1. #5641
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,526
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigdunka View Post
    Cyanotical, I'm trying to follow your water loop configuration, can't quite tell 100% what is going on there. Is that just two loops, the 360mm fan radiator dedicated to the GPUs with a reservoir in the front and then a 2nd loop dedicated for the CPU? If so, do you have the exhaust fan for that in the bottom of the case, and what kind of cooler are you using for the CPU?
    the 360 on the top is just for the GPUs, i have found that it is more then sufficient for cooling both 590's, the second loop is just for the CPU, and goes to a cooler master aquagate 240 radiator, it has two fans in push, and the two fans from the base HDD cooler in front of them, its possible to mount it in push-pull, but i cant find the screws i need

    i do plan on swapping out the fans for both the cpu and gpu radiators with CM excalibers or PWM R4's when i get ahold of a corsair link kit

    i7-6700K | Z170 Class. K | 16GB DDR4-3200 | GTX-980ti | Samsung 950 Pro RAID0 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | Lian Li PC-07S
    ROG Swift PG348Q | Ducky DSX | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  2. #5642
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,184
    Wouldn't it have been better to go for a single, bigger loop with potentially connected pumps? o.o

  3. #5643
    CPU 2.2 GHZ Core 2 duo
    Ram 2Gb 1033 Mhz
    V.C. GF8600TG
    HDD 250Gb
    and it suckks
    Kenny gona die tonight!!!

  4. #5644
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,184
    Moreover, I think I've understood why my graphics card appears to make coil whine... it's coil whine from the PSU, derp.

    That annoys me, but this seems to be a reasonable conclusion when the problem transcends two different graphic cards. Sigh. I hope I don't have to begin sending part after part in for repair to find out what's making the bloody noise.

    There's probably no good way of testing for coil whine is there?

  5. #5645
    Elemental Lord Notarget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    8,374
    Do you have a spare PSU you could use to see if it makes a difference?

  6. #5646
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,184
    No, I don't. I'm probably going to purchase another PSU so I'm not computer-less while I RMA my current one though.

  7. #5647
    Pit Lord Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    2,274
    That mushkin redline ram is just pure awesomeness in that board, Cyanotical :> Makes me want to get the blackline for myself but just can't find it stocked anywhere in Finland at the moment.

    Any good international webshop suggestions from european area, anyone?

  8. #5648
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,630
    Yea. The AX-series, while silent, have a tendency to coil-whine, something I've not heard reported from the X-series from SeaSonic (but might just mean I've been looking at the wrong places) from which it's based.

    Kind of sad, since I'm pondering the AX850 myself.
    And kind of how I look at the Windforce-cards from Gigabyte. In themselves quiet, but, has coil whining issues.

  9. #5649
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,184
    Well, it's quite a bit hit and miss, and from what I can tell I can actually get a replacement for what they define as "excessive coil whine"

    Thing is though, it's hard to tell what's just random background noise, so it took me a long while to realize it wasn't just my ears ringing or something.

  10. #5650
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,630
    Quote Originally Posted by Ghâzh View Post
    Any good international webshop suggestions from european area, anyone?
    http://www.liontech.se/PartDetail.aspx?q=p:3247315 not sure if they ship to Finland though, yet most Swedish companies do..

    (EDIT: I realise the picture is red, but it said blackline where I got the link from [prisjakt.nu] and in the paranthesis, so I'm guessing they've been lazy with the picture)

  11. #5651
    Pit Lord Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    2,274
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    http://www.liontech.se/PartDetail.aspx?q=p:3247315 not sure if they ship to Finland though, yet most Swedish companies do..

    (EDIT: I realise the picture is red, but it said blackline where I got the link from [prisjakt.nu] and in the paranthesis, so I'm guessing they've been lazy with the picture)
    The thing is, though, that I can find that exact same kit from local pc shop (1.65 volts, tighter timings and 2x2gb size). I'm more like after the cheaper sandy bridge version with 1.5 volts, regular timings and 4gb module size (something like this)

  12. #5652
    Quote Originally Posted by Ghâzh View Post
    The thing is, though, that I can find that exact same kit from local pc shop (1.65 volts, tighter timings and 2x2gb size). I'm more like after the cheaper sandy bridge version with 1.5 volts, regular timings and 4gb module size (something like this)
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mushkin-9969...7103277&sr=8-9 perhaps?

    --------

    Just upgraded my computer today, upgraded from am2+ ddr2 motherboard with phenom2 x4 965 to:

    Asrock Extreme3 Gen 3
    I5 [email protected]
    Noctua NH-D14
    8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1.35V 1600MHz
    Corsair Force GT 120gb

    Old parts still in use:
    Fractal Design Define R2
    Corsair VX450
    XFX Radeon HD 5770
    Bunch of Hdds

    Currently running Prime95: http://i.imgur.com/wqVIU.png

    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2208253
    Last edited by n0cturnal; 2012-01-20 at 11:59 PM.

  13. #5653
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,184
    So thoughts on what colors I should use my sleeving when I get a powersupply that doesn't coil whine, etc? Single cable sleeve, mind you. I'm going black for most of them, but an alternate color for the 6pin on the pcie, 4 of the 8pin and the grounding cable on the 24pin.

  14. #5654
    Pit Lord Ghâzh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    2,274
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    Something like that, cheers .

    Offtopic: My new case and PSU finally arriver, pics inc as soon as I find me camera :>

  15. #5655
    New monitor! I've been wanting to buy an LED monitor to use as my primary screen for a while now, and I finally found a decent monitor at a good price. I thought I had found an open box on Tigerdirect, but after they shipped it without a power cord and told me it would take up to two weeks to send me one I returned it. I decided to look on Staples' website this afternoon (for some reason they always have really good deals on monitors, better than any other site I know of), got this 23" Dell SR2320L for a great price!





    Primary monitor.


    Secondary monitor.
    Last edited by noteworthynerd; 2012-01-21 at 01:09 AM.

  16. #5656
    I am Murloc! Fuzzykins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5,219
    I have that monitor and despise it. It looks so unclear to me in comparison to say my laptop or my friend's monitor.

  17. #5657
    It is a vast improvement over the Acer monitor I was using, and I'd say it is on par with my Macbook Pro's monitor...

  18. #5658
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,630
    Quote Originally Posted by noteworthynerd View Post
    It is a vast improvement over the Acer monitor I was using, and I'd say it is on par with my Macbook Pro's monitor...
    Which is a high-quality TN-panel, for sure (no sarcasm).
    I can't check the site for more details about that monitor, since I have to enter my US zip code, which I have none. I'm also too lazy to look it up.
    But, it will almost be on par with the Dell UltraSharp, if it's as good as an MBP-screen. I'll look it up later.

  19. #5659
    I am Murloc! Fuzzykins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5,219
    Mine seems to have almost a colorful film of pixels. It's really evident when looking at static colored backgrounds or white.

  20. #5660
    This one I built over the last year... upgrading as I see fit. The only thing I need to replace asap is a new case.

    Cpu - Intel i7 2600k 3.4ghz overclocked to 4.8ghz
    Cpu cooler - Corsair h80
    Motherboard- P67 Sabretooth
    Memory - 4x Corsair Vengeance 4g 1866mhz
    PSU - Jaguar gx g1050 1000w
    Case - Thermaltake Tsunami Dream
    Graphic card- Zotac Nvidia GTX580 1536mb Amp edition
    Hard drives - Corsair Force 3 ssd 60g + external freeagent goflex 2tb
    OS - Windows 7 64bit
    Moniter - LG 42" Led tv
    mouse - Razer Naga epic
    keyboard - razer black widow ultimate

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •