1. #4801
    Quote Originally Posted by PJSand View Post
    Very nice rig. Lovin' all of the red.

    I also noticed the complete absence of capital letters and punctuation in your post/signature. *Twitch*
    Thanks!

    while not an english major where would u have liked capital letters or punctuation in my sig?
    Last edited by Flcrewpolo; 2011-12-01 at 03:06 AM.

  2. #4802
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,105
    Quote Originally Posted by PJSand View Post
    Very nice rig. Lovin' all of the red.

    I also noticed the complete absence of capital letters and punctuation in your post/signature. *Twitch*
    Oh god why did you have to point that out? Now I'm gonna go crazy.

    But that's a nice build, good work with the sleeving. Dual 6870's should smash through any game...at normal resolutions. So unless you're running a 1600p or too many displays, I'd say wait till GTX600 series. I would never recommend a 590 or 6990 to anyone due to the headaches dual-GPU cards can give. A friend of mine works at the local PC store and he's lost count of the 590/6990 RMA's they've had, said it's almost as bad as the GTX295 days (that card...seriously).

  3. #4803
    i run eyefinity for bf3 and mw3 and some wow widescreen
    also do some video/photo editing

    also planning on picking up 3 of the 27" apple high rez 2560x1600 monitors soon

  4. #4804
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,105
    So 7680x1600 in the end? At that resolution I wouldn't go with anything less than SLI 580 Lightning for 6gb total VRAM, and even then I think you would struggle to run any higher than Medium-High in BF3.
    In fact that resolution is so stupidly high I'd wait around for dual 7970s or GTX680 Lightnings. The monitors are superb for video/photo work but you're basically shooting yousrelf in the foot as far as gaming goes, IMO I'd be happy running stuff like BF3/Crysis on the middle monitor only.
    Last edited by Xuvial; 2011-12-01 at 03:44 AM.

  5. #4805
    Epic! Skelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Haligonia, NS, Canada
    Posts
    1,676
    Quote Originally Posted by Flcrewpolo View Post
    here is mine <snip>
    Great job on the tubing! I can't stand to see saggy tubes.
    i7 930 @ 4.0Ghz | Sapphire HD5970 w/ Accelero Xtreme | ASUS P6X58D Premium | 32GB Kingston DDR3-1600
    Xonar Essence STX | 128GB Vertex 4 | AX750 | Xigmatek Elysium
    Laing D5 | XSPC RX 360mm | Koolance RP-452X2 | EK-Supreme HF
    Dell 3007WFP-HC | Samsung BX2350 | Das Keyboard Model S Ultimate | Razer Naga Molten | Sennheiser HD650

  6. #4806
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,105
    Quote Originally Posted by Skelly View Post
    Great job on the tubing! I can't stand to see saggy tubes.
    Tubes can sag? I thought their thickness and short lenghts would've been enough to keep them fairly rigid.

    (wow that sounded wrong. shut up, you know what I mean!)

  7. #4807
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    So 7680x1600 in the end? At that resolution I wouldn't go with anything less than SLI 580 Lightning for 6gb total VRAM, and even then I think you would struggle to run any higher than Medium-High in BF3.
    In fact that resolution is so stupidly high I'd wait around for dual 7970s or GTX680 Lightnings. The monitors are superb for video/photo work but you're basically shooting yousrelf in the foot as far as gaming goes, IMO I'd be happy running stuff like BF3/Crysis on the middle monitor only.
    if i do end up going with 3 of them it would be for editing im thinking either 2 590s or 2 7970s/690s looking at quad gpu

    ---------- Post added 2011-12-01 at 04:03 AM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Skelly View Post
    Great job on the tubing! I can't stand to see saggy tubes.
    thanks i hate that 2 when people droop tubes etc wanted it tight and clean



    Not sure why it double posted my apology!
    Last edited by Flcrewpolo; 2011-12-01 at 04:05 AM. Reason: double post

  8. #4808
    Quote Originally Posted by Flcrewpolo View Post
    Thanks!

    while not an english major where would u have liked capital letters or punctuation in my sig?
    Nice edits Chalk one up for the grammar police. Anyway, moving on.

    I seriously do love the way all of those red components look (I'm sure it's hella fast too, but who cares about speed if it looks good, right?). I'm not quite sure about that purple neon though....

    Too much talk of saggy tubes in this thread imo.

  9. #4809
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,953
    Quote Originally Posted by PJSand View Post
    Too much talk of saggy tubes in this thread imo.
    lol more like this *page*.... thread is 241 pages. XD (If you show 20 posts per page.)
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  10. #4810
    Quote Originally Posted by PJSand View Post
    Too much talk of saggy tubes in this thread imo.
    And this;
    Quote Originally Posted by Flcrewpolo View Post
    thanks i hate that 2 when people droop tubes etc wanted it tight and clean
    Saggy tubes don't make things tight and clean.

  11. #4811
    Quote Originally Posted by PJSand View Post
    . I'm not quite sure about that purple neon though....

    Too much talk of saggy tubes in this thread imo.
    They are uv and the left 1 is hidden behind side panel other is getting moved to the back panel of the tower so not right up in the window gives the tubes a nice red glow at night

  12. #4812
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    ^Damn nice rig bro! Looks like a Cooler Master chassis yeah? Which onnnnne?
    Nope it's actually the rosewill blackhawk case. Solid case overall for its price range, definitely no complaints. Well built and looks decent. Wiring is a bit tight though seeing its a pretty slim case.


    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811147107

  13. #4813
    Who makes the boxes that people so commonly put next to their power supply? To hide the cables and achieve a cleaner look. Or is it not for that at all and has some other purpose?

  14. #4814
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,105
    Quote Originally Posted by yupholladay View Post
    Who makes the boxes that people so commonly put next to their power supply? To hide the cables and achieve a cleaner look. Or is it not for that at all and has some other purpose?
    It's just part of the case's features, i.e. HAF-X. It's not like you can get indepedent boxes because the area around each cases' PSU bay can be vastly different.

  15. #4815
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    It's just part of the case's features, i.e. HAF-X. It's not like you can get indepedent boxes because the area around each cases' PSU bay can be vastly different.
    Hrmmm I see. However, many cases have quite a bit of room around the PSU (seeing its almost required for cable management) I feel like it wouldn't be hard to make a somewhat compatible.......box.

  16. #4816
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,105
    Oh not at all, as simple as folding a piece of tin/aluminum into a box shape and spray-painting it :P

  17. #4817
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,169
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    SLI 580 Lightning for 6gb total VRAM,
    I'm pretty sure VRAM does not stack over SLI nor Crossfire.

  18. #4818
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,953
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    I'm pretty sure VRAM does not stack over SLI nor Crossfire.
    It's sad, I've heard this as well.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  19. #4819
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,621
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    I'm pretty sure VRAM does not stack over SLI nor Crossfire.
    It doesn't. Which is also why HD6990 isn't really 4GiB and GTX590 isn't really 3GiB, but in reality half. 2GiB/1.5GiB per GPU.

    Multi-graphic solutions store ones graphical memory in the other/rest of them as well.

  20. #4820
    It's because memory channels are quite dense, most of the circuit work on the PCB is memory channels into the GPU. It might be easier on a dual gpu card, but I don't see how it would ever be possible through an SLI/Crossfire bridge without seriously increasing the density of it's tracks. Shared memory channels on a single card with multiple GPU's would also lead to a staggering increase in it's footprint.

    Might be possible in the future with higher density VRAM modules, smaller GPU construction processes and better materials used in the circuits allowing for them to be smaller with the same thermal and electrical characteristics. Or some sort of shared on board memory controller (similar idea as a RAID controller) that controlled how the GPU's access the VRAM, but that could add a performance overhead that's not acceptable right now.
    Last edited by Tradewind; 2011-12-01 at 07:54 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •