1. #3861
    Field Marshal
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Creve Coeur, MO
    Posts
    81
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    With a V8? You should be able to comfortably obtain a 3.8ghz overclock.
    I guess I need to start reading up how to push it faster. I don't really know all the OC settings on the mobo itself, the Gigabyte software handles all of it wiithin windows and sets the bios when you reboot. I chose the fastest preset but it can go faster, I just would have to enter the right settings. If I posted the screenshots could you guys help me learn how to push it a bit further?

  2. #3862
    Scarab Lord Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4,964
    Umm

    Not really familiar with overclocking non-sandybridge chips, only thing I know is it requires a lot more effort and fine-tuning to get right. Look up a guide maybe? Or perhaps someone here can give you a really brief rundown of some basic settings you can switch.

    Here's a really neat guide I found (PDF) based on overclocking an i7 920 + X58-UD5 setup:
    http://images.tweaktown.com/imageban..._%28ENG%29.pdf

    The BIOS stuff should be 99% similar to yours. GL

    On another note, followed Cantii's advice for a cooler-running GPU and installed a Prolimatech Vortex 140mm (bottom intake):



    It matches the rest of the case just fine when the other LED fans turn on

  3. #3863
    I pushed my i5 to 4.3 with little to no effort at all, http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/cpu...ore-i5-2500k/1 is a good guide though
    3DS Friend Code: 2165 - 5428 - 1895

  4. #3864
    High Overlord
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    119
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Umm

    Not really familiar with overclocking non-sandybridge chips, only thing I know is it requires a lot more effort and fine-tuning to get right. Look up a guide maybe? Or perhaps someone here can give you a really brief rundown of some basic settings you can switch.

    Here's a really neat guide I found (PDF) based on overclocking an i7 920 + X58-UD5 setup:
    http://images.tweaktown.com/imageban..._%28ENG%29.pdf

    The BIOS stuff should be 99% similar to yours. GL

    On another note, followed Cantii's advice for a cooler-running GPU and installed a Prolimatech Vortex 140mm (bottom intake):



    It matches the rest of the case just fine when the other LED fans turn on
    Is that just a regular 140mm fan on the bottom intake for the GPU or is there anything special about it?

  5. #3865
    Scarab Lord Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4,964
    Just a 140mm fan lol, nothing special...(how does a 140mm fan become "special" anyway?)

  6. #3866
    Bloodsail Admiral Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,037
    So how is it working for you? Does it compare to that 3XXmm whatever table fan? xD

  7. #3867
    Titan DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    14,876
    He has another thread.... >_>

    @Xuvial: He expected the very fan that kept the center of the Death Star cool enough to not explode spontaneously!!!! :O

  8. #3868
    High Overlord
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    119
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Just a 140mm fan lol, nothing special...(how does a 140mm fan become "special" anyway?)
    I was just curious if it was a standard 140mm fan or some sort of special aftermarket kit specifically for cooling GPUs. A fan is a fan I guess.

  9. #3869
    Finally unbanned again! What'd I miss? :3

    I also helped another mate put together his computer. He was savvy enough with computers, but has an eyesight beyond what glasses and/or contacts can correct. So you try putting together a computer when you can't see that your motherboard's lined up with the stand-offs.

    Gave me some insight to the Cooler Master CM 690 II.

    It has the same glaring issue as the HAF X, or at least it does if you're on Sandy Bridge; its motherboard-tray's cut-out is simply off for SB users (and maybe other platforms, of which I'm not certain of). So either get power-tools and make that hole larger or be prepared to remove the motherboard if you're gonna put a cooler on later.

    The panels are pushed onto and into a space, rather than close like doors. This is extremely annoying when you've finished your job on the backside and need to get the backpanel on, but can't get all four corners to properly sit. And this happens all the time. Level 10 GT has a similar issue, so this isn't exactly a world-first for me. And the whole bezel is a bit bigger than the aluminum itself. It looks pretty, but isn't practical when you try and figure out how the panels come on again. o.o;

    5.25" bay covers were a little odd to remove, but simple enough.

    And finally, the hard drive mounts are extremely annoying to get right. They just won't seem to frigging click into place. Sheesh.

    Though to be fair I'm making more of a fuss of it than I should. Building in it was very good. Just some small nitpicks that can really scratch my nerve after, what, four different computer cases? Cable management was neat and easy to do and didn't really require anything. That part is best described as entirely uneventful to be fair.

  10. #3870
    Scarab Lord Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4,964
    Add Storm Sniper to the list of cases where the CPU cut-out doesn't match. I seriously can't understand what stops the manufacturers from making the CPU hole larger. The motherboard standoff-points hardly mean that they need to be so damn restrictive with the cut-out area!

    600T cutout:


    HAF-X cutout:

    ^ Is that a joke?

  11. #3871
    Titan Synthaxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Rotherham, England/UK
    Posts
    12,893
    Ah, SB-Extreme is out in about a months time, and it WILL be mine. If i account £600 or so for the CPU (possibly more, depends on conversion rates), and another £350 tops for the motherboard, we're looking at about £950. Add into that the extra RAM i'll be buying to use up all 8 DIMM slots, and there's a lot of potential.

    What i AM considering, is getting some of those Corsair 8GB modules, about £175 each. That'll probably be the christmas upgrade for me though, after the cpu and board. Or rather, 4x8GB to begin with (alongside my current 4x4GB), and the moving the 4GB modules over to 8GB modules in January. I'm aiming for 64GB RAM on a 3-way SLI board, and hopefully, they won't remove too many SATA ports. It'd be nice to see the 12-14 we've seen in previews, as i could quite honestly then add some more HDD's to my HDD RAID, and/or some more SSD's to my SSD RAID.

    Total cost will be in the £2500 range, possibly a bit more. I could always just go with another 4x4GB kit and settle for 32GB instead.

    Later on, when they release the 3980X or 3990X 8-core, i'll probably end up getting that, but that's quite a long time away.
    Coder, Gamer, YouTuber - Thoughtcloud | YouTube - Latest: BF4 - AWS : AWSHIT BROTATO!
    Knows: Delphi, PHP, WQL/SQL/MySQLi, Python, JS, jQuery, HTML, CSS | Learning: Ruby + Sinatra

    PC: 750D / 16GB / 256GB + 750GB / GTX670 / 4670K / Z87X-UD4H | Laptop: 8GB / 120GB + 480GB / GTX765M / 4700MQ

  12. #3872
    Mind you, Xuvial, even if the HAF X's cut-out was only increased till it nearly bumped into the standoff spots it'd still be large enough to accommodate SB users.

    And Synthaxx, stop blueballing me with your ideas! :E

  13. #3873
    Figured I should post a picture of my setup.



    Specs:
    AMD 965 BE @ 3.4 Ghz
    Patriot Sector 5 8GBv @ 1333 Mhz
    Sapphire 6950 2GB x2
    Corsair 750W PSU
    Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
    Crucial M4 64GB SSD
    HAF 922

    DasKeyboard Pro
    Razer Deathadder
    Asus 24" Monitor (2ms Response Time)

  14. #3874
    Moderator Uggorthaholy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Denton, TX
    Posts
    2,979
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post



    It has the same glaring issue as the HAF X, or at least it does if you're on Sandy Bridge; its motherboard-tray's cut-out is simply off for SB users (and maybe other platforms, of which I'm not certain of). So either get power-tools and make that hole larger or be prepared to remove the motherboard if you're gonna put a cooler on later.

    Odd, my HAF912 has the cutout perfect for my board. Would be able to adjust anything or install a new heatsink if so needed.

  15. #3875
    The Lightbringer Rixis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hyrule
    Posts
    3,015
    same with my 912+ it's not perfectly centred, but all 4 screws are accessible, only problem i have is one of my sata power cables has been cabletied "too close" that it makes using the screwdriver crap without moving it first :P
    Quote Originally Posted by Meysvindu View Post
    Edit: I'm sorry, this sounded like what Rixis would say so I edited it out.
    Thinking like I do is fine, but saying it like I do is not.

  16. #3876
    Asus Sabertooth P67
    Core I5 2500k @ 4.4
    8g's Corsair Xms3 @ 1600
    Corsair GS800
    Zotac GTX570's in SLI
    Coolermaster V6
    Coolermaster Storm Enforcer

    For inquiries regarding amazing desk, you will need to travel back in time and speak to me in my grade 11 Practicle applied arts class.







    Last edited by chadbrah; 2011-10-11 at 06:08 AM.

  17. #3877
    Scarab Lord Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4,964
    Built the PC and the desk eh? Cool stuff
    +Points for the Sabertooth and very good cable management!
    I'll take a point off for the GS800 though, not what I would've picked for SLI 570's.

  18. #3878
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Built the PC and the desk eh? Cool stuff
    +Points for the Sabertooth and very good cable management!
    I'll take a point off for the GS800 though, not what I would've picked for SLI 570's.
    Yeah I agree SLI wasnt really the original plan for my build, just happened to come across a deal I couldnt pass up on my second 570. Had to get rather creative behind the mobotray for all the GS800 cables tho. The system doesnt pull anywhere near the 800, but not quite as much headroom as I would like. If I see a decent deal on hx 850/1k then I will nab it, but this is working wonders for me right now and couldnt be happier.

  19. #3879
    Titan DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    14,876
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Add Storm Sniper to the list of cases where the CPU cut-out doesn't match. I seriously can't understand what stops the manufacturers from making the CPU hole larger. The motherboard standoff-points hardly mean that they need to be so damn restrictive with the cut-out area!

    600T cutout:


    HAF-X cutout:

    ^ Is that a joke?
    Yeah.... the HAF X cutout really ticked me off. I was really hoping it would all match up perfectly. Nope. -.-

  20. #3880
    Quote Originally Posted by uggorthaholy View Post
    Odd, my HAF912 has the cutout perfect for my board. Would be able to adjust anything or install a new heatsink if so needed.
    Quote Originally Posted by Rixis View Post
    same with my 912+ it's not perfectly centred, but all 4 screws are accessible, only problem i have is one of my sata power cables has been cabletied "too close" that it makes using the screwdriver crap without moving it first :P
    That's nice. I'll have to keep the HAF 912+ in mind then perhaps.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •