Thread: Upgrades

  1. #1
    Brewmaster Advent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Other Side.
    Posts
    1,400

    Upgrades

    To begin, as a college student, I can only save about $140 per month. I just snagged an HP a6700z desktop computer, and I'd like to return to WoW. I know it needs to be upgraded and/or replaced, but I'm hoping I can fix it up to be able to do 25-mans without twisting my hair in frustration because my fps drops to 12 or lower. I'd like to maintain at least 20.

    Desktop Specs:

    CPU: AMD Sempron LE 1300 2.30 GHz
    CPU Socket Type: Socket AM2 Core: SpartaMoBo: ASUS M2N68-LA

    RAM: 2GB (2x 1GB) System memory Samsung 240-pin DDR2

    GPU: Nvidia Geforce 6150 nForce 430 on-board 128-MB memory 425 MHz

    PSU: Bestec ATX0300D5WC 175-300W

    OS: Windows Vista Home Edition 32-Bit

    Res: 1440x900

    I'm asking the community, what would you upgrade first?
    Last edited by Advent; 2010-11-22 at 09:49 PM.
    A typical raid leader command would be something like "Yo Scrub, why don't you YOLO 1337 yards to the left because the boss's Swag is about to hit us in 3 seconds".
    Quote Originally Posted by KungFuFanta View Post
    Oh my god, a company tries to put some lore flavor into the game mechanics, all is lost, whatever shall we do without a whole 1% of crit or haste.
    Quick, call Ukraine and Russia, let them know to put their conflict on standby because Touch of Elune is BULLSHIT!

  2. #2
    Brewmaster Reguilea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,419
    I would get a graphics card.

    4670k @ 4.4 - Kingston HyperX (XMP) 8GB (2x 4096MB @ 1600mhz) - Zotac GTX 680
    h20 620 V4 push/pull - Fractal Design Pearl R4 - Samsung 830 64GB - Surround 5040x1050
    -

  3. #3
    graphics card without question.

  4. #4
    Brewmaster Reguilea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,419
    If its an AGP slot then your limited to a HD 4670.

    4670k @ 4.4 - Kingston HyperX (XMP) 8GB (2x 4096MB @ 1600mhz) - Zotac GTX 680
    h20 620 V4 push/pull - Fractal Design Pearl R4 - Samsung 830 64GB - Surround 5040x1050
    -

  5. #5
    Brewmaster Advent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Other Side.
    Posts
    1,400
    Quote Originally Posted by Reguilea View Post
    If its an AGP slot then your limited to a HD 4670.
    Is that a respectable card to go for?
    A typical raid leader command would be something like "Yo Scrub, why don't you YOLO 1337 yards to the left because the boss's Swag is about to hit us in 3 seconds".
    Quote Originally Posted by KungFuFanta View Post
    Oh my god, a company tries to put some lore flavor into the game mechanics, all is lost, whatever shall we do without a whole 1% of crit or haste.
    Quick, call Ukraine and Russia, let them know to put their conflict on standby because Touch of Elune is BULLSHIT!

  6. #6
    Brewmaster Reguilea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,419
    It will run WoW easily. But a single core at 2.3ghz wont.

    4670k @ 4.4 - Kingston HyperX (XMP) 8GB (2x 4096MB @ 1600mhz) - Zotac GTX 680
    h20 620 V4 push/pull - Fractal Design Pearl R4 - Samsung 830 64GB - Surround 5040x1050
    -

  7. #7
    A single processor will run WoW, it's just not going to run it very good.

    @OP..

    Read this link and get to the recommended state as best as possible.

    http://us.blizzard.com/support/artic...tem&rhtml=true
    - Nom Nom

  8. #8
    Brewmaster Reguilea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,419
    A single processor will run WoW, it's just not going to run it very good.
    Basically what i said.

    4670k @ 4.4 - Kingston HyperX (XMP) 8GB (2x 4096MB @ 1600mhz) - Zotac GTX 680
    h20 620 V4 push/pull - Fractal Design Pearl R4 - Samsung 830 64GB - Surround 5040x1050
    -

  9. #9
    Brewmaster Advent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Other Side.
    Posts
    1,400
    Would I also have to upgrade my PSU to something more powerful?
    A typical raid leader command would be something like "Yo Scrub, why don't you YOLO 1337 yards to the left because the boss's Swag is about to hit us in 3 seconds".
    Quote Originally Posted by KungFuFanta View Post
    Oh my god, a company tries to put some lore flavor into the game mechanics, all is lost, whatever shall we do without a whole 1% of crit or haste.
    Quick, call Ukraine and Russia, let them know to put their conflict on standby because Touch of Elune is BULLSHIT!

  10. #10
    to get reasonable performance you will need a new graphics card and cpu. Also a psu to support them.

  11. #11
    Warchief Eurytos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Dirty South
    Posts
    2,219
    How well will the game run with the minimum requirements?

    I mean, if the best computer runs it at the greatest settings without issue, then how much over the minimum requirements are needed to run it at, say, good or better than good settings?
    http://us.battle.net/wow/en/characte...uryto/advanced

    If there's one thing I'm not, it's in control.

  12. #12
    Brewmaster Advent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Other Side.
    Posts
    1,400
    Quote Originally Posted by Eurytos View Post
    How well will the game run with the minimum requirements?

    I mean, if the best computer runs it at the greatest settings without issue, then how much over the minimum requirements are needed to run it at, say, good or better than good settings?
    That's a good question.
    A typical raid leader command would be something like "Yo Scrub, why don't you YOLO 1337 yards to the left because the boss's Swag is about to hit us in 3 seconds".
    Quote Originally Posted by KungFuFanta View Post
    Oh my god, a company tries to put some lore flavor into the game mechanics, all is lost, whatever shall we do without a whole 1% of crit or haste.
    Quick, call Ukraine and Russia, let them know to put their conflict on standby because Touch of Elune is BULLSHIT!

  13. #13
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    3,661
    I actually just installed WoW on an old Athlon XP 2400+ system for kicks. Did a few random heroics just fine. I don't think a 25man would be a good idea on it though.

    Your Sempron is a wee bit more powerful though... Powerful enough for a 25 man though? Maybe. You might sustain 20FPS most of the time, just don't run any addons besides bare necessities.
    Statism: Total bliss is just one more regulation away.

  14. #14
    Brewmaster Advent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Other Side.
    Posts
    1,400
    If I were to add 2GB more memory, would I see any improvements? Or is upgrading the processor more of a priority?
    A typical raid leader command would be something like "Yo Scrub, why don't you YOLO 1337 yards to the left because the boss's Swag is about to hit us in 3 seconds".
    Quote Originally Posted by KungFuFanta View Post
    Oh my god, a company tries to put some lore flavor into the game mechanics, all is lost, whatever shall we do without a whole 1% of crit or haste.
    Quick, call Ukraine and Russia, let them know to put their conflict on standby because Touch of Elune is BULLSHIT!

  15. #15
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    3,661
    Upgrading the CPU for sure. It uses an AM2 socket, so you could get an Athlon II X3 for it. (Do plenty of research beforehand though, ie: motherboard/ram compatibility etc)
    Statism: Total bliss is just one more regulation away.

  16. #16
    Brewmaster Advent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Other Side.
    Posts
    1,400
    My processor upgrades are:

    Athlon 64 X2 w/ Dual Core Technology up to 4800+
    Athlon 64 up to 3800+
    All Sempron

    Is the Athlon 64 X2 the better of the 3 types?
    A typical raid leader command would be something like "Yo Scrub, why don't you YOLO 1337 yards to the left because the boss's Swag is about to hit us in 3 seconds".
    Quote Originally Posted by KungFuFanta View Post
    Oh my god, a company tries to put some lore flavor into the game mechanics, all is lost, whatever shall we do without a whole 1% of crit or haste.
    Quick, call Ukraine and Russia, let them know to put their conflict on standby because Touch of Elune is BULLSHIT!

  17. #17
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    3,661
    Can you get a BIOS update to use any K10 AMD? Or are you stuck with K8's?
    Statism: Total bliss is just one more regulation away.

  18. #18
    Brewmaster Advent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Other Side.
    Posts
    1,400
    I'm actually not sure. Would you happen to know how I can find out?
    A typical raid leader command would be something like "Yo Scrub, why don't you YOLO 1337 yards to the left because the boss's Swag is about to hit us in 3 seconds".
    Quote Originally Posted by KungFuFanta View Post
    Oh my god, a company tries to put some lore flavor into the game mechanics, all is lost, whatever shall we do without a whole 1% of crit or haste.
    Quick, call Ukraine and Russia, let them know to put their conflict on standby because Touch of Elune is BULLSHIT!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •