1. #5701
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Aurora, Co
    Posts
    5,035
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Cyanotical should read all posts! ^_^ I got a lot of free software from Microsoft now due to my college courses, one being 7 Professional 64 bit, and I believe the 1155 boards can support 8GB modules. :P
    i saw the thing about the software, i get the same thing for being an adviser for cyberpatriot,

    and i know they can support 8gb dimms, but there is a difference between certified and capable, most if not all p67's and z68's are capable of running 8gb dimms, but not all of them are certified for it

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | FT02
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei Wireless | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  2. #5702
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,024
    I'll have to look into it.... I think my box at least says something about 8GB modules either being capable/certified or will be....

    ---------- Post added 2012-01-23 at 01:09 AM ----------

    Asus will update QVL once the DIMMs are available on the market... I take it that's a BIOS update of some sort.

  3. #5703
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Aurora, Co
    Posts
    5,035
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    I'll have to look into it.... I think my box at least says something about 8GB modules either being capable/certified or will be....
    its not a huge deal, more of a double check thing, if it says it supports 8gb dimms then you are fine, if not, it will still probably support them, but you do run the risk of them not working

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | FT02
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei Wireless | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  4. #5704
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,024
    P8P67 BIOS 2103
    "1. Improve memory compatibility
    2. Improve system stability"
    I think that's worth flashing for. ;p

  5. #5705
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/147

    Just go through that and find what you consider satisfying. Realize the numbers are done in a fairly boring environment though. The benches can't hold a candle to a 25man raid after all. The link above says 63.8 fps, but on the other hand the i3 2100 says 94.1 fps. o_O;

    ---------- Post added 2012-01-23 at 01:43 AM ----------

    That said, I think we drifted offtopic from your question. O_o;

    Personally, the cooler you get with the CPU is fair enough for the time being, imo. It'd be a bigger deal to get a worthwhile graphics card. What are you planning to use the computer for anyway, and what sort of budget are you on, etc?
    Loving that link, bookmarked!!

    Looks like im going to go for the x6 phenom II 1055t, 68 fps in WoW, I assume that is under heavier load than a 25man? Although im nto too fussed as I hit a max of 6 fps atm. Lol.

    Its used for mostly wow and general use, I do want to frapsing more and youtube vids etc.

  6. #5706
    Warchief Prixie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Oostende, Belgium
    Posts
    2,004
    Quote Originally Posted by Halatosis View Post
    Loving that link, bookmarked!!

    Looks like im going to go for the x6 phenom II 1055t, 68 fps in WoW, I assume that is under heavier load than a 25man? Although im nto too fussed as I hit a max of 6 fps atm. Lol.

    Its used for mostly wow and general use, I do want to frapsing more and youtube vids etc.
    Highly unlikely. It says 74 for my CPU at stock clocks and I dip to 30's in 25 mans, overclocked to 4.1GHz.

  7. #5707
    The Patient Kenshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    298
    PC Tower: CM HAF 932 Big
    Motherboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO, Socket-2011
    CPU: Intel® Core i7-3930K Processor
    GPU: Asus Radeon HD 6970 ( considering buying 7970, but unsure price is worth it yet)
    CPU Cooler: Corsair H100 Hydro Series
    RAM: Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333MHz 8GB CL9
    PSU: Corsair TX750M 750W
    HHD: Corsair 3series SSD 120GB + WD Caviar 2TB 7200

    Should last me a while I hope ^^

  8. #5708
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,024
    So flashing from 1503 BIOS to the 2103 update chopped like 10~ seconds off my boot time, damn... I should do some benchmarking, having updated the firmware on my SSD and this BIOS flash... things are definitely acting more snippy.

    ---------- Post added 2012-01-23 at 01:46 AM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Kenshin View Post
    PC Tower: CM HAF 932 Big
    Motherboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO, Socket-2011
    CPU: Intel® Core i7-3930K Processor
    GPU: Asus Radeon HD 6970 ( considering buying 7970, but unsure price is worth it yet)
    CPU Cooler: Corsair H100 Hydro Series
    RAM: Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333MHz 8GB CL9
    PSU: Corsair TX750M 750W
    HHD: Corsair 3series SSD 120GB + WD Caviar 2TB 7200

    Should last me a while I hope ^^
    Holy crap. Another Sandy Bridge E build!

    The 750 watt PSU though is probably bottle-necking your expansion-ability, however - like I would not suggest adding another 6970 in for Crossfire... definitely not.

  9. #5709
    The Patient Kenshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    298
    Holy crap. Another Sandy Bridge E build!

    The 750 watt PSU though is probably bottle-necking your expansion-ability, however - like I would not suggest adding another 6970 in for Crossfire... definitely not.[/QUOTE]

    I wasnt planning on crossfire. Just replacing the 6970 for a 7970. But im pretty skint after those parts ^^ Bigger PSU i can afford, but when I asked the guys at komplett.no, they said 750w would be enough still for this setup.

  10. #5710
    Scarab Lord M0cha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    4,788
    While this isn't my rig...
    http://i767.photobucket.com/albums/x...3/93e6e727.jpg
    This exists...
    O.o
    4CPU's.
    http://www.overclock.net/t/1199680/p...l-costin/0_100
    Really touching story behind it as well.

  11. #5711
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,024
    Quote Originally Posted by Kenshin View Post
    I wasnt planning on crossfire. Just replacing the 6970 for a 7970. But im pretty skint after those parts ^^ Bigger PSU i can afford, but when I asked the guys at komplett.no, they said 750w would be enough still for this setup.
    yeah it's enough, just doesn't give you must extra wattage for future additions, that's all.

  12. #5712
    Those benchmarks at full graphics settings you reckon?

  13. #5713
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,471
    Quote Originally Posted by Kenshin View Post
    Holy crap. Another Sandy Bridge E build!

    The 750 watt PSU though is probably bottle-necking your expansion-ability, however - like I would not suggest adding another 6970 in for Crossfire... definitely not.
    I wasnt planning on crossfire. Just replacing the 6970 for a 7970. But im pretty skint after those parts ^^ Bigger PSU i can afford, but when I asked the guys at komplett.no, they said 750w would be enough still for this setup.
    It will be.
    It might run close if you overclock all of it through hell and back, but you should have no trouble supporting dual 6970s with that CPU, despite the latter being powerhungry.

    Two 7970, not so much though.

    A shame you ruined the build with a horrid case, though.

  14. #5714
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,024
    Quote Originally Posted by Halatosis View Post
    Those benchmarks at full graphics settings you reckon?
    The little speech bubble next to World of Warcraft says:

    Windows 7
    1680x1050
    All details maxed, no AA

  15. #5715
    The Patient Kenshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    298
    I kinda like the tower, I know lots of people say it looks horrid. But people just have different tastes. I really don't like towers that looks too insane. ^^

  16. #5716
    Looks like I can safely OC this processor to 3.8 with no stability issues.....might even be able to push it to 4....not too bad, that should up the performance some :P and net more fps.

    Thanks for the tips, time for sleep so I can get up early enough to cancel this order, lols.

    Halatosis

  17. #5717
    Bloodsail Admiral Fierae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Posts
    1,232
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Holy crap. Another Sandy Bridge E build!
    We're taking over, just you watch.
    Digital Rumination
    Plays: Azjol-Nerub EU - Fieran (Feral) | Smite | LoL | Skyrim | BF4
    Played: EVE - 37mil SP | Rift Mage | Guild Wars 2 - Mesmer | SW:TOR Sage
    i7 3930K - 16GB Corsair Vengeance - GTX Titan SLI - Samsung 750GB 840 EVO - Corsair 540 - Full WC

  18. #5718
    Out of curiosity, can I use my old Gtx 470 as a dedicated PhysX card?

  19. #5719
    Bloodsail Admiral Fierae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Posts
    1,232
    I'm sure you can yes, but I don't think you'd want to really, there are only a handful of games that even use PhysX:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PhysX#PhysX_in_video_games
    Digital Rumination
    Plays: Azjol-Nerub EU - Fieran (Feral) | Smite | LoL | Skyrim | BF4
    Played: EVE - 37mil SP | Rift Mage | Guild Wars 2 - Mesmer | SW:TOR Sage
    i7 3930K - 16GB Corsair Vengeance - GTX Titan SLI - Samsung 750GB 840 EVO - Corsair 540 - Full WC

  20. #5720
    Well, I'm not using the graphics card for anything else atm.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •