1. #5281
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,608
    Still. Way too much power for a single, or even dual GTX 560 Ti's. :|

  2. #5282
    The Lightbringer Uggorthaholy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Granbury, TX
    Posts
    3,137
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Still. Way too much power for a single, or even dual GTX 560 Ti's. :|
    The 760?

    He intends on doing quite a bit within the next year - adding a second 560Ti, overclocking, adding 2-3 more HDDs, filling the case with fans. It was barely more expensive (i think 5-10 more) than the 650 and 700s we were looking at, so we figured why not.

    And for me, I got it for the new 6 series SLi potential. /greedy

  3. #5283
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    The above illustrates well why I never want to work in a midtower case - especially with a non-modular PSU ever again. :>

    Thanks for the demonstration dear Uggor.
    ASRock P67 Extreme 4 Gen3 LGA 1155
    Intel core i5-2500k
    8gb Gskill Sniper
    1tb WD Caviar Black
    Radeon sapphire 6950 2gb (Shaders unlocked and clocked to a bit above 6970)
    Corsair 750w psu
    Haf 922

  4. #5284
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,608
    Quote Originally Posted by uggorthaholy View Post
    The 760?

    He intends on doing quite a bit within the next year - adding a second 560Ti, overclocking, adding 2-3 more HDDs, filling the case with fans. It was barely more expensive (i think 5-10 more) than the 650 and 700s we were looking at, so we figured why not.
    This is the kind of thinking that is the most puzzling to me. I wouldn't personally buy a PSU with more power than I need even if it was less​.

  5. #5285
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,798
    Idk why you quoted me and posted your computer and picture Milkshake86.... but I still think it looks messy and such. =S Once you go modular you never go back? :P lol The experience working with one and realizing how much cleaner it is is just so amazing.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  6. #5286
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,129
    Cleaner? It's just a matter of work and effort. The cables don't shrink after all. You just remove the extra ones from the formula...

  7. #5287
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,798
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    Cleaner? It's just a matter of work and effort. The cables don't shrink after all. You just remove the extra ones from the formula...
    I tried and tried with my old PSU - this one is cleaner, idc how you view it!
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  8. #5288
    Warchief Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    2,242
    And the case and how it hides the cables plays a big part too You try make a clean looking build in my old case which had no space behind the MB tray or even removable other side, modular or not.

  9. #5289
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,129
    Certainly, the hardware plays a part too!

  10. #5290
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,798
    Hell hiding cables in the HAF X is not the easiest, to be frank, with a non-modular. Now that I have a modular though, things have improved vastly.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  11. #5291
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,106
    Glad to see thread is still alive and kicking with lots of lurkers coming out of their caves and posting a variety of all these unique systems...(well no, pretty much everyone has jumped on the i5 2500K bandwagon >_> I don't blame them). Great builds so far

    My Intel 320 Series 160GB arrived today, gonna update the firmware as soon as I get home and then jam it into the laptop.
    My first Intel SSD too, I can't wait! There's so much support regarding software/firmware updates, optimization, etc.
    Last edited by Xuvial; 2012-01-04 at 10:56 PM.

  12. #5292
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    This side of an imaginary line in the sand
    Posts
    3,740
    Quote Originally Posted by uggorthaholy View Post
    The 760?

    He intends on doing quite a bit within the next year - adding a second 560Ti, overclocking, adding 2-3 more HDDs, filling the case with fans. It was barely more expensive (i think 5-10 more) than the 650 and 700s we were looking at, so we figured why not.

    And for me, I got it for the new 6 series SLi potential. /greedy
    I'm pretty sure I can't add a second 560Ti on my HX750 without seriously compromising its efficiency, at least during load.

    But I run 4x7200RPM drives and a bunch of fans... so that might have something to do with it.

    Still, going slightly overkill on a PSU isn't necessarily a bad thing, especially if it keeps efficiency high between the wall and the system.
    red panda red panda red panda!

  13. #5293
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,608
    Quote Originally Posted by Asera View Post
    I'm pretty sure I can't add a second 560Ti on my HX750 without seriously compromising its efficiency, at least during load.

    But I run 4x7200RPM drives and a bunch of fans... so that might have something to do with it.

    Still, going slightly overkill on a PSU isn't necessarily a bad thing, especially if it keeps efficiency high between the wall and the system.
    Assuming CPU is overclocked at 4.6MHz, four 7200RPM and an ODD and SSD, but GPUs would run non-overclocked (which I know you don't run, but for the sake of you adding the calculation of the overclocks), you're now pulling 450w at realistic load ([email protected] or gaming). Benchmark loading is 496w.
    The same figures with a second GTX 560 Ti would be 571w and 629w. I'd say, with overclocks, you'd still be safe. Albeit, dual cards don't clock as well.

    Going overkill on the PSU is a bad thing. For one thing, its life expectancy goes down as it ages faster ~50% load compared to 75%, meaning you'd suffer more from capacitator aging. Meaning, efficiency goes down. :P

  14. #5294
    Brewmaster Fierae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Posts
    1,333
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Going overkill on the PSU is a bad thing. For one thing, its life expectancy goes down as it ages faster ~50% load compared to 75%, meaning you'd suffer more from capacitator aging. Meaning, efficiency goes down. :P
    Aren't most new age caps rated at like 10 years of prolonged use nowadays?
    Digital Rumination
    Plays: Burning Legion EU - Fieran (Feral/Guardian) | Elite Dangerous (NoMercy)
    Played: EVE - 37mil SP | Rift Mage | Guild Wars 2 - Mesmer | SW:TOR Sage | BF4 | Smite | LoL | Skyrim
    i7 3930K - 16GB Corsair Vengeance - GTX Titan SLI - Samsung 750GB 840 EVO - Corsair 540 - Full WC - Triple 1440p Monitors

  15. #5295
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,798
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Assuming CPU is overclocked at 4.6MHz
    Well, I think the person could just settle for like 4.0MHz, I mean, will that extra .6MHz really make all the difference in Pong or Tetris?

    All meant in silly fun humor. :>
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  16. #5296
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,608
    Gigahertz, of course, yes.

  17. #5297
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,798
    Quote Originally Posted by alilei31 View Post


    UPS finally decided to show up today. Damn 4 day weekend for them.

    Case: Rosewill BlackHawk
    MB: Asus P8Z68 Pro
    CPU: Intel i5-2500K
    RAM: 8 gigs Gskill Ripjaw
    PSU: Corsair TX750
    GPU: EVGA 560ti 448 cores
    Please post pictures of the hardware out of the boxes too and the building process and final results. :3
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  18. #5298
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    This side of an imaginary line in the sand
    Posts
    3,740
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Assuming CPU is overclocked at 4.6MHz, four 7200RPM and an ODD and SSD, but GPUs would run non-overclocked (which I know you don't run, but for the sake of you adding the calculation of the overclocks), you're now pulling 450w at realistic load ([email protected] or gaming). Benchmark loading is 496w.
    The same figures with a second GTX 560 Ti would be 571w and 629w. I'd say, with overclocks, you'd still be safe. Albeit, dual cards don't clock as well.

    Going overkill on the PSU is a bad thing. For one thing, its life expectancy goes down as it ages faster ~50% load compared to 75%, meaning you'd suffer more from capacitator aging. Meaning, efficiency goes down. :P
    My 560Ti is the TF3 Hawk version clocked at 950mhz stock. I've set it to 1ghz. I think it uses a tad more power at the very least. Maybe the lack of an ODD offsets that? (Who the hell uses optical drives now anyway)

    I didn't say overkill, I said slightly overkill. I was originally going to swap the awful 600W Silverstone Strider I had before with another 600-650W unit, but the HX750 was on sale for $110CAD at the time.
    red panda red panda red panda!

  19. #5299
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,106
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Please post pictures of the hardware out of the boxes too and the building process and final results. :3
    Why, need PC building tips Delt?

  20. #5300
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,798
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Why, need PC building tips Delt?
    ..... :O

    YOUUUUUUUUUUU!!!

    You know you want to see more pictures in this thread too.
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •