1. #21
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,036
    Quote Originally Posted by Sajakain View Post
    If you ever fancy researching into "monitors with no edge" I would recommend you start here.
    /facepalm
    That's just one giant 50" monitor that's bent around you. And it costs more than your life, which is the key reason no sane gamer uses that.

    Come back to me when you find a multi-monitor, scalable solution that involves having no edges (or hardly visible edges) to give a seamless view. Not one giant $20,000 screen.
    Last edited by Xuvial; 2010-11-26 at 08:58 AM.

  2. #22
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Come back to me when you find a multi-monitor, scalable solution that involves having no edges (or hardly visible edges) to give a seamless view. Not one giant $20,000 screen.
    Hey: it's not my fault if you want your cake and wish to eat it, too. You want a multi-monitor setup with no edges? Good luck. You could probably purchase something along the lines of this but even then -- there's still that slight edge between the three.

    Sure, my link may cost more than are willing to spend but that's the price of what you want. It'd be like saying you want your Kia Spectra to move as fast as a Lamborghini but without the price.
    Ductus exemplo.

  3. #23
    Here's the Pic, I'll post the specs when I get home :P

    The external stuff I know off the top of my head.

    Rig Components:
    Case: Cool Master HAF 932 Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Core i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz
    Motherboard: ASUS® P6T Deluxe Ver. 2
    RAM: Patriot Viper II Series 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 1600MHz
    Graphics Card: Sapphire ATI Radeon HD5870 Vapor-X
    PSU: 800W

    Computer Perfs:
    Keyboard: Steelseries Merc Stealth Z-board.
    Mouse: R.A.T. 7 Gaming Mouse
    Headset: Steelseries Siberia Headset
    Desktop Speakers: Logitech 5.1 Surround Sound
    Monitor 1: 25" Samsung 2493hm LCD Display
    Monitor 2: 24" Samsung 2494 LCD Display (I might have these backwards)
    Monitor 3: 24" NEC MuliSync E231WMI LCD Display

    Picture is here.
    Last edited by Diber; 2010-11-27 at 05:04 PM. Reason: Added internal parts. // Fixed the photo.
    Past 'rigs in service (Now the dad's gaming rig):

    Current 'rigs:

  4. #24
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    3,695
    I win so far in the desk plushie army category.
    Node 304 | i7 3770 | H77N WIFI | 2x4GiB HyperX 1600 | 2x512GB MX100 | 7870 2GiB | U2711 | 6GV2 | Naga Hex Wrath | Yamaha RX-V550 | Win7 Enterprise
    15" Retina MBP | i7 4960HQ | 16GiB 1600 | 512GB PCIe SSD | IRIS Pro + GT750M | Orochi | OSX 10.9.4

  5. #25
    Quote Originally Posted by Asera View Post
    I win so far in the desk plushie army category.
    So my only question to you is... Why is that Timmie's cup not full of sweet sweet caffine?!
    Past 'rigs in service (Now the dad's gaming rig):

    Current 'rigs:

  6. #26
    Case: Antec Nine Hundred Two.
    CPU: Intel Core i7 980X Extreme Edition OC @ 4.4GHZ
    Motherboard: ASUS® P6X58D-E: DDR3, USB 3.0, SATA 6.0GB/s, 3-Way SLI
    RAM: 8GB CORSAIR XMS3 DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (4 x 2GB)
    GFX: TRIPLE SLI GTX 480
    PSU: 1500W
    All being water cooled, with 4 case fans.

  7. #27
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    3,695
    Quote Originally Posted by Diber View Post
    So my only question to you is... Why is that Timmie's cup not full of sweet sweet caffine?!
    It's a gift for my significant other, who lives in Florida. :3
    Last edited by Asera; 2010-11-26 at 02:32 PM. Reason: cant splel!
    Node 304 | i7 3770 | H77N WIFI | 2x4GiB HyperX 1600 | 2x512GB MX100 | 7870 2GiB | U2711 | 6GV2 | Naga Hex Wrath | Yamaha RX-V550 | Win7 Enterprise
    15" Retina MBP | i7 4960HQ | 16GiB 1600 | 512GB PCIe SSD | IRIS Pro + GT750M | Orochi | OSX 10.9.4

  8. #28
    Moderator Cilraaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    9,040
    Quote Originally Posted by Firatha View Post
    Redo the post I have had that happen today a few times
    Do not redo posts when they're caught by the moderation filter. It only creates more work for the mods. We'll be along to approve the post at some point. Usually, threads are caught by the moderation filter when they include a lot of URLs or (as I've seen recently) model numbers by a low post count user.

  9. #29
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,036
    Quote Originally Posted by Craigadiddle View Post
    Case: Antec Nine Hundred Two.
    CPU: Intel Core i7 980X Extreme Edition OC @ 4.4GHZ
    Motherboard: ASUS® P6X58D-E: DDR3, USB 3.0, SATA 6.0GB/s, 3-Way SLI
    RAM: 8GB CORSAIR XMS3 DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (4 x 2GB)
    GFX: TRIPLE SLI GTX 480
    PSU: 1500W
    All being water cooled, with 4 case fans.
    8gb dual RAM on a tri-channel motherboard, cool story bro.

  10. #30
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    8gb dual RAM on a tri-channel motherboard, cool story bro.
    Didn't catch that... while 8GB on a tri-channel mobo is doable, you're only gimping yourself. The standard 6GB (3 x 2GB) in tri-channel will outperform that 8GB any day of the week. Plus, running 8GB in dual channel (because you have to, no way out of it) on a flippin i7 980X Extreme Edition is laughable and deserves a /point and /laugh.

  11. #31
    High Overlord Firatha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Canada/Elune US
    Posts
    133
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    8gb dual RAM on a tri-channel motherboard, cool story bro.
    Ya I agree thats pretty awful.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cantii View Post
    Didn't catch that... while 8GB on a tri-channel mobo is doable, you're only gimping yourself. The standard 6GB (3 x 2GB) in tri-channel will outperform that 8GB any day of the week. Plus, running 8GB in dual channel (because you have to, no way out of it) on a flippin i7 980X Extreme Edition is laughable and deserves a /point and /laugh.
    /points at Craigadiddle /laugh.
    Quote Originally Posted by MyLifeIsRandom View Post
    The bricks I'm shoving into this cannon are definitely not aimed at you. No need to worry.
    Quote Originally Posted by Esdese View Post
    No, silent ones are the best. Nothing is worse than hearing a German dude go "JAH SCHMECK DASS, DASS SCHMECK GUT JAAAH".
    Quote Originally Posted by Manakin View Post
    I'm bi and prefer female friendly porn Seeing a jacked dude with tribal tats and military grade hair plowing this screaming banshee kills my little manakin

  12. #32
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    3,695
    Quote Originally Posted by Cantii View Post
    Didn't catch that... while 8GB on a tri-channel mobo is doable, you're only gimping yourself. The standard 6GB (3 x 2GB) in tri-channel will outperform that 8GB any day of the week. Plus, running 8GB in dual channel (because you have to, no way out of it) on a flippin i7 980X Extreme Edition is laughable and deserves a /point and /laugh.
    I thought LGA1366 i7 systems could run only in triple or single?
    Node 304 | i7 3770 | H77N WIFI | 2x4GiB HyperX 1600 | 2x512GB MX100 | 7870 2GiB | U2711 | 6GV2 | Naga Hex Wrath | Yamaha RX-V550 | Win7 Enterprise
    15" Retina MBP | i7 4960HQ | 16GiB 1600 | 512GB PCIe SSD | IRIS Pro + GT750M | Orochi | OSX 10.9.4

  13. #33
    Quote Originally Posted by Asera View Post
    I thought LGA1366 i7 systems could run only in triple or single?
    Nope, LGA 1366 can do dual channel as well as triple and single channel. To get single channel, you'd pretty much have to use the wrong DIMM and/or use an odd amount of RAM (like 10GB) and for dual channel, you would have to use dual channel memory and/or an odd amount of RAM. (8GB, 10GB etc). They can run all three, but will default to dual channel when necessary.

  14. #34
    High Overlord RushLimbaugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    In your mind
    Posts
    112
    I use a laptop =P.

    But, here goes:

    Laptop Model
    Acer 7745G-6662

    Processor:
    Core i7 720QM @ 1.6GHz, 2.8GHz OCed

    GPU:
    Radeon Mobility HD5650 1GB

    RAM:
    8GB DDR3 1333

    HDD1:
    60GB OCZ Agility 2 SSD

    HDD2:
    Seagate Momentus 750GB @ 7200RPM

    HDD3 (NAS):
    Home built 6TB FreeNAS system =)

    Monitor:
    Built In: 17" LED LCD, unsure of brand.
    External: 27" Asus VE276Q LED LCD Panel (running HDMI out of laptop, other HDMI port for HDMI switch from XBOX360, TV, etc)

    Mouse: NZXT Avatar @ 2600 DPI

    Keyboard:
    Logitech Illuminated Scissorkey Ultraslim keyboard.
    Last edited by RushLimbaugh; 2010-11-27 at 08:40 PM. Reason: forgot hard drives!

  15. #35
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    8gb dual RAM on a tri-channel motherboard, cool story bro.
    Yeah what the hell was he thinking, buying 2 dual channel kits and fitting 4gb, 2gb, 2gb in tri channel config, that really gimped him.


  16. #36
    Here's my setup:

    Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.6ghz
    Corsair H70 Watercooling unit
    Gigabyte P55M-UD4 mATX motherboard
    8gb DDR3-1600 memory from Corsair
    Corsair GS700 Power Supply (I can toggle three different LED colors via a switch on the back)
    3TB worth of HDD storage ( 1x2TB and 1x1TB )
    XFX Radeon HD 5870
    Cooler Master HAF 922 Mid-Tower case

    Here's a picture link to the case: http://img690.imageshack.us/img690/9272/img0001gn.jpg

  17. #37
    Quote Originally Posted by DeusEx View Post
    Here's my setup:

    Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.6ghz
    Corsair H70 Watercooling unit
    Gigabyte P55M-UD4 mATX motherboard
    8gb DDR3-1600 memory from Corsair
    Corsair GS700 Power Supply (I can toggle three different LED colors via a switch on the back)
    3TB worth of HDD storage ( 1x2TB and 1x1TB )
    XFX Radeon HD 5870
    Cooler Master HAF 922 Mid-Tower case

    Here's a picture link to the case: http://img690.imageshack.us/img690/9272/img0001gn.jpg
    Interesting... I really don't like how the radiator/pump/whatever is literally sitting on top of the video card. What're you overclocking your CPU to? You can probably get a stable 4GHz - 4.5GHz out of the i7 860 with the water cooling.

  18. #38
    Quote Originally Posted by Affiniti View Post

    3456x1680 resolution. Yes, 2 feet tall by 3 feet wide. 22" screens in Portrait mode.
    The glare isn't there. I got free upgrades to the 2209 which fixes that.


    Core I7 920 D0 Overclocked to 4.0Ghz
    Two EVGA GTX460 1GB EE (850/1700/2100)
    6GB DDR3 CORSAIR RAM
    OCZ Agility 2 120GB SSD
    Looks like a fun setup. Did it take long to get used to using outside of gaming?
    http://www.orphanguild.com/ - SWTOR Guild US West Coast PvP

  19. #39
    Quote Originally Posted by Cantii View Post
    Interesting... I really don't like how the radiator/pump/whatever is literally sitting on top of the video card. What're you overclocking your CPU to? You can probably get a stable 4GHz - 4.5GHz out of the i7 860 with the water cooling.
    I chose the HAF922 because it met my needs between full-blown tower and space-constrained area. I've had the CPU oc'ed up to 4.2ghz and it'd boot into windows, but it would nearly immediately error as soon as I launched any programs within Windows, but I currently have it at 3.6ghz until I can get some replacement fans that'll push more air around, at which point I'll push it further.

  20. #40
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    3,695
    Quote Originally Posted by DeusEx View Post
    I chose the HAF922 because it met my needs between full-blown tower and space-constrained area. I've had the CPU oc'ed up to 4.2ghz and it'd boot into windows, but it would nearly immediately error as soon as I launched any programs within Windows, but I currently have it at 3.6ghz until I can get some replacement fans that'll push more air around, at which point I'll push it further.
    Sounds like you need to play with voltages a bit (or you have some set to auto and they are pumping too hard on this setting on your northbridge), your CPU can't take 4.2ghz (OCing maximums depend on your cpu. ie: some people can get a PhenomII X4 955BE to 4+ghz, whereas I can't get mine much past 3.8), or there's another component that's holding you back.
    Node 304 | i7 3770 | H77N WIFI | 2x4GiB HyperX 1600 | 2x512GB MX100 | 7870 2GiB | U2711 | 6GV2 | Naga Hex Wrath | Yamaha RX-V550 | Win7 Enterprise
    15" Retina MBP | i7 4960HQ | 16GiB 1600 | 512GB PCIe SSD | IRIS Pro + GT750M | Orochi | OSX 10.9.4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •