1. #4521
    The Lightbringer Platinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    3,000
    I have too many screws! Wich ones do I use to screw down the MB with? (After I've used the standoffs). What does it say on the bag?

    [email protected] | GeForce GTX 760 | 8GB DDR3-1600MHz | Samsung 840 120GB SSD | 1+2TB HDD | Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3 | Corsair CX V2 500W
    NZXT Phantom | 2x 24" 1920x1080, 1x 22" 1920x1080 | Audio Technica ATH-M50x with ModMic | Qpad MK-80 MX Blue | Logitech G600

  2. #4522
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,608
    I keep saying "Use motherboardstands" so often I feel retarded in doing so, and people complain when I do..
    This will encourage me to keep saying it whenever someone has troubles ^^

    Which case do you have, Platinus? The Arc? If so, use the ones that on the box (that the screws came in) says they are motherboard screws. :]

  3. #4523
    The Lightbringer Platinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    3,000
    I bought the Phantom. (Read signature, duh :P) I couldn't find it in White so I got the black one.

    Now the screws are either 6-32 screw or the ones without name, wich i suspect is from Gigabyte.

    [email protected] | GeForce GTX 760 | 8GB DDR3-1600MHz | Samsung 840 120GB SSD | 1+2TB HDD | Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3 | Corsair CX V2 500W
    NZXT Phantom | 2x 24" 1920x1080, 1x 22" 1920x1080 | Audio Technica ATH-M50x with ModMic | Qpad MK-80 MX Blue | Logitech G600

  4. #4524
    Quote Originally Posted by Platinus View Post
    I have too many screws! Wich ones do I use to screw down the MB with? (After I've used the standoffs). What does it say on the bag?
    Take one of the left over standoffs and check it with the different screws that you have.

  5. #4525
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,608
    Oh, Phantom *nose wrinkles*
    Well. They usually have a head consisting of part hexa-screw and part round-screw (below the hexagonal), if you understand what I'm trying to say.
    They could have a bit of the screw that's "slät och inte skruvad".

  6. #4526
    The Lightbringer Platinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    3,000
    Quote Originally Posted by Yobtar View Post
    Take one of the left over standoffs and check it with the different screws that you have.
    They both work, one goes down deeper tho, should I use that one?

    [email protected] | GeForce GTX 760 | 8GB DDR3-1600MHz | Samsung 840 120GB SSD | 1+2TB HDD | Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3 | Corsair CX V2 500W
    NZXT Phantom | 2x 24" 1920x1080, 1x 22" 1920x1080 | Audio Technica ATH-M50x with ModMic | Qpad MK-80 MX Blue | Logitech G600

  7. #4527
    Warchief Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    2,242
    Let's not make it harder than it really is, shall we

    Try screwing them in gently, whichever fits better should be used? Don't force it in and if it feels tough to screw or you can't get it tight enough, you probably have wrong ones.

  8. #4528
    The Lightbringer Platinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    3,000
    Quote Originally Posted by Ghâzh View Post
    Let's not make it harder than it really is, shall we

    Try screwing them in gently, whichever fits better should be used? Don't force it in and if it feels tough to screw or you can't get it tight enough, you probably have wrong ones.
    Haha, sorry. My first build and don't want anything to go wrong!

    I tried the ones that went deeper and they seemed to work fine.

    I SHALL NOW GO TO CABLE MANAGEMENT!

    [email protected] | GeForce GTX 760 | 8GB DDR3-1600MHz | Samsung 840 120GB SSD | 1+2TB HDD | Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3 | Corsair CX V2 500W
    NZXT Phantom | 2x 24" 1920x1080, 1x 22" 1920x1080 | Audio Technica ATH-M50x with ModMic | Qpad MK-80 MX Blue | Logitech G600

  9. #4529
    The Patient Rotomon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    334
    asus board. 3.0ghz quad core processor, 2 nvidia gtx 460s, coolermaster haf case, w7, All razor peripherals ( naga, lycosa, carcharious, nostromo goliathus extended edtition)

    Pictures are being dumb but all are normal on my website link at bottom of post









    http://www.rotomon.com

    * User received an infraction for huge images. And fixed them.
    Last edited by tetrisGOAT; 2011-11-21 at 09:11 PM. Reason: clarifying picture issue
    http://us.battle.net/wow/en/characte...Rotomon/simple
    As Einstein said: "Two things are infinite: the universe and people's stupidity - though I am not entirely sure about the universe". Thanks for proving Einstein right.

  10. #4530
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,106
    Dude too big!! Resize to less than 800x600 or just provide links to the pics.

  11. #4531
    The Patient Rotomon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    334
    Last edited by tetrisGOAT; 2011-11-21 at 09:11 PM.
    http://us.battle.net/wow/en/characte...Rotomon/simple
    As Einstein said: "Two things are infinite: the universe and people's stupidity - though I am not entirely sure about the universe". Thanks for proving Einstein right.

  12. #4532
    Warchief Prixie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Oostende, Belgium
    Posts
    2,024
    As much as I love your triple screen setup, thumbnails please.
    \\ My signature got removed because it was 21,12 Kb over the limitation \\

  13. #4533

  14. #4534
    The Lightbringer Platinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    3,000
    Bah, can't figure out where to put the phantom front connectors and such. The manual doesn't really cover that..

    [email protected] | GeForce GTX 760 | 8GB DDR3-1600MHz | Samsung 840 120GB SSD | 1+2TB HDD | Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3 | Corsair CX V2 500W
    NZXT Phantom | 2x 24" 1920x1080, 1x 22" 1920x1080 | Audio Technica ATH-M50x with ModMic | Qpad MK-80 MX Blue | Logitech G600

  15. #4535

  16. #4536
    Warchief Prixie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Oostende, Belgium
    Posts
    2,024
    Quote Originally Posted by Platinus View Post
    Bah, can't figure out where to put the phantom front connectors and such. The manual doesn't really cover that..
    Basicly, the front connectors should be labeled with someting, like USB or HD AUDIO. Search the motherboard manual, especially read up on the bottom ports of your motherboard, that's where all the connectors are (notice the blocks with pins in them, that's where your connectors go in, usually they're labeled on the mobo aswell but it doesn't hurt to read up on them).
    \\ My signature got removed because it was 21,12 Kb over the limitation \\

  17. #4537
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,608
    Quote Originally Posted by Platinus View Post
    Bah, can't figure out where to put the phantom front connectors and such. The manual doesn't really cover that..
    They should be labeled. The motherboard should also have these colourcoded so that you can cross-reference with the (motherboard)manual.

  18. #4538
    Take a look at this image. Its a Z68X motherboard, so it should be similar to yours. It's that piece in the bottom left hand corner of the image. Each color represents something on the front IO panel.

  19. #4539
    The Lightbringer Platinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    3,000
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Motherboard model?
    Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3 REV 1.0
    Quote Originally Posted by Prixie View Post
    Basicly, the front connectors should be labeled with someting, like USB or HD AUDIO. Search the motherboard manual, especially read up on the bottom ports of your motherboard, that's where all the connectors are (notice the blocks with pins in them, that's where your connectors go in, usually they're labeled on the mobo aswell but it doesn't hurt to read up on them).
    But there are some pins that don't have a similar name on the motherboard if you know what I mean. Well, I'm going to bed now, I'll have to work on it more tomorrow.

    [email protected] | GeForce GTX 760 | 8GB DDR3-1600MHz | Samsung 840 120GB SSD | 1+2TB HDD | Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3 | Corsair CX V2 500W
    NZXT Phantom | 2x 24" 1920x1080, 1x 22" 1920x1080 | Audio Technica ATH-M50x with ModMic | Qpad MK-80 MX Blue | Logitech G600

  20. #4540
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,129
    Quote Originally Posted by Platinus View Post
    Bah, can't figure out where to put the phantom front connectors and such. The manual doesn't really cover that..
    Bottom right of the motherboard.

    There's a small, white thing that comes with your mobo. It has names corresponding.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •