Page 1 of 2
1
2
LastLast
  1. #1

    Which i5 for WoW Gaming PC!

    I am looking for a i5 that will handle wow nicely and maybe even overclock please post ur I5s :P that u suggest me to get Cheers ^^

  2. #2
    Pandaren Monk Kurdiern's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    CA-LI-FORNIA GIRLS, I'M IRRESISTABLE!
    Posts
    1,849
    i5-750

  3. #3
    Hmm then ill get the 760 is it rly good for wow to pull 60 FPS+ with ultra graphics on and Asus 5670 SVGA (PCI-Express, DDR5, 1GB)

  4. #4
    you will unly get those FPS if you clock the cpu to 4,0 ghz and still you wont get 60+ fps every where. no cpu can do that yet with every thing on ultra
    Intel i5 2500K: Asus Masimux IV Extreme: Palit GTX 680 Jetstream: Chieftec Nitro Series 1200W:Corsair H-100 Hydro:
    8Gb Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz CL8: Crucial M4 128Gb+256Gb: Creative Sound Blaster Z: Corsair Obsidian 800D: Plextor PX-880SA

  5. #5
    Fluffy Kitten llDemonll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    6,581
    i highly doubt you have to OC it much at all to get very acceptable FPS in a lot of places. not 60 all the time, but 60 questing and parties, raiding and dal is 30+ would be my guess

    "I'm glad you play better than you read/post on forums." -Ninety
    BF3 Profile | Steam Profile | Assemble a Computer in 9.75 Steps! | Video Rendering Done Right

  6. #6
    i5 7xx is what you want (non hyper threaded quad core).

    Stock it will play wow on ultra - 2 ticks of shadows.

    OCed to 4.0ghz you will have less slowdowns in a 25m raid environment.

    Video is a Palit GTS450. Main display is a 24" full HD TV. Secondary display is an ACER 19" lcd at 1440x900.

  7. #7
    i prefer i5-750

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by llDemonll View Post
    i highly doubt you have to OC it much at all to get very acceptable FPS in a lot of places. not 60 all the time, but 60 questing and parties, raiding and dal is 30+ would be my guess
    It's pretty resolution dependent. At 720p or 1440x900 it should do 30+ raiding at stock speeds. At 1080p it can chug a bit at stock speeds.

    Video is a Palit GTS450. Main display is a 24" full HD TV. Secondary display is an ACER 19" lcd at 1440x900.

  9. #9
    High Overlord Zookii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    A place in the US
    Posts
    167
    I use a i5 760 and keep my graphics for the most part at midway. In most cities, excluding Dalaran, I get 120+ FPS. Dalaran I tend to sit around 40-50 FPS. As for raiding in combat during 25 mans I believe it will droop downwards of 30-35 in heavy AOE but most fights usually 45ish. I do run two GTS 250 in SLI so that probably doesn't hurt.

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Zookii View Post
    I use a i5 760 and keep my graphics for the most part at midway. In most cities, excluding Dalaran, I get 120+ FPS. Dalaran I tend to sit around 40-50 FPS. As for raiding in combat during 25 mans I believe it will droop downwards of 30-35 in heavy AOE but most fights usually 45ish. I do run two GTS 250 in SLI so that probably doesn't hurt.
    WOW doesn`t support SLI or CF yet.
    it will do in cata
    Intel i5 2500K: Asus Masimux IV Extreme: Palit GTX 680 Jetstream: Chieftec Nitro Series 1200W:Corsair H-100 Hydro:
    8Gb Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz CL8: Crucial M4 128Gb+256Gb: Creative Sound Blaster Z: Corsair Obsidian 800D: Plextor PX-880SA

  11. #11
    I have an i5-750 (oc to 3.2 ghz, turbo enabled and stock voltage), I'm using an aftermarket cooler and running with XFX 5870. All settings are max with the exception of shadow, which is on high, and not ultra. I get very good fps. Also notice about 10fps increase due to overclocking. various website states that for WOW, non hypertreading is the way to go.

  12. #12
    Moderator Cilraaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    9,040
    You overclocked manually and left Turbo Boost enabled? That's a risky choice.

  13. #13
    Pit Lord Dethh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    2,398
    Quote Originally Posted by Cilraaz View Post
    You overclocked manually and left Turbo Boost enabled? That's a risky choice.
    I believe that is the speed of turbo boost with no OC involved.

  14. #14
    yes I did, I also stress test it using prime95 and it was completely stable. Various website states that overclocking to 3.2(160x20) with turbo enabled on stock voltage is stable.

    ---------- Post added 2010-10-20 at 02:58 AM ----------

    Almost forgot, the cpu usually run anywhere from 3.6-3.8 (cpu-z). Temp under load never went past 48c, using Cooler Master Hyper 212 plus.

  15. #15
    Fluffy Kitten llDemonll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    6,581
    Completely stable is a relative term

    @OP - you won't get the fps you are looking for with a 56xx series card

    "I'm glad you play better than you read/post on forums." -Ninety
    BF3 Profile | Steam Profile | Assemble a Computer in 9.75 Steps! | Video Rendering Done Right

  16. #16
    Moderator Cilraaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    9,040
    Quote Originally Posted by nortorious View Post
    yes I did, I also stress test it using prime95 and it was completely stable. Various website states that overclocking to 3.2(160x20) with turbo enabled on stock voltage is stable.

    ---------- Post added 2010-10-20 at 02:58 AM ----------

    Almost forgot, the cpu usually run anywhere from 3.6-3.8 (cpu-z). Temp under load never went past 48c, using Cooler Master Hyper 212 plus.
    Good luck with that. It's a rather horrible overclocking practice, though.

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by pansertjald View Post
    WOW doesn`t support SLI or CF yet.
    it will do in cata
    Not sure where you got that info but it's been stated even by blue posts that WoW does support SLI/CF. While in game support might not show it the game itself will take advantage of both cards in eihter a SLI or CF setup. Don't believe this, just go look at the technical support forum on warcrafts site.

    forums.worldofwarcraft. com / thread.html?topicId=5103879232&postId=52356242871&sid=1#4

    Just take out the spaces.
    Last edited by Deltard; 2010-10-20 at 08:58 PM.

  18. #18
    Dreadlord B@nj0 P3do's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    West coast of Norway
    Posts
    871
    Quote Originally Posted by Deltard View Post
    Not sure where you got that info but it's been stated even by blue posts that WoW does support SLI/CF. While in game support might not show it the game itself will take advantage of both cards in eihter a SLI or CF setup. Don't believe this, just go look at the technical support forum on warcrafts site.

    forums.worldofwarcraft. com / thread.html?topicId=5103879232&postId=52356242871&sid=1#4

    Just take out the spaces.
    Old Thread is old

  19. #19
    Moderator Cilraaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    9,040
    Quote Originally Posted by Deltard View Post
    Not sure where you got that info but it's been stated even by blue posts that WoW does support SLI/CF. While in game support might not show it the game itself will take advantage of both cards in eihter a SLI or CF setup. Don't believe this, just go look at the technical support forum on warcrafts site.

    forums.worldofwarcraft. com / thread.html?topicId=5103879232&postId=52356242871&sid=1#4

    Just take out the spaces.
    A thread from 2008 is somehow relevant to graphic engine changes in Cataclysm? Good first post.

    [edit: Except it's not a first post. Grats on the ban evasion, Zookii.]
    Last edited by Cilraaz; 2010-10-20 at 10:09 PM.

  20. #20
    Fluffy Kitten llDemonll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    6,581
    Quote Originally Posted by Cilraaz View Post
    [edit: Except it's not a first post. Grats on the ban evasion, Zookii.]
    lolowned

    to clarify the false information he tried to post (and i havent read up on it much, so this is the best of what i remember), cataclysm will bring better integration with SLI / CF setup to actually equally utilize each card, but as of now (maybe 4.0.1 changed this?) in order to use more than one card, the first card must be maxed out, and only then will the "spill" get dumped onto the additional card. so yes, SLI/CF works fine, but it isnt a really optimal setup to be using.

    *I don't run SLI/CF, so i dont pay attention to it, so if any of this is wrong please correct me

    "I'm glad you play better than you read/post on forums." -Ninety
    BF3 Profile | Steam Profile | Assemble a Computer in 9.75 Steps! | Video Rendering Done Right

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •