Aspects>

  18. #4678
    Elemental Lord Polarthief's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    (USA) Florida
    Posts
    8,036
    Quote Originally Posted by aggixx View Post
    Yes, that should work, although you can simplify it a little:
    Code:
    /cast [@focus, exists][] Spell
    It's also a good idea to replace "exists" with either "help" or "harm" depending on if you're casting a helpful or harmful spell respectively, that way it won't try to cast on an invalid target if you're doing something different with your focus.
    Yup, this worked like a charm, thanks

    Progression pre-nerfed: [T17] 6/7H; 0/10N

  19. #4679
    Would a macro like this be possible: Cast X damage spell if I have Y buff on me, if not then cast spell Z.

  20. #4680
    Stood in the Fire Edx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Flanders, Belgium
    Posts
    490
    Quote Originally Posted by Kazim View Post
    Would a macro like this be possible: Cast X damage spell if I have Y buff on me, if not then cast spell Z.
    Not possible (AFAIK).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •