1. #6901
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,183
    CM Storm Enforcer.

  2. #6902
    Elemental Lord
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    America's Hat
    Posts
    8,438
    Whelp, I got it all built, too bad the fan on my H80 as well as one of my front case fans are both dead, cool guy. I am going to pick up a couple of those Xigmatek 120mm fans as well as a couple 140mm ones to add to my case, I have 3 installed at the moment but am going to move my H80 to the exhaust port on the rear, with the two 140mm's up top as well as in the sides. I will link my Photobucket page since the pictures might be too large for the forum.

    http://s27.photobucket.com/albums/c177/AcousticSmash/
    Last edited by Rennadrel; 2012-05-02 at 10:29 PM.

    Congrats to the 8 fools who made the ignore list, your ignorance knows no bounds, bravo!

  3. #6903
    Can you either tell us the password or remove the password renn?
    Intel i7 5820K (4.5 GHz) | MSI X99A MPower | 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Samsung 951PRO nVME 512GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Crucial MX200 1TB | Western Digital Caviar Black 2000GB | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Noctua NH-D15 | Fractal Define R5 | Seasonic X850

    Former author of the TankSpot.com Protection Paladin guide

  4. #6904

  5. #6905
    Elemental Lord
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    America's Hat
    Posts
    8,438
    Quote Originally Posted by Butler Log View Post
    Can you either tell us the password or remove the password renn?
    Sorry, edited the link.

    Congrats to the 8 fools who made the ignore list, your ignorance knows no bounds, bravo!

  6. #6906
    Quote Originally Posted by Rennadrel View Post
    Sorry, edited the link.
    Still seems to be linking to a private album
    Intel i5 2500K | ASRock z77 Extreme4 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance LP | Gigabyte Windforcex3 GTX 680 OC | Crucial M4 128GB
    Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB | H100 | NZXT Hale90 850w | Arc Midi
    Filco Ninja Majestouch-2 (Browns)

  7. #6907
    Elemental Lord
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    America's Hat
    Posts
    8,438
    Quote Originally Posted by Resinderate View Post
    Still seems to be linking to a private album
    Yeah, derp me, I just changed it to public.

    Congrats to the 8 fools who made the ignore list, your ignorance knows no bounds, bravo!

  8. #6908
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,110
    Quote Originally Posted by Drainedsoul View Post
    All different monitors tee hee :P
    I don't suppose you use those for surround/eyefinity and tend to use them more on an individual basis?

  9. #6909
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    All different monitors tee hee :P
    23" Samsung LED LCD | 30" Dell IPS U3011 | 27" LG LED LCD

    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    I don't suppose you use those for surround/eyefinity and tend to use them more on an individual basis?
    I like to have the option of just clicking out of games to IM/browse/change music.

  10. #6910
    Elemental Lord
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    America's Hat
    Posts
    8,438
    It must have been a long day, I forgot to plug in the molex connector for my H80, explains why the fan wasn't spinning. Regardless, I moved it to the rear of the case cause it doesn't suspend from the top with both fans on it. Looks like I will just get 4 more of those Xigmatek 140mm silent fans, the thing is cool running as it is, but more doesn't hurt

    Congrats to the 8 fools who made the ignore list, your ignorance knows no bounds, bravo!

  11. #6911
    Stood in the Fire Jalfrezi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Durham, England
    Posts
    459
    Quote Originally Posted by rinleezwins View Post
    What is that case?
    CM Storm Enforcer, but I sprayed the black grill and PCI slot overs red.

  12. #6912
    Elemental Lord
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    America's Hat
    Posts
    8,438
    Did some overclocking, I really dig the MSI BIOS screen on these Z77 boards, it's so simplistic and you can use a mouse too. Running my 2600k at 4.6Ghz currently without tweaking any other settings, just changed the clock frequency and that was it. The temperatures are a bit high at 35 degrees idle, but that's OK.

    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2355539

    Congrats to the 8 fools who made the ignore list, your ignorance knows no bounds, bravo!

  13. #6913
    You didn't need to change anything like load-line calibration? Just the multiplier and set voltage to 1.32v?
    Intel i7 5820K (4.5 GHz) | MSI X99A MPower | 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Samsung 951PRO nVME 512GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Crucial MX200 1TB | Western Digital Caviar Black 2000GB | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Noctua NH-D15 | Fractal Define R5 | Seasonic X850

    Former author of the TankSpot.com Protection Paladin guide

  14. #6914
    Elemental Lord Drunkenvalley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    8,183
    It's an auto-overclock I believe. So simply setting the multiplier is logically enough for it to enable or alter any necessary features.

  15. #6915
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,110
    Just changed the clock frequency and that's it? There is just 1 other setting you need to manually set and that is the core voltage (vCore). When motherboards are left to automatically decide the voltage for overclocked chips, some tend to throw out excessive voltage or even undervolt, causing instability. It looks like your chip will be happy with 1.32v @ 4.6ghz, so go back into BIOS and manually set it to 1.32v and you're golden. If you notice instability during Prime 95 (or whatever you use to test stability) then nudge the voltage a teeny bit higher to 1.325v, then 1.33v, etc.
    All other settings can be left to auto/defaults since it's just a moderate OC.

    Also keep an eye on temps

    Also GUI-based BIOS's where you can use the mouse have been around since the P67 days (or maybe even earlier), it's not specific to Z77 boards or MSI boards. Though I will admit MSI's implementation is pretty good unlike *cough* Gigabyte *cough* :P
    Last edited by Xuvial; 2012-05-03 at 10:29 PM.

  16. #6916
    Elemental Lord
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    America's Hat
    Posts
    8,438
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    It's an auto-overclock I believe. So simply setting the multiplier is logically enough for it to enable or alter any necessary features.
    Yeah, alternatively though they have a feature called OC Genie II, though I have not read into how that works exactly. Apparently it's an auto overclock for your hardware, but I chose to just do it manually. I think I might bump it down to 4.2Ghz though, however I'd be interested to see if I can hit 5Ghz without making any other adjustments aside from the multiplier.

    ---------- Post added 2012-05-03 at 06:33 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Just changed the clock frequency and that's it? There is just 1 other setting you need to manually set and that is the core voltage (vCore). When motherboards are left to automatically decide the voltage for overclocked chips, some tend to throw out excessive voltage or even undervolt, causing instability. It looks like your chip will be happy with 1.32v @ 4.6ghz, so go back into BIOS and manually set it to 1.32v and you're golden. If you notice instability during Prime 95 (or whatever you use to test stability) then nudge the voltage a teeny bit higher to 1.325v, then 1.33v, etc.
    All other settings can be left to auto/defaults since it's just a moderate OC.

    Also keep an eye on temps

    Also GUI-based BIOS's where you can use the mouse have been around since the P67 days (or maybe even earlier), it's not specific to Z77 boards or MSI boards. Though I will admit MSI's implementation is pretty good unlike *cough* Gigabyte *cough* :P
    Neither of my previous Gigabyte boards had a GUI based BIOS actually, they were all ghetto style with keyboard controls only

    I will go and adjust the vCore manually though, it seems that CPU-Z has it sitting at 1.328 volts right now and it crashed on the last Prime95 test. Temperatures seem fine though, 35 degrees idling, however I might have to keep the OC lower through the summer otherwise I will have an even hotter room and it will just overheat my CPU (or me, whichever comes first)

    Congrats to the 8 fools who made the ignore list, your ignorance knows no bounds, bravo!

  17. #6917
    I just tried out the Asus auto OC feature, I set me at 4.37 [email protected] and after about 5 minutes of prime95 the cpu didn't go above 40°C.



    I'll probably try setting the vcore around there and boosting the frequency up a bit, maybe to 4.6.

    //Off-topic: Has anybody got any experiece with Gigabyte's graphics card overclocking tool Easyboost?
    Intel i7 5820K (4.5 GHz) | MSI X99A MPower | 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Samsung 951PRO nVME 512GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Crucial MX200 1TB | Western Digital Caviar Black 2000GB | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Noctua NH-D15 | Fractal Define R5 | Seasonic X850

    Former author of the TankSpot.com Protection Paladin guide

  18. #6918
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,110
    Quote Originally Posted by Rennadrel View Post
    however I'd be interested to see if I can hit 5Ghz without making any other adjustments aside from the multiplier.
    Haha if only it was that easy :P
    Your PC will most likely freeze on the windows logo and crash in the background (as I've experienced all too often when toying with multipliers ) or simply BSOD after startup. Worse, your mobo may spit some crazy auto vcore like 1.5v (or even higher) to just to get that overclock functional.

    ---------- Post added 2012-05-03 at 10:54 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Butler Log View Post
    I just tried out the Asus auto OC feature, I set me at 4.37 [email protected] and after about 5 minutes of prime95 the cpu didn't go above 40°C.

    I'll probably try setting the vcore around there and boosting the frequency up a bit, maybe to 4.6.
    There we go, 1.33v is way overkill for an overclock that could potentially be pulled at stock volts (or just a tad more). But as you said, 4.6 should definitely be doable at 1.33v so try it.

    //Off-topic: Has anybody got any experiece with Gigabyte's graphics card overclocking tool Easyboost?
    EasyBoost, Precision, SmartDoctor...just different skins of programs that do exactly the same thing as MSI Afterburner, which everyone should be using :P
    GPU overclocking is as simple as drawing squares in MS paint!
    Last edited by Xuvial; 2012-05-03 at 10:58 PM.

  19. #6919
    Elemental Lord
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    America's Hat
    Posts
    8,438
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Haha if only it was that easy :P
    Your PC will most likely freeze on the windows logo and crash in the background (as I've experienced all too often when toying with multipliers ) or simply BSOD after startup. Worse, your mobo may spit some crazy auto vcore like 1.5v (or even higher) to just to get that overclock functional.
    Yeah, I can't even get into the BIOS now, it won't boot at all. Now I don't know what to do to fix it

    Congrats to the 8 fools who made the ignore list, your ignorance knows no bounds, bravo!

  20. #6920
    Quote Originally Posted by Rennadrel View Post
    Yeah, I can't even get into the BIOS now, it won't boot at all. Now I don't know what to do to fix it
    Reset your bios. What motherboard do you have?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •